We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but wouldn't rush to go back”
Review of Jaz Mirabel Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaz Mirabel Beach
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Our first time in Egypt, travelling all- inclusive with teenage daughter. First impressions of the hotel wee good, with a fantastic air conditioned, marbelled reception lobby. Rooms have good air con., spacious and clean and the very large site is generally well maintained.
Staff (with one or two exceptions) were polite, friendly and eager to please.
Beach is sandy and clean, with good beach bars but no swimming in the sea unless you walk out through the shallow water for for 20 minutes to reach the surf, where there is excellent snorkelling opportunities.
Next door hotel has a jetty, although they charge an extortionate £4 a go to walk out.
Food at the two main restaurants was ok but nothing special and although they try to vary the menu with theme nights, a lot of the same stuff still turned up each evening.
At peak times quite a queue developed waiting for tables to be cleared, which was probably due to shortage of staff rather than lack of effort.
We were warned about the 'pharoh's revenge' and avoided the tap water, no ice in drinks and washed our hands after handling money but we still each managed to come down with it. As we were only staying for a week, it really spoilt the holiday.
Be warned - most of the people we spoke to got some sort of stomach upset during their stay and although the reps said it was due to the hot weather and dehydration, I can't help thinking there may be some other underlying cause.
The pharmacy sold Antinal which seemed to help but he happily charged EL50 a go, knowing full well people would pay whatever.
The shopping both at the hotel market and down the road is a nightmare. The shopkeepers vary from annoying to downright aggressive if you don't buy and haggling for everything (even in the supermarket) becomes very tedious. They will rip you off at every opportunity. My 17 year old daughter hated going into the shops because of unwanted attention from the men, who constantly pestered her for her phone number and on two occasions physically grabbed her for "kisses" - I had to drag her away from one seller who wouldn't let her go.
As you walk along the road, taxis constantly draw up beside and pester you, so you can't just go out for a peaceful stroll around the shops.
The entertainment at the hotel is poor, especially in the evening, which was usually just someone singing to recorded backing tracks. The animation team did a few things during the day but no shows or decent entertainment otherwise.
One disturbing event on the Sunday during our stay was a series of sudden massive explosions which rocked the whole hotel grounds.
Given Egypt's history with tourist terrorism, people were obviously concerned what this was all about. Depending who you spoke to or which rumour you heard, it was either workmen blasting holes for swimming pools at a nearby building site, quarrying, or the Egyptian army clearing old anti tank mines left over from the Sinai wars.
There was no warning or official announcement from the hotel management or tour reps. to explain the situation or calm peoples worries, which I thought was extremely poor.
On the subject of building, the whole area is being developed with new hotels and apartment blocks. As you travel from the airport, there is nothing else to see along the main road, which is why I can't really see the attraction of Sharm. There is the sea, hotels and desert, that's it. No scenery, mountains, trees or village communities like you find say in Turkey, where we would much rather return to.
Would also not recommend going in July - far too hot, >42C every day.
However, if baking by the swimming pool is your thing and you are prepared for the odd stomach upset and don't mind haggling with the Pharmacist for your overpriced medicine then Jaz Mirabel is just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,134 - 5,140 of 6,560 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

We arrived late, the reception was just like a cattle market, there were children screaming, and no one seemed to know what they where doing, we had paid extra in the UK to have a sea view, but we were allocated a room overlooking the pool (which had loud disco music every morning) when we complained we were told we would have to use that room for one night and would then be moved. which eventually happened at approx 2.30 the next day, but considering we were only there one week this was valuable time. The reception staff, did not seem to care, and you had to just find your own way to the room, having been just pointed in the right direction.

The Hotel grounds and bedrooms where immaculate, and the bars were very nicely furnished.

The service at this hotel was appalling, you often had to que to get in to the dinning room, for both breakfast and dinner, we often struggled to find a table that had been cleared of dirty plates, regually there were no plates, or dishes on the buffett. There where a lot of egyptian children in the hotel, who seemed to be allowed to run riot at meal times. we usually sat outside for dinner, (to avoid the many screaming children) sometimes it really was like eating in a zoo..One night we could hear singing and genuinelly decided it must be Karaoke night but no that was the professional singer.
The evening waiter service was nearly non existant and if you didn't go to the bar yourself you would have a very long wait for a drink.

Most people in the hotel at some stage had a tummy bug, which they said was due to the hot weather, but on the last day one of the pools was closed, and they seemed to be working on the filtration system. ( was the pool water ok?) it makes you wonder.. The chemist did a great trade, there was a que for dirrhoea pills.

Towels were provided on a token system, but still people were reserving sunbeds, when they were not using them, there were not enough towels, and they regually ran out, we got our towels stolen while we were in the pool. One little boy opened his bowels in the kiddies pool, his parents did not care, and i told three members of staff who all turned a blind eye, even though there was poo all round the pool. It took 30 Mins before anyone eventually cleaned it up.

My advise to anyone thinking of going to the Mirabel Beach is DONT, and please Tomson change your rating this hotel has 5 star accomodation with 2 star service..

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingDuo02009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed at Jaz Mirabel Beach for 11 nights, we were meant to be travelling to Mexico but decided against it due to Swine Flu. This is the fourth time we have travelled to Egypt and this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!. On arrival our bedding had blood staines on the quilt cover and quilt clearly not what you would expect from any hotel. These were replaced the following day after speaking to Reception but should never have been put on the bed in first place as they were clearly visable.

We queued for breakfast for around 20 mins in the boiling hot sunshine everyday, then had to wait for cutlery for your table, no plates, no glasses for drinks it was manic!! - kids running and screaming everywhere.

We were both extremly ill by day four, which the worst of it lasted for three days. The Chemist had run out of medicine in the hotel and we had to wait whilst they travelled into town to get more supplys. When we got home we was ill again.

It looked like there was lots of room around the pool, but all the sunbeds were reserved by 9am and you would be lucky if you got a sunbed with any shade!

The food in the restaurant was very poor. There was an arabian night, which was awful. The rice smelt like B.O.

One good idea the hotel had was there were two restaurants in the evening one was a smart restaurant where men had to wear trousers and collared shirts and the second restaurant men could wear shorts. Even though people were told at the welcome meeting, men still tried to walk into the smart restaurant with shorts on!! - The staff sent them to the other restaurant or back to get changed.

You need shoes to go in the sea and walk on the beach as it hurts your feet. You need to pay to go on the jetty!

Pool and Rooms very clean and we had a Friendly/good Cleaner.

We will not be returning to Egypt and would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauritius05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The hotel is beautiful and immaculately clean. Most of the staff are helpful and friendly, and do their best to look after you. The food is okay, there is a good selection which changes every day. However, you cannot get a proper full english breakfast which was a bit of a let down for us! There are several good sized pools and lots of deck chairs so there is plenty of room. I would recommend doing a few excursions as can get a bit boring just being in the complex. The stars and dinner trip is a must!

Some of the bad points is that some members of staff were a bit rude, and some of the bar staff take a very long time to serve you. One night me and my boyfriend had finished our dinner before they bothered to bring the drinks over! Portion sizes of drinks are very small and it can take a while to get served. Some staff expect tips and hold out their hand, but we only give tips to staff who we felt deserved it. Also if you visit the shopping market on site avoid the perfume shop as I had an unpleasant experience with the shop keeper who turned very nasty when I said I did not want to buy anything.

Unfortunately I became very ill whilst being here which put a bit of a downer on the holiday. I don't think it was related to the hotel I think it was the heat. Talking to other tourists I think it is very common out there so its a good idea to come prepared with sickness tablets as these are expensive from the shop.

Overall the hotel itself is very well kept and perfect for a relaxing holiday. It is definitely the best hotel I have stayed in so far! The downside for me is that the location is way too hot so will not be returning to Egypt again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I spent so much time on trip advisor before we booked to go to Jaz Mirabel Beach with Thomsons and was really nervous with such mixed reviews however I am so pleased we picked the Jaz Mirabel.
Hotel and Rooms - beautiful, 5*, spotlessly clean. Beautiful towel sculptures and fresh flowers in our room most days.
Restaurants - great selection of food from the buffet restaurants in the evening, drinks service a little slow at times.
Zen Asian Restaurant - we visited this restaurant on our last night using our free a la carte voucher and it was brilliant. A lovely restaurant with fantastic food and great service. We wished we had visited sooner as we would have quite happily paid for another evening there - the prices were very reasonable.
Bars/Snack Bars - mixed review - some staff were unhelpful whereas others such as Islam at the Coral Snack Bar looked after us like we were royalty, my partner's beer glass was never empty!
Bar behind reception was great for a cool drink mid afternoon and evening drinks and also for the all important bottled water. We collected water a couple of times a day and there never seemed to be a restriction to how much you could have.
Pools and Beach - the pools are huge and beautifully maintained, we always had sun beds however towels are left out to reserve beds from early morning. The beach is what you would expect - a coral beach where beach shoes are a must, the jetty from the hotel next door costs about £6 for a couple but well worth it for snorkelling and sunbathing.
Gardens and Grounds - beautiful, well maintained and spotlessly clean.
Trips - we went on Thomson's Friday Feeling and VIP Cruise and both were well worth their cost.
Friday Feeling - we were glad we went as it made us realise how lucky we were to be staying outside Naama Bay! We felt it spoilt our vision of Egypt - it was so commercialised and tacky. However we are not youngsters anymore so our priorities on holiday are different. The night itself was well organised and was not really a 'pub crawl' as such with a variety of different ages and visits to a number of bars including Hard Rock Cafe and TGI Fridays. We felt a safe way to venture out at night.
VIP Cruise - a brilliant day out. The boat was beautiful, very clean. The day was well organised and the tour guide and divers great fun. The food was plentiful and very enjoyable. The snorkelling was good even for a beginner like me and we stopped at three different coral reefs which made it more interesting. It was a magical day out and one I won't forget quickly. This is for adults only which is great for couples.
Thomson Reps - Craig and Charlie were great and it is nice to know they are about every day if you need them. They were really helpful with anything we needed to know.
Dreaded Stomach Bug - we did both get the 'bug' despite being over cautious about everything but we visited the chemist at the hotel and we were quickly and easily given the tablets we needed. It did not spoil our holiday at all as I wouldn't let it but I think it is almost inevitable someone in the party will get it so just be prepared.
Tipping - it is a definite must and pretty early on we decided to tip well to staff that would make our stay more enjoyable ie snack bar, room service. That way if you tip well whilst you are there you get great service. I know people do not believe you should have to tip to get good service but when you hear that the average Egyptain earns £50 a month and work pretty much 7 days a week for 12 hours a day it seems right to do it.
The only thing i would say that is that we stayed from the 3rd July for ten days and by the end of our holiday the hotel had really filled up and it was obvious that the restaurants and pool areas were struggling to cope with the numbers. The temperature also continued to increase and was beginning to become dare I say it too ho
All said we would go back again tomorrow, it was a truly fantastic holiday and I believe a great place to stay in Sharm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRANDAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The hotel grounds are 4/5 star, beautiful gardens, pools and beach. This however is where it ends. Checking-in was like trying to walk-on-water, after a 5hr flight, the last thing you need in the early hours of the morning is to be kept waiting for 45mins for your room key. This hotel is massive with hundreds of rooms and yet there was no assitance in helping you find your room whatsoever, just finger pointing by the awful reception staff. The service at Mirabel Beach is appalling, not all but most of the staff are rude and prefer to ignore you completely. What they are good at is taking your money, This was by no means fully inclusive and there are extras be careful. The food was very basic with little taste and repetitive and breakfast was a task in itself, with most mornings there being a long que of 20-30 guests trying to enter the restaurant like cattle, then to find there was a shortage of cutlery, or bowls but mainly helpful staff. Our rep pre-warned us about the level of hotel evening entertainment, which was a understatement, I honestly though the in-house singer was a guest performing Karaoke. Strange it was not mentioned in the brochure?? For me everything about this hotel is for show, then when you scratch below the surface it soon becomes obvious what the place is really like, overated and poor performance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakeaBreak009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

What a wonderful Hotel. Its definately is 5 star. Just got home thismorning and we're missing it already!
We stayed for a week in the Mirabel. Its HUGE! I dont often like massive hotels but the Mirabel is lovely. Its spaced out enough so that the pools were never cramped and there was always a seat at one of the many bars (id stick to the first pool bar with Mohammed and Abdul, what lovely lovely guys, couldnt do any more for us). Sometimes there was a small queue for dinner if we arrived when the doors opened or just before it closed. You can also wander in and out of the Park and Club hotels and use their facilities such as water slides.
The rooms were lovely. You will be impressed by the showers, you could fit a whole family in them! Decently sized rooms with two couch beds and a double, with sliding doors to segregate them. Being on the ground floor we had a little garden bit along with our balcony. Rooms are kept very clean. The head of house keeping popped down twice just to ask if there was anything else we needed.
The food was lovely, we only ate at 3 of the restaurants but there are 5... that we found! Towards the end of the week i got a bit bored of the food, but that happens on all holidays, doesn't it? make sure you ahve porriage for breakfast, i know it sounds silly being in such a hot country, but it helps to settle funny tummys and its the nicest thing i've ever had!
Funny tummys. Your rep will tell you that 5/7 people get it, we all did! Dont jump to conclusions about the food. Its just the heat etc. All the ice is in pre packed bags so you're safe with it. There is a pharmacy on site. The guy speaks brilliant english. He charges around 50LE (about a fiver) for tablets. Definately get the sickness and cramp ones if you're ill, the sachets are optional. They do work unlike immodium or anything british, it just doesnt work for heat related sickness. Its not too bad though, you do have a warning bofre you need to go to the toilet, it wont spoil your holiday i promise!
There are also many other shops on site, including a supermarket where low and behold things have prices on them! Jimmys ciggy shop, single packets are about 10 LE for 20 cigs (about £1.30) and 100 LE for 200. Nice guy, lots of free lighters and 'you pay tomorrow' if he had no change.
The only downside to the hotel itself was entertainment. There was stuff going on during the day, such as volley ball and archery, but no one told us about it. During the evening they had bingo, kareoke etc and a russian singer. they did have an ampetheatre for big shows, but we only found it 3 days ago! The hotel would improve massively from a better entertainment area and schedule.
The area itself is nothing to go by. If you're expecting a busy place full of water sports and shops, you're out of luck. the nearest shop was a 20 minute walk away down a main road. the sea is very very shallow for the first half mile, no good for swimming (we took plastic shoes with us for walking in the sea, lots of coral, fish, urchins and we saw a snake!). I do advise going snorkelling after half a mile there are loads of wonderful fish! (dont walk down the pier if you can help it, they charge you 28LE to walk up it when the sea is shallow enough to walk through. then again saying that we were exhausted by the end of it!).
There are loads of places to hire quad bikes and scooters from along the front (about a tenner per go) which is the best way to get you about. if youre walking on their route though id be careful of them!. Apart from that there was nothing along the beach. Apparently lots of things are closed during summer as its too hot, so who knows whats its like in the winter, when its still scorching hot!
The hotel really does make up for the fact that we were so isolated! (apart from some entertainment issues) You couldn't fault it. There is a bus service which can take you into naama bay where it is busier but you have to pay and pre book for it. We didnt go, but apparently its was more like blackpool than egypt...
I'd definately recomend it for poeple with children (water slides next door and a kids club, loads of pools), or for people who wants to sunbathe all day. Personally being 18 (i didnt want to go out till all hours, but somewhere to walk to would be nice!) I found the days got a little boring. Its the right hotel in the wrong place, if they could pick it up and move it further into sharm it would be perfect!

(If you do go to any of the mirabels, spend your first day exploring. Honestly it will make things easier for you later on as theyre so big! We only discovered one of the bars last night!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
16.2 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#37 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,840 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#29 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#1 of 33 in Nabq Bay
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Mirabel Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Mirabel Beach

Address: Nabq Bay | P.O. Box 377, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#20 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £55 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Mirabel Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 645
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jaz Mirabel Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Mirabel Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Jaz Mirabel Beach Resort
Jaz Mirabel Beach Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay
Mirabel Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing