We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff , fantastic grounds.”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
nr oxford uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely staff , fantastic grounds.”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

From our arrival it was made clear the staff would do anything they could to help you to enjoy your stay we were upgraded to a sea veiw room which was lovely with two king sized beds.We found the quiet pool ,quite quickly by Nino s bar .You could quite easily get a sun bed at any time of day, none of the getting up at 6 o clock to save one routine .Mamoud and Syeed from Nino s bar and pool, made our holiday lovely lads spoke excellent english and genuinely friendly . The couple playing music were cuban and although a little limited in their repertoir they were a lovely couple and gave the bar a nice atmosphere .Food could be a little repetative but always something to eat some things not too noticable, there is a toasted sandwich station and you get the ice creams from there in the evenings.The grounds are amazing very well kept.Snorkelling is fantastic and the guys on the jetty are great as are the fish. Came across lots of jelly fish but the non stinging kind, i was informed by the staff it was breeding season but they definately don t sting! Management are great if you have any problems speak to them there and then don t go home and moan later they are desperate for you to enjoy your stay and want to sort any problems . Yes there are lots of russians and polish and yes they tend to be quite rude especially to the staf if they can say beer and vodka surely they can learn to say please and thank you and smile once in a while.All inclusive stops at 11 but you can pay after that but to be honest after a day in the sun by 11 i was ready for bed .We had a sea veiw room and although music was playing on the beach it was hardly noticeable due to the double glazing but some people can complain about every thing.They were repaving the drive when we were there a bit noisy at times but not overly so but what could they do they don t have a quiet season and they did very much consider the guests as much as possible. Forget Namma bay go to Soho Square much nicer classy and your still able to barter. 40 Egyptian Pounds in a cab from outside the hotel. Across the road from the hotel is the Union Jack Bar great if you fancy a change, lovely food contemporary feel plasma screens and very reasonable from sandwiches to full meals they even served us at midnight and we could nt eat it all just too much ! Went to Cairo on the bus a long way but only cost £30 6 hours there 6 hours back lovely coach though full air con and reclining seats .Egyptian Museum was great although a bit rushed, trip on the nile lovely and the pyramids are amazing, keep some 20 egyptian pounds in your pocket to buy bits from the kids. Got the trip from a company we had used before Sinai Tours in namma bay we paid £30 people on our bus had paid up to £80 per person for the same trip you have to shop around.Take your own cigs they re all horrible unless you like Marlborough all the same tobacco different wrappers some weaker but all taste the same Buy them in duty free there and on the way back although not much of a selection. Went on the star gazing trip with sinai safari an english couple who do trips and reasonable on price they ve got a web page and can contact them and book trips before you leave for egypt were lucky enough to go on the night of the luna eclipse the guy giving the information was amazing so knowledgeable lovely meal with the bedouins, complete with bread making ! Quad biking is great take a big scarf with you for your face, very dusty .Mount Sinai climb is great a bit tiring but if your relatively fit amazing trip you dont need a visa if you go on this or stay in sharm only buy one if your going quite far out .including Cairo.Mohamed Saad deserves a mention a genuine charming man who will do his very best to make your stay pleasurable and helped us out and was very good company . All in all a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimferguson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort for your stay. We would like to thank you also for your time posting your comments and on the Trip Advisor, we are glad to learn that our resort facilities, services, and staff manners met your satisfaction and expectation , your recommendation for our hotel is highly appreciated and something we value.
We thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sharm Grand Plaza.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,055
    1,302
    578
    210
    120
See reviews for
1,442
1,579
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Me and my boyfriend booked this holiday last minute. After looking carefully at all the hotels in sharm, we decided we liked the look of this one and were persuaded by all the good reviews.
It was absolutely amazing and there was not one part we didn't enjoy. Everyone was polite, warm and welcoming. The pools were very clean as was the interior of the hotel. Food was lovely and we ate some of the best meals we had ever tested and we eat out allot! It was difficult to intially book restaurants but after a quiet word with the manager we were soon given 5* service. I would highly recommend fussion, the carribean and the Indian. The only downfalls was that there was no where open 24 hours,it was only set times and when your away on holiday in different routines, this can be frustrating as I like to eat little and often!
Staff were very helpful, ESP the man who serviced the shish bar (lovely!) and the manager of the tapas bar and poolside bar (we meant to write this in our feedback but were running late! Boyfriend taking to long to pack!) so a big thumbs up to them! Room was always clean to a high standard ESP as I'm not a tidy person, and cleaned at suitable times.
Animation team were fun and not too pushy. We did water aerobics and salsa which was very amusing! The shows in the evening were ok, not the best I had seen and at times slighty irritating and the music loud but we made the choice to go there as the other bars made us feel a bit older than our age (still in our twenties!). We felt that a nice funky bar would have made it even better, somewhere like the shish bar.
Trip were fantastic. We did the camal excursion and the evening quad ride. Staff were very friendly and supportive. Even if you choose to off road the quads without meaning too! I received special help after this instance!
I have recommended this hotel to family and friends and have said how special we were made to feel!
Although the hotel fumigate every evening I would highly recommend to. Buy the strongest bug spray you can . One night I was bitten 180 times in my legs. I was lucky it was not in the slighted bit itchy just unattractive!

Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making it a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrenharding18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Greetings from us all, we would like to thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza for your stay here in Sharm. We would like to thank you also for your time conveying and posting your comments, we are glad to know that our hotel facilities, services, and staff manners met your satisfaction, we really appreciate your recommendation for our hotel and we will be more than happy to see you again. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sharm Grand Plaza.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladikavkaz, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Just want to say that we have twice stayed at this hotel. Grand Plaza Hotel is really GRAND!!!!!! Excellent food, , large and green area, clean and comfortable rooms!!! And very friendly staff. We would like to say a big thank you to Olga and Muna. I recommend this hotel to all people who want to have a great holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karina-pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
Dear valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza. Also we would like to thank you for your time conveying your valuable comments. It is great to know that our hotel facilities, services and staff manners met your satisfaction, surely we will be more than happy to welcome you for the third time , your recommendation for our hotel is highly appreciated ,
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sharm Grand Plaza.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Me and my wife stayed there for one week the food is a joke the alacart dining is expensive they havnt got enough glasses to go round so you can't get a drink wen u want one the glasses in the restaurant were filthy the staff are ok don't go outside because it's a quite area you get hassled a lot I wouldn't recommend it beach is rubbish don't go save your money and go 3star for the same service

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoney1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for staying at Sharm Grand plaza, and we thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We were very disappointed to learn that you did not like our variable international fourteen days rolling menus at our buffet restaurants which are indeed to the expectation to all of our guests, apart from that Grill House( by our clean and spotless beach) opens for lunch to offer different type of food on the grill. As we are a five-star hotel with mixed nationalities we offer different international menus at dinner. Regarding the a la carte restaurant we have three different ones (Sea Food, Oriental and Italian) you can find in every restaurant different menu with a big variety of the price, however we have main set menu in Falafel Restaurant to be free of charge upon guest request. Kindly note that we have washing machines in every outlet in order to make sure we offer very clean glasses and make the operation is more easy during rush time.
We would like to draw your attention that we have every Monday guest’s cocktail party to meet our guests and to check any comments and try to solve anything on the spot, additionally throughout the week our managers meet the guests around and listen carefully to any comments, but unfortunately during your stay we did not receive this comment.
Sorry for not being able to enjoy all of the above. We thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to Sharm Grand Plaza.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Did you ever stay in a Hotel that starts a Beach Disco every night from 11 pm to 2 am ?
No, I guess. Hotel management should respect all of their guests, no ? Well, not at this ".. Grand.." Plaza. Very loud disco every night (we slept with earplugs and still could hear the bass) so we did not have any rest (although this was a holiday to relax).
When we asked to change rooms, the staff was very helpful, but every room is filled with this disco sound.
All Inclusive: I'm sorry, certainly not. Dirty, smelly glasses and very poor quality of drinks.
Food: OK, no complaint.. this was the only positive note during our stay.
Service: friendly staff at restaurants (tip driven ofcourse) but overall I am convinced that they all think we Europeans are just there to be victims of tourist traps.

We travel since more than 25 years now, have been to many places (also Egypt twice !), stayed in all kinds of hotels - 3-4-5-6 stars - all inclusive, half board, breakfast only. We never complained, always could understand local situation, BUT we always could sleep at night.
AND.... we never felt the need to write a comment on facebook. Should I say more....

Whatever you pay, you pay too much for this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank walter188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Our Guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We would like to thank you also for your time conveying your comments. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you insisted to stay in junior suite which has wonderful front sea view, although we offered so many rooms away from the beach area on your first night arrival. Regarding our discotheque we informed your good self on your arrival day that our neighboring hotel has a beach party for first time and that the wind is blowing the sound to our side. Our neighboring hotel was at our expectation and stopped the party for any future time. We also regret that you did not attend management cocktail reception although we sent you an invitation, so we could have the chance to do the necessary actions in order to make sure you had a satisfactory stay.

We will be glad if you give Sharm Grand Plaza Resort another chance for future time and visit us again and we will do our best to exceed your expectation always.

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and have to say that it was even better this year.

All the staff are very special, polite and deserve recognition for the service they provide, especially Adel El Sayad who was working at the Nino Bar and had to put up with some very rude guests. He always had a smile on his face. Waleid Tahone, Sayed Basuny, Mona and Figoo in the restuarant, Margarita and Domonik in the animation team all made this another very special holiday. Special mention goes to Mohamed Saad as he made sure we were looked after.

The Food was excellent with a good selection (100% better than last year). Bar areas and beach kept clean,

PLEASE DON'T BELEIVE THE BAD REVIEWS, WE HAVE NOW HAD TWO EXCELLENT HOLIDAYS IN THIS HOTEL AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE.

Sue and Kev Thompson - Nottingham

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank suetomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 11 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort for your stay. We thank you also for your time conveying your very positive comments and we are glad to know that hotel facilities, services, and staff manners met your satisfaction.
We will be more than happy to meet you again at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

From arriving at the hotel, nothing was too much trouble. Staff & service was second to none with smiles all around from the staff where ever you went. Pool areas was kept immaculate throughout the day & room service was spot on. I would say this was more of a couples hotel although there were plenty of children there & activities catered for. Try out the hotel you won't be dissapointed.

Mark

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkS405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 11 June 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort for your stay. We thank you also for your time conveying your very positive comments and we are glad to know that hotel facilities, services, and staff manners met your satisfaction.
We will be more than happy to meet you again at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.0 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#94 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,599 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
1.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,303 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Property: Sharm Grand Plaza
Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing