We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea Life Hotel Brillant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Life Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Life Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sea Life Hotel Brillant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

Just returned from Sea Life Hotel in Nabq, what more can i say but fantastic. We stayed over Christmas & New Year and was a little worried after reading some of the reviews. Some of the comments i do agree with ie they cater for Russians, Italians and Germans more than Brits, entertainment team poor but the rest of the comments are not really true. We could not see what people complain about, the restaurant staff are fantastic kept our 5 yr old entertained every meal time, our room was cleaned to a high standard every day and pool guys made sure we had sunbeds and clean towels everyday. We enjoyed it so much have just booked to go back again in May for a week. Go with an open mind and you will really enjoy it.

Helpful?
4 Thank Chris28Grimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    306
    94
    39
    34
See reviews for
297
463
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

We have just come back from spending a fantastic week at the Sealife hotel. Before going on holiday we read some negative reviews of this hotel and were a little worried but after emailing a few people who had already been we were a bit more confident. A big thank you to those who gave us advice. Any worries we had were soon gone.

The hotel was lovely and has stunning gardens and views. The beach was great and the people very warm and welcoming. In fact they couldn't do enough for you. The room was comfortable and well cleaned every day. The pool looked nice but we didn't go in it as we spent most of our time at the beach.

The restaurant and bar staff were super and went 'all out' to make sure we had a good time. Whilst there it was my husbands 50th birthday. The staff made him a cake and organised a special table for us. They also sang happy birthday to him in English and Arabic!!!
The food was good with a variety of choices each day, especially the cakes. You would have to be really fussy to not be able to find something you liked...
We ate at the Lebanese restaurant one night. This was excellent but there was SO much food we couldn't eat it all. Cost was about £28 for 2 people.
The 'all inclusive' covered most things there. It didn't include food at the beach bar or fresh fruit juices, but they did serve carton juice which was perfectly acceptable. You could also get Nescafe at the sports bar and main restaurant, again this was free.

We did get hassled a bit at the beach to have massages, go on trips or to try the other restaurants etc. A smile and a polite no thanks is all it takes and they will leave you in peace.
We did go on 2 trips. My husband went on a scuba dive with Camel dive school. He said it was brilliant and would reccomend them. It cost £45 and was 1-1 tuition and a dive. He would also reccomed Jackie the instructor.
We went Quad biking in the dessert which was another good experience, the views in the dessert were breath taking. We booked this on the beach with Mohamed from EL sharm safari. It cost about £25 per person and was well worth it.

The animation team and hotel entertainment were both quite dire. It was mostly aimed at the German, Russian and Italian guests. We made our own entertainment so it wasn't an issue for us.

Sadly there were people that moaned a lot. I don't exactly know what they expected form the holiday but my advice to them would be... If its that bad, stay at home next time!!!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and beachfront hotel
  • Disliked — Too many Russian, Italian and German guests
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank funkyfleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

We chose the Sea Life Resort from a brochure when given some options at the travel agent. I must say this hotel is a fine place to spend some relaxing time in Sharm El Sheikh.

The rooms are very clean and spacious, well decorated and offer amazing views of the surrounding area. Though they are a little basic if you are expecting more facilities.

The hotel is set in huge grounds with direct access to the beaches and pool. The gardens are vast and beautifully kept and you will admire them for hours I am sure. The beach is interesting, being a mix of rocks and sand with many smaller bays and creeks to spend your sun filled hours soaking up the sun. The sea is beautiful and I can tell why this hotel chose to take it's name from the sea. The beach sits directly on a huge coral reef allowing for shallow snorkeling and swimming for several hundred yards before deeper waters are found. The resort has tentative lifeguards which will place any parent of small children's minds at ease. For those wishing to experience the full coral reef the hotel has a long jetty allowing you to enter the water directly above a stunning section of the reef, this comes at no extra charge and you can use this facility for as long as possible.

The food is served from a huge restaurant which offers themed cuisine in 14 night cycles, so you will never bore of the offerings. I would advise people to try the desserts, they are amazing! During the day there is also a pool bar which serves all-inclusive drinks, snacks and fast food style meals. There is also several restaurants that will cost you a supplement on top of an all inclusive trip. These include a french, japanese and sea food.

The swimming pool is large and clean, as if the entire hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and will cater to your every need. They clean the entire hotel and grounds every morning and evening and will never leave your glass empty. Although the list of all inclusive drinks is limited to a few spirits, wines and soft drinks you will find they are more than enough to keep you going.

My only negatives towards the hotel is the fact the taxi service provided by the hotel is expensive, and the manager seems to send the drivers to strange entrances to the attractions where you may find people waiting to try and sell you their wares. My suggestion is tell you driver when nearing your chosen destination that you will only leave the taxi if he enters through the official entrances.

We had a problem with flies around our balcony due to an insect trap being hung in a tree below. But this could have been fixed if we felt it was very annoying.

Great hotel, great beach, great pool, great food and staff. Took my parents for their first experience in Egypt and they want to go back. I have stayed in some of the worlds finest hotels in London and Vegas and although this is by no means in the same league I was very pleased with the hotel.

  • Liked — The outdoor facilities, beach and pool...
  • Disliked — No free internet access...
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TomBoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

well what can i say........ me and my bf are 19 yrs olds and was a bit scared about goin to this hotel after reading a few negative comments, but if your planning to stay at sea life hotel ignore all the negative. i couldnt fault it in any way the staff were AMAZING so helpful and speak very good english. are rooms were cleaned every day with new bedin n clean towels. i definalty recommed snorklin if u havnt been its fantastic!!!! we only stay 4 a week but wasnt long anough, we are re-bookin 4 next year in april for two weeks at sea life hotel!! A++++++++++++++
get bookin now guys you wont re great it! and u come home with an brilliant tan in november! haha

  • Liked — the friendly helpful staff.
  • Disliked — the price of ringin bk home!!!!!!
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xsheriex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

Partner and I both early 50's, were looking for 2 weeks sun/relaxation at a reasonable price - Sea Life seemed to fit the bill.

One of our cases was lost on the journey from Sharm airport to Sea Life (one with all our clothes - so not a good start (not sea life's fault but worth a mention) - check your bags are not taken off at the wrong complex!.

Also many thanks to the lovely lady and daughter who loaned my partner some of her clothes - as we had only what we stood in.

Food OK - you will not starve, fair amount of choices in restaurants, with pool bars serving burgers/hot dogs midday.

All water and local alcohol free + tea & coffee.
The local spirits, wine etc we could not drink - especially the wine - you can purchase named brands though.

We had the tummy bug twice - nearly had to cancel our Cairo trip -but with the aid of 21 GBP's worth of Antenal and other drugs got over it fast - as I said got it twice so more money spent.

Resort seemed clean - apartments tired and dark.

We felt very restricted as there was no where to wonder off to - apart from the resort - we like our freedom and usually have villa holidays - so may not be fair to comment on.
We went to Nama Bay - but wished we hadn't - constant pestering by the locals puts you off - same with the pyramids I am afraid.

Weather gorgeous, sea great and snorkelling/fishes seen wonderful.

All in all we would not go back even for a week - however glad we did it.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank able_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

Like some of the other positive reviewers, we were a bit concerned about some of the negative reviews of the Sea Life on Tripadvisor - however we're happy to report that we had a very pleasant holiday there, no major gripes at all.

To put this review into perspective, we had quite clear expectations and objectives for this holiday, "we" being a forty-something couple with no kids in tow. Our objectives were:
- Relaxed winter-sun holiday
- No excursions planned except snorkelling/diving
- Stay on resort (so we went all-inc)

The temperature was perfect (windy which made things more comfortable) and it was certainly sunny. We knew that it would get dark early so planned accordingly. We did go on one excursion, a snorkelling trip on a boat to Tiran Island that we would recommend - uncrowded and very leisurely. We booked this through our rep though you don't have to. No diving sadly due to a head cold that wouldn't go away but we can't blame the hotel for that! The food, while not gourmet, was perfectly adequate and varied enough. We did pay for one meal at the Teppenyaki restaurant which was good value and good quality.

Our expectations were pretty straightforward (and largely based on reviews on this site!):
- Clean room
- Working facilities
- No hassle when on resort (e.g. no hard-sell of massages, excursions and so on)
- Good hygiene
- Adequate food
- Drinks available when we wanted them
- Not too many kids (this was in term time)
- No hen/stag partiescausing mayhem (nothing against these guys but noisy night life wasn't on our agenda)
- Didn't expect top entertainment
- Beach not overcrowded, ideally with available sun loungers
- Helpful and efficient staff
- Remote from towns (didn't intend to go anyway)

So, what was the reality? Well, happily most of our expectations were met or exceeded. On the negative side, the fridge didn't cool things but we didn't really care. The shower sometimes didn't have enough pressure, but as that seemed to happen at the same time every day we worked around it. The English TV channels were limited, but we took films on an iPod and watched them through the TV. On the plus side, the staff were generally very friendly and responded well to being treated like human beings, including those whose English wasn't that good (but still a lot better than our Arabic...) - there were a couple of absolute stars, who injected some fun into our evenings. The entertainment, courtesy of Freak Animation, was - err - interesting and we did watch a couple of the evening shows although we hadn't planned to. We never failed to get a sun lounger each. The guys selling excursions etc. were fine and a polite no thankyou was all it needed for them to move on. The guests were mostly middle-aged, a mixture of Germans, Russians, Italians, some English and a couple of others. We didn't see any rowdiness whatsoever and there was no noise overnight. We never had to wait very long for a drink, whether fetching from the bar or waiter service.

What else? The staff were efficient, helpful and plentiful! Regards tipping, we never felt intimidated into tipping but chose to tip anyway when we felt it was justified. The room was cleaned every day to a high standard. We weren't offered (and didn't ask for) a room upgrade, the one we were allocated was fine. Before we went we were very concerned about the reports of gippy tummy, but we followed some advice (check out the first-timer's guide to Sharm on the forum - invaluable, and thanks due to Nepthys for putting it together!):
- We took sanigel and used it regularly, especially after handling money
- We took Acidophilus bacteria tablets as a precaution
- Drank bottled water only
- Drank at least 3 litres of water a day, every day - each
- Didn't use ice cubes (weren't actually offered any!)

So, despite trying most of the food including milk, vegetables, salad stuff and seafood, neither of us had any stomach problems - result!

To repeat comments in other reviews, the sand on the beach is very coarse - use footwear. There are loads of fish both beyond the reef (you must use the jetty to access this area, you'll be whistled at if you try to get to the reef across the lagoon area) and in the shallow lagoon area. In the lagoon, beware spiny sea urchins - again, footwear advisable. The Sea Club restaurant was available on AI, but we chose not to bother as both had themed nights - Mexican, Asian, French etc. - albeit on a reverse rota. AI stopped at 11 in the evening, but we knew that before we went so that was no problem.

Would we go back? Oh yes - both to Sharm and to the Sea Life; in fact we fully intend to as the resort is now a "known quantity" for us. Everyone's expectations and requirements are different, so the Sea Life isn't to all tastes - but it certainly suited ours.

  • Liked — The room, the staff and the beach.
  • Disliked — Non-working fridge (but that's very minor).
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PeteCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

Because SeaLife was fullbooked, the first 5 days I stayed in a room in Sea club, and after i changed room to Sea garden.
No problem for me because I had 2 good rooms, every day they made my bed, clean towels, warm water, etc...

At the restaurant the service is perfect, staff is very friendly and food is very okay, there is always something you like, because there is much choice to eat.
and it's my second time in the resort and my second time i'm not sick from te food.
every holiday I'm sick but not here, so food is nothing to complain about it.

At pool & beach you have animation which was perfect, intertaining & activities in morning & evening, not to much, just perfect!! and shows in teatro always made me laugh.. animation are very friendly people and do their best to make your holiday nice.

Reception staff is nothing to complain about, JUST perfect!!
They treated me like a princess!!

If I have to say 1 negative thing, then it's the people who come at beach to sell excursions & massages, they really dont stop asking and push to much but i think you have this everywhere in egypt and i just closed my eyes and then they didn't ask me anymore!! :)

Thank you SeaLife, Sea Club & Sea garden for my relaxing holiday!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jessBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
9.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamra Beach
Tamra Beach
#5 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Life Resort

Property: Sea Life Resort
Address: Bay of Nabq, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Life Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Life Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Life Nabq
Sea Life Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing