We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go back..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Life Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Life Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not go back..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

Partner and I both early 50's, were looking for 2 weeks sun/relaxation at a reasonable price - Sea Life seemed to fit the bill.

One of our cases was lost on the journey from Sharm airport to Sea Life (one with all our clothes - so not a good start (not sea life's fault but worth a mention) - check your bags are not taken off at the wrong complex!.

Also many thanks to the lovely lady and daughter who loaned my partner some of her clothes - as we had only what we stood in.

Food OK - you will not starve, fair amount of choices in restaurants, with pool bars serving burgers/hot dogs midday.

All water and local alcohol free + tea & coffee.
The local spirits, wine etc we could not drink - especially the wine - you can purchase named brands though.

We had the tummy bug twice - nearly had to cancel our Cairo trip -but with the aid of 21 GBP's worth of Antenal and other drugs got over it fast - as I said got it twice so more money spent.

Resort seemed clean - apartments tired and dark.

We felt very restricted as there was no where to wonder off to - apart from the resort - we like our freedom and usually have villa holidays - so may not be fair to comment on.
We went to Nama Bay - but wished we hadn't - constant pestering by the locals puts you off - same with the pyramids I am afraid.

Weather gorgeous, sea great and snorkelling/fishes seen wonderful.

All in all we would not go back even for a week - however glad we did it.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank able_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    306
    94
    39
    34
See reviews for
297
463
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

Like some of the other positive reviewers, we were a bit concerned about some of the negative reviews of the Sea Life on Tripadvisor - however we're happy to report that we had a very pleasant holiday there, no major gripes at all.

To put this review into perspective, we had quite clear expectations and objectives for this holiday, "we" being a forty-something couple with no kids in tow. Our objectives were:
- Relaxed winter-sun holiday
- No excursions planned except snorkelling/diving
- Stay on resort (so we went all-inc)

The temperature was perfect (windy which made things more comfortable) and it was certainly sunny. We knew that it would get dark early so planned accordingly. We did go on one excursion, a snorkelling trip on a boat to Tiran Island that we would recommend - uncrowded and very leisurely. We booked this through our rep though you don't have to. No diving sadly due to a head cold that wouldn't go away but we can't blame the hotel for that! The food, while not gourmet, was perfectly adequate and varied enough. We did pay for one meal at the Teppenyaki restaurant which was good value and good quality.

Our expectations were pretty straightforward (and largely based on reviews on this site!):
- Clean room
- Working facilities
- No hassle when on resort (e.g. no hard-sell of massages, excursions and so on)
- Good hygiene
- Adequate food
- Drinks available when we wanted them
- Not too many kids (this was in term time)
- No hen/stag partiescausing mayhem (nothing against these guys but noisy night life wasn't on our agenda)
- Didn't expect top entertainment
- Beach not overcrowded, ideally with available sun loungers
- Helpful and efficient staff
- Remote from towns (didn't intend to go anyway)

So, what was the reality? Well, happily most of our expectations were met or exceeded. On the negative side, the fridge didn't cool things but we didn't really care. The shower sometimes didn't have enough pressure, but as that seemed to happen at the same time every day we worked around it. The English TV channels were limited, but we took films on an iPod and watched them through the TV. On the plus side, the staff were generally very friendly and responded well to being treated like human beings, including those whose English wasn't that good (but still a lot better than our Arabic...) - there were a couple of absolute stars, who injected some fun into our evenings. The entertainment, courtesy of Freak Animation, was - err - interesting and we did watch a couple of the evening shows although we hadn't planned to. We never failed to get a sun lounger each. The guys selling excursions etc. were fine and a polite no thankyou was all it needed for them to move on. The guests were mostly middle-aged, a mixture of Germans, Russians, Italians, some English and a couple of others. We didn't see any rowdiness whatsoever and there was no noise overnight. We never had to wait very long for a drink, whether fetching from the bar or waiter service.

What else? The staff were efficient, helpful and plentiful! Regards tipping, we never felt intimidated into tipping but chose to tip anyway when we felt it was justified. The room was cleaned every day to a high standard. We weren't offered (and didn't ask for) a room upgrade, the one we were allocated was fine. Before we went we were very concerned about the reports of gippy tummy, but we followed some advice (check out the first-timer's guide to Sharm on the forum - invaluable, and thanks due to Nepthys for putting it together!):
- We took sanigel and used it regularly, especially after handling money
- We took Acidophilus bacteria tablets as a precaution
- Drank bottled water only
- Drank at least 3 litres of water a day, every day - each
- Didn't use ice cubes (weren't actually offered any!)

So, despite trying most of the food including milk, vegetables, salad stuff and seafood, neither of us had any stomach problems - result!

To repeat comments in other reviews, the sand on the beach is very coarse - use footwear. There are loads of fish both beyond the reef (you must use the jetty to access this area, you'll be whistled at if you try to get to the reef across the lagoon area) and in the shallow lagoon area. In the lagoon, beware spiny sea urchins - again, footwear advisable. The Sea Club restaurant was available on AI, but we chose not to bother as both had themed nights - Mexican, Asian, French etc. - albeit on a reverse rota. AI stopped at 11 in the evening, but we knew that before we went so that was no problem.

Would we go back? Oh yes - both to Sharm and to the Sea Life; in fact we fully intend to as the resort is now a "known quantity" for us. Everyone's expectations and requirements are different, so the Sea Life isn't to all tastes - but it certainly suited ours.

  • Liked — The room, the staff and the beach.
  • Disliked — Non-working fridge (but that's very minor).
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PeteCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

Because SeaLife was fullbooked, the first 5 days I stayed in a room in Sea club, and after i changed room to Sea garden.
No problem for me because I had 2 good rooms, every day they made my bed, clean towels, warm water, etc...

At the restaurant the service is perfect, staff is very friendly and food is very okay, there is always something you like, because there is much choice to eat.
and it's my second time in the resort and my second time i'm not sick from te food.
every holiday I'm sick but not here, so food is nothing to complain about it.

At pool & beach you have animation which was perfect, intertaining & activities in morning & evening, not to much, just perfect!! and shows in teatro always made me laugh.. animation are very friendly people and do their best to make your holiday nice.

Reception staff is nothing to complain about, JUST perfect!!
They treated me like a princess!!

If I have to say 1 negative thing, then it's the people who come at beach to sell excursions & massages, they really dont stop asking and push to much but i think you have this everywhere in egypt and i just closed my eyes and then they didn't ask me anymore!! :)

Thank you SeaLife, Sea Club & Sea garden for my relaxing holiday!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jessBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

Just returned from an excellent week at the Sea Life Resort and felt that I had to add my comments. Like so many travellers nowadays (and with the added benefit of being able to use the web to review hotels and resorts) I had browsed the various reports posted regarding this complex before departure. Whilst taking in the things moaned about in the more negative reviews and getting quite excited about the positive things commented upon we went with an open mind and decided we were going to make the best of our holiday no matter what.
On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the hotel 'bell boys' who instructed us to leave our baggage outside whilst we checked in at reception (perfectly safe to do this - they just leave them outside ready to deliver them to your room for you). Check in at the hotel was efficient and friendly. Towel cards (one for each member in the party) were issued along with room key and information sheets. You then go off to your room and your luggage follows after you. There is an option for you to be able to upgrade your room if you want to (at extra charge) if you have not been allocated a room with a sea or pool view. Tea and Coffee supplies and a kettle are also available at an extra charge of 3 Euros a day if you want them in your room.
The room was set in the middle of the hotel complex - a little dark due to the decor but very clean (sheets and towels changed daily and after leaving a tip found towles arranged in various animal shapes and flower petals left on the turned back beds!). Good sized bathroom with a large walk-in shower with shower gel dispenser and liquid soap dispenser at basin. Also a hair dryer. Each room has a balcony/terrace, tv, coded safety deposit box and air conditioning with ample wardrobe and storage space.
The Sea Life is set amid well manicured gardens that are a pleasure to walk through on route to either the pool, beach or for your meals and drinks. All areas are kept very clean and all the staff work hard in keeping it that way.
The pool area (under the watchfull eye of the head attendant Mohammed and his team) have enough sunbeds for everyone - if for any reason there is not one free they will find you one even if it means bringing one up from the beach area for you. The pool side is kept very clean by the staff. The Pool Bar is well stocked and managed and you are able to get midday and tea time snacks from there (included in all inclusive package). Towels are collected from the towel hut from 0730 in the morning in exchange for your towel card. They will not allow for any beds to be taken prior to that time.
The beach area is clean and plenty of beds available there also. It is advisable that if you want to walk on the beach it is better to do so in beach shoes or dive shoes as can be a little sharp under foot. The sea is clear and warm - to see all the colourful fish is a must even if it is from dry land. There is a beach bar which again offers snacks. Looked clean and tidy but did not sample it.
Now - I can almost detect you saying - what about the food? Well not being a fussy eater that was never a problem with me! All meals in the main resturant are buffet style and you can help yourself to as much as you like. Lots of choices at each time with a set 'theme' each night from around the world which is set over a 14 day period. The resturant staff are friendly and in the main offer an excellent service in the delivery of your drinks and tidying away your dirty dishes. Without saying they do like to be thanked and good manners by you get you better service. The staff like to be appreciated and a small tip now and then will of course get you even better service. (All waiters etc have to put their tips into the tip box to be shared out equally). There are 2 other resturants at the hotel where you can dine but these have to be booked and at an extra charge. (We did not sample these but heard good reports about them).
Entertainment - the Animation team worked hard throughout the day and evening - plenty of options if you want to take part in beach volleyball and fitness programmes throughout the day and the children seemed to be well entertained to give parents a break by the poolside. There was entertainment each evening up near the main reception area of the hotel and also in the theatre area down near the pool each evening at 2200hrs.
There is a shuttle bus service from the hotel to Naama Bay and also a hotel taxi service that will take you to anywhere you want to go. There are trips that you can go on that can be booked through your rep at resort or through the hotel. As our holiday was taken for a total 'chill-out' we did not go on any - again the people that we spoke to that did go on them were more than satisfied.
To conclude; We had a totally relaxing week in very pleasant surroundings. Please go with an open mind and don't be put off by any negative comments you read. (I suppose you can't please some people all the time!) . We personally could not fault anything about this resort. We would not hesitate in going back to the Sea Life and next time it will hopefully be for more than a week!! ENJOY!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, setting and friendliness of hard working staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tannedbabe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

have just spent 2 weeks on my own in the sea life, what a friendly bunch, check in very quick, rooms very clean no kettle you can hire one for about 3 euros a day ( i think) but reading the reviews i took my own which was well worth it, pool very clean loads off beds available if there in none then the staff on the pool will help you 2 find one, as i was on my own did not worry about the entertainment but i found there was not much for young kids to do there was an entertainment team there as i was out off season mite be more during the summer. they do not speak very good english either, BEACH you will need some beach shoes it is not like other beaches you get in some resorts like spain it is mainly for people to go snorkling the fish there are absolutly amazing, i went on holiday to go scuba diving i booked with a company called CAMEL DIVE, i would recomend that you go with this company. they speak very good english and the dive sites are amazing.

  • Liked — the frindliness off the staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nataliechelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

Being pensioners, my wife and I went for a relaxing holiday, and this definitely fits the bill.
The room was dark, because of the shape, and the curtains did not close, but at our age we had nothing to hide!
It was our first time to Sharm, and the food was a big disappointment, as in the 14 days, we only had three meals which were anything like hot.
Apart from the soup, everything else was lukewarm, even the BBQ food was cold by the time they served it.
However, talking to some guests who arrived in our second week, they said it was their 4th year at this hotel, and they had been to several others, and this was the best they had been to, hence their return.
Overall, the menu was very good, and you had a choice of three restaurants in the package, and another two with a small charge, where you did get hot food, as your order was cooked in your presence, not in hot racks.
The resort was spotless, all the staff were very helpful and friendly, and overall the facilities were very good.
The 'entertainment' was run by russian/italian staff, and although very hard working, all day and in the evening, it was a bit childish to our tastes, and the cabaret was dire.
We would go again, just for the surroundings and sun, but really it was too far away from anywhere to enjoy an evening in Sharm or Narna Bay.
Couldn't fault the staff, though for trying to give as good an experience as they could provide.

  • Liked — The beds-were decorated with flowers,differently arranged every day
  • Disliked — dark during daylight
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GatesheadDougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a fantastic 7 days at The Sea Life.
The weather was perfect, around 35'c most days but with a breeze that made it comfortable to sit in.
Check in was quick and painless but as we has booked our flight and hotel seperately we didn't have the benefit of a tour rep and had to find our way round. That said the staff are very helpful and if they can't speak English very well, will always find someone who can.
We found the food great, every night was a different menu from around the world. There was so much effort put into the displays. We pretty much ate and drank most things, although the AI Gin did leave something to be desired!
My boyfriend did have an upset stomach for a couple of days, but we had come prepared and a few Imodium and Dihorylite later and he was fine. We think this could have been caused by the money. This is very dirty and smelly and I hate to think of the germs it must carry. Take plenty of antibac hand gel!
The diving and snorkelling is out of this world. My boyfriend did shore dives and boat dives all of which I could go on (at a small additional cost) and snorkell. The hotels beach is lovely, but do take beach shoes as it is all coral and can really cut your feet.
You do get the staff trying to get you to do things, ie the beauty salon or other restaurants but they all accpet a polite no.
We had a huge comfortable king size bed and our room was cleaned perectly every day.
The shuttle bus is great, we used it for Naama Bay and Old Sharm. We took a blue and white taxi back one night, I would seriously advise against this. They drive far too fast and wrecklessy, including driving up the wrong way in a duel carriage way into ongoing traffic! Pay the litle bit extra and use the hotel taxi service.
The entertainment was very poor, it is geared up around the Italians but that in itself was entertaining!
If you go with an open mind and remember this is not Southern Spain you will have a fantastic time! All in all we found the resort very clean, the staff extemely friendly and helpful and would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lollibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
9.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,099 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,823 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamra Beach
Tamra Beach
#5 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#20 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Life Resort

Property: Sea Life Resort
Address: Bay of Nabq, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Life Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sea Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Life Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Life Nabq
Sea Life Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing