We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but awful food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laguna Vista Garden Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Had a 7 night stay here with my girlfriend and i must say we had a fantastic time. Staff were friendly ahmed at the pool bar in particular. Rooms cleaned everyday and great location near the beach.

Only thing that ruined it was i had very bad guts from the hotel food. Uncooked dirty food. Suggest to play it safe and eat out. Plenty of places to go locally. Pack immodium!! Pharmacy gave me some tablets that worked. 8 egyptiam pounds (80p)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Cleanliness
Thank simmo125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Vista B, Manager at Laguna Vista Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

I am happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us at Laguna Vista, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is good to hear that the cleaning and location of room was to your satisfaction. I am sorry that you had ‘bad guts’, unfortunately this can ocurr amongst tourists travelling to Egypt and is commonly known as ‘Egyptain Belly’. The food at Laguna Vista is prepared and cooked to the highest possible standard and followed by strict hygiene regulations. During the period of November we had 700 + guests, and we did not have any complaints, nor did we have any reports from our Clinic of illness in relation to food. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Vista Garden Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

Our first time trip to Egypt going with an open mind. We requested a double bed room via e-mail. On arrival we were told that a double room had been reserved but they recommended a poolside room that could quickly make in to a double, we agreed to this and were not disapointed. The room was quicly turned into a double, not just two beds put together. The room was very clean, tidy and well apointed with bottled water and a fruit bowl. The room was kept the same throughout our stay. the towel sculptures and fresh flowers addedthate extra personal touch. the food did get a bit samey over the eleven days but was always well cooked and plenty of options, especially at dinner. Yasser and his team were always freindly and happy to look after you at meal times. The bar had only a limited of choice of drinks, no wine which seemed a bit of odd, but just a minor point. All soft drinks were brand names and the lager wasn't bad. A special mention for Ramy & Ahmed on the bar who were super friendly and made you feel like they wanted you to be there. The snorkling is amazing off the sister Hotel beach, plenty of sunbeds where ever for wanted to go. The Dua Dua Italian restaurant was a change but could have had a bit more choice, but not bad for a freebie. We were sad to leave and hopefully will return again next year to do a bit more exploring. Great value for money and temperatures in the low to mid thirties mde for a super relaxing break. Thanks everybody. :-D Jon and Sarah x

Room Tip: Get a pool side room, 301-312 are near the shallow quiet pool at this time of year.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Vista B, Manager at Laguna Vista Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback, I am delighted to hear you had a lovely holiday at Laguna Vista, and look forward to entertaining you again next year. I will personally deliver your personal mention to my staff, and also your comments regarding drinks i.e wine and the Dua Dua menu will be forwarded to our F&B department. Our aim is to deliver a high standard of quality and service and customer care in all areas of the hotel operation to ensure our guests have a memorable holiday. These comments are of great value to us to help make these improvements so thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The complex at the Laguna Vista Gardens is fantastic, really chilled out place. The rooms are cleaned every day to a very high standard, all of the staff are lovely and very helpful especially Ramey the barman who always had your drinks ready and was always very polite and welcoming. Laguna you need to promote this young man who looked after two of your guest who both have a learning disabilities and one who was in a wheelchair, he treated both with great patience and respect and I will definitely be recommending this complex to our organisation has a excellent destination for our service users. The only down side is the food, Laguna you need to get this right. You need to also cater for the English , at the moment it's baised around the Italians, Russians and the Germans. Otherwise I cannot fault this hotel, oh a quick mention about the housekeeping guy. A very big thank you for all your hard work in making sure our rooms were comfortable, you always went that extra mile and I will definitely return to this lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms 125 and 129 are in a excellent position right next to the pool, sunshine all day.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roland1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Vista B, Manager at Laguna Vista Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

I thank you and appreciate your feedback, and am very pleased that your found Laguna Vista Garden Resort, ‘fantastic and chilled out’. We aim to provide our guests with a high standard, and from your comments in cleaning, and staff we are achieving this. We are introducing new menu’s and food types on a daily basis ensuring we have variety and quality for all of our guests. I will pass your comments regarding the staff to them personally. Thank you in advance for recommending our Resort to your organization, it will be a pleasure to accommodate them, and hope we will see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Excellent time at laguna Vista Gardens, booked it about a week or so before. One word for the food, terrible, chicken hot dog style sausages and mashed potato for breakfast-not for me!!!

Room was spotless, Mohammed and the housekeeping supervisor Atef went out of there way every day, good morning, have an excellent day etc.

The Bar - Ramy, bit of a laid back chap but again would try his best to help, always made sure you had a drink, as you were finishing a beer, he would line another one up beside it.

Bell Boy - Ali, what a character, it was his bithday whilst there and was invited to his birthday party with his pals at the jasmine Cafe, again, another guy who could not do enough to help, when I saw me out of the hotel looking around the shops, he came straight over and muttered something to the shopkeeper and all of a sudden everything in the shop was half price!!!!

So all in all, the hotel, pool, bar and rooms were excellent, couldnt fault them - just sort the food out as there is simply not enough choice or selection, and im not a picky eater.

10/10 for all the staff however!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

After looking at many hotels on Tripadvisor we decided to go for this one as most of the reviews seemed to be positive about the resort. We went as a couple just to get away in the sun for a week without any fuss. When we arrived we were greeting with our welcome cocktail and our bags were taken to our room. When we got to our room we couldnt have been happier, the room 'bungalow' couldnt have been any better, it was positioned right next to the lagoon, the bedroom was huge, lots of space for luggage, great bathroom and the TV actually worked!!

As for the food we both said that the quality was brilliant for an Egyptian resort, with a lot of food on offer and virtually everything tasted great (And im a fussy eater) - we did choose to eat across the road at the partner hotel but found that experience to be a rushed and very noisy. We also eat at the italian at the bottom of the resort which was the only real downfall as the staff there didnt seem to be that intrested in much at all really.

Overall the staff were great and really friendly, food was really nice with themed nights with different dishes as well as their usual if you didnt like that particular theme. The room was above standard and the location was great. When i return to Egypt we will stay at this hotel again. Great value for money and well reccomended

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent a very good and relaxing fortnight at the Laguna vista gardens, it is a quite small complex compared to some i have visited in Sharm but that is a plus point as everything becomes more intimate and easy going.The staff are also a big plus point for this hotel, they are all very friendly and welcoming and always have a smile for you despite them working very long days.The hotel grounds are very nice and well maintained by the team of gardeners, the hotel is generally very clean as are the rooms by the housekeeping staff, the rooms are very nice and unusual in style as they are like individual huts and are quite large .The rooms come with twin beds, tv,fridge, plenty of wardrobe space and the essential individual air con.There is no bath but a large walk in shower which is excellent , but i did miss my bath.The pool area is also very nice but there is small signs of wear and tare which needs to be fixed before someone has an accident.The pool is unheated but always felt like a warm bath due to the glorious Egyptian weather.The big negative for this hotel has to be the food, i am not a fussy eater and always found enough to keep me going but the choice is limited and repetitive and certainly needs improving , not all the food seemed to be kept at an optimum temperature which is not surprising as some of the food was being kept warm with small candles under the serving dishes.It is such a shame as the staff in the restaurant are great and bend over backwards to please but there is nothing they can do about the food quality.Overall a good holiday in a lovely hotel and if they could just sort out the food then it would be ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KBH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

In summary - what you see is what you get!
The photos didnt lie, the resort was exactly what we hoped for. Beautiful clean, spacious, cool and clean rooms in the shape of a little hut. It was very private and every view we had was beautiful. Our cleaner, Muhammad, did a sterling job every day and left bottled water in our fridge (note you could not get this from the bar).
We didnt have to put towels on sunbeds to get a good spot, there were staff giving out towels and bringing us sun loungers to wherever we wanted to be. There was just a short walk to the beach (through the opposite hotel) and the sea was clear, full of beautiful coral life and went out for miles before being deep enough to swim in. We didnt need to do any excursions, we just bought a snorkel and saw so much beautiful sea life (including a massive moray eel which scared me a lot!!)!
The restaurant staff did very well at trying to please the masses. Unfortunately we both suffered from upset Egyptian tummies but I have heard that's impossible to avoid! As a vegetarian I always struggle to find something I want to eat but buffet style was perfect as I could pick and choose and mix what I wanted. For evening there was often a chef doing fresh pasta which was always my fall back. With Thomas cook we could eat at the Italian restaurant only once the whole week. we booked and ended up being the only people there the whole evening as it was empty! If you prefer mcdonalds or put food you dont have to go far from the hotel to find some!
As typical British tourists we found it difficult to understand when you should tip but apparently its customary. The staff did work long hours but we still thought recommended (50 Egyptian pounds) was quite a lot so we often tipped with sterling as we had smaller change. If I were to go again I would just take sterling to avoid missing out on exchange rate as everywhere accepted (and I think preferred) English pounds for currency.
We came home thoroughly relaxed which was the intention of the holiday. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: I dont think you could choose a bad room - ours was located right next to the restaurant and was nev...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nabq Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
El Hayat Sharm Resort
El Hayat Sharm Resort
#29 of 32 in Nabq Bay
402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Rehana Royal Prestige Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Vista Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Garden Resort

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £136 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Vista Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Laguna Vista Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Garden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Laguna Vista Garden
Laguna Vista Garden Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing