We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel "All Staff Amazing"”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Best quality hotel in Sharm I have stayed in so far for our budget of below £550 and we got 8 nights for that. All the staff were super, always a smile or greeting from the mangement to the garden staff. Which is rare for all the staff to be that attentive. The pool guys Ahmed A Allah and Maher Fathy looked after us all very well and refused tips. The poo/beachl bar staff brought us drinks all day to our sun loungers nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is right on beach which you can walk in either direction and feel very safe. The rooms were spacious cleaned well, water was left every day and if need more it was not a problem. Pools were all lovely, ground kept up to a high standard and everywhere was so clean the hotel is run to a very high standard. The food is very good for mass catering and if you do find some of food cold then tell them and they will sort it for you, if you dont let the management know then they can nt make it better. We did have to ask animation team to turn music down around the large pool and they did and the same when the young man was on the microphone talking to ten guest doing games it was nt neeeded to be blasting out to guest around the pool reading and relaxing. Overall best hotel out of the nine I have stayed at in Sharm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank JayneHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. We were very pleased to know that our facilities were up to standard as expected by you and we are looking forward to welcome you back in to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,303)
There are newer reviews for Sharm Grand Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,226 - 2,232 of 4,303 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Entertainment is good in the evenings
Food ok, a lot to choose from
Staff excellent
Spotlessly clean
Kids club, good
Nikita (works in kids club)excellent
Reception staff brilliant (hussein and Ahmed ibrahim especially)
We got Free room upgrade
And free late checkout.
A heated pool with some entertainment
Perfect for families or couples
Room service go the extra mile(thank you hatem)
Picturesque,
Perfect holiday, thank you very much, will be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boltonfamily151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Beautiful and clean hotel. All staff are friendly, polite and helpful, expecially the room service (hatem) and reception staff. Ahmed ibrahim and Hussein zaki are great, if you need anything sorted don't bother with the rep, see them on the front desk. Khaled Nasser on the towels always has a smile going free. We used the kids club, although resources were sparse nikita goes the extra mile to make sure that the kids are happy and well looked after and entertained.
Would definitely recommend and don't worry about the russians, they're not that bad.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egyptoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at the sharm grand plaza last september along with four other people as soon as we arrived we was made to feel welcome, the first room we was given was to far from the restraunt as my mum and 2 of her frends are in there late 60s and they didnt want to walk to far also they wanted to be near the quite pool so i went back to the reception and spoke to the duty manager that was on who's name was Mohamed Saad he was so kind and polite straight away he gave us two rooms that were near the quite pool and said if they are no good please come back and speak to me , when ever he see us he always said hello is everything ok nothing was to much trouble , The Sharm grand plaza is a lovely hotel,the hotel grounds are are kept butifull , the swimming pools are clean there was 2 young men that looked after us around the pool getting our towls and moving the sunbeds for us nothing was to much trouble for them and again they was very kind and polite to me and my family so thankyou Ahmed Mondy and Mustafa Hassam . our hotel room was spotlessly clean with fresh towls brought everyday . The food was quite nice always something to eat the only fault i could find was the frech fries they always seemed cold , we had a young lady that always looked after us, as soon as she see us she found us a table and sorted our drinks out , i wasnt well one night think i'd had to much sun so she gave my mum some mint leaves for me and said to put them in hot water and drink it that really helped so just want to say thankyou to Shahenda Gamal, i would recomend this hotel i give it 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

we,ve just arrived back from Sharm....The hotel was good..I picked this Hotel because the tripadviser reviews were excellent..especially the food ! We found the food was brilliant ..We,ve travelled all over the world and bad food can ruin your holiday so it was important to us ...The master chef Mohamed Fathy & Senior sous chef Ibrahim Eldeeb were TRUE PROFESSIONALS !!!They watched over the Restaurant constantly & were very pleasant to all...In fact the staff were fabulous & couldnt do enough for you !!! Always with a wonderful smile !!!We ate in the ''Oriental'' al a carte restaurant a couple of times ....The food was FABULOUS!!!Chef Ahmed Abel Alla was very pleasant & always came to see if everything was perfect ...& it was !! Adel Hasan the waiter was also very professional..We found the Beach & other pools very noisy...Loud music boom boom which is so unnecessary!!So we went to The Quiet Pool ! Which was wonderful ! So peaceful...The waiter Adel Ahmed was brilliant ...He catered to our every need (with a cheery smile ) as did Chef El Sayed Mostafa...All in all ...Great Staff !! The Manager ADEL was really helpful after a mishap with the ATM machine (be careful..didnt give money ) They dont have Money Exchange !!!! Madness !!But Mr Adel was so helpful !!!!! They dont have proper indoor bar which is silly as it was so cold at night time...We were in what was once a shop !!!!! ALL IN ALL....IT WAS A NICE HOTEL ..BUT NEEDED A LITTLE TWEEKING......PS..Dont book transfers with BWE (beds with ease.com )AS THEY FORGOT TO PICK US UP FOR OUR RETURN TO THE AIRPORT !!

Room Tip: rooms on top floor quiet
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank pammy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Please accept our appreciation and thanks for staying at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort, we do appreciate your comments and feedback posted here on this site and we are more than happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel service meet your expectation. Thank you again and we will be waiting for your next visit to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just come back from 5 nights at grand plaza. Paid £530 Inc flights all incl for a deluxe seaview room. Nice grounds stunning in fact. Food not bad good choice and omelettes at brekky r lovely. Loads of Russians there and as rude as hell but the place n beach was big enough and quieter enough to ignor! Weather was 25deg and if u love scuba diving n snorkelling like me it's a dream location! B aware tho the currents change daily so wasn't allowed to snorkel of jetty at times. Cost on shuttle return to naama was 64egyp for 2. The bar staff were just fab n loved the Brits and hate the Russians! Hilarious. Mohammad on beach bar and evening bar is the best and Mohammad at pool bar too! Thank u to u both. Andy and I had a great few days and I can't wait to visit again soon

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fiona1974_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment and feedback, we are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully soon.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just arrived back so will jot this down in no particular order, I'm sure lots of it has been said before. By all means contact me if you want more info will do my best to help.

Used A2B transfers, booked online before we went away cost £24 return for 4 adults car waiting no sharing. Yes you can haggle outside for cheaper, but it worked for us. Transfer time is only 10 mins.

Had a good price so booked flights with Monarch and hotel with Alpha rooms, travelled 23/2/12 to 4/3/12

Take a pen with you keep it handy especially when going home as you must fill in the form at airport before leaving.

Hotel has own beach area, lots of sunbeds and lots fixed wicker umberellas. Fabulous hot sunny weather when wind died down.

Few windy days whilst there so wind breaker needed on beach although it did calm down. These are few and far between so tend to be claimed. After saying that they are so very dangerous. Heavy rusty metal frames with whicker, hard to get them to stay upright in the sand. Lady badly cut when one fell on her whilst sunbathing.

Our rooms were in Tiran block handy for restaurant and bars (more of later). One problem depending on room number, woken at 6am or earlier by hotel next door rolling barrels and emptying bins, so move rooms if it bothers you.

Nimo Bar and quiet pool area is ideal just for chilling, no loud music. Adel who works there is so very nice. Always smiling, always cleaning. Well done Adel

Hotel promotes 5/6 restaurants, sadly, when enquiring informed it was less than 40% full therefore most are closed. Obviously this is understandable to us but not to everyone!

Hotel Restaurant- food alright and varied, you will always find something to eat.
Beach restaurant- as above. Chef Sayed & Mohammed Fatyed went out of there way to look after us.

There is another lovely restaurant belonging to the hotel near the entrance think its called Palermo. Went there for breakfast great. Went back same evening for dinner..closed because hotel below occupancy.

Al la Carte Falef Restaurant (the only other one opened) went there a couple of times complimentary. Absolutely delicious so much food, again Chef Sayed and waiter Adel Ahmed always smiling with his perfect service, he could'nt do enough for us. The restaurant is lovely with fresh decor, give it a try. Even If your paying, a sumptious steak with all the trimmings will set you back about £5.50.

Entertainment in my opinion is dire. We did our best to listen to a violinist, wont elaborate will leave it as.... awful. Man & woman duet singers, she was ok. He belongs with the violinist!!!
Guitarist was wonderful after listening to the others.

Dominic is a happy young man, he really does his very best as part of the animation team, but I guess it is tough when guests dont want to join in. Maybe you should try the cruise ships Dom!!!! Sadly I think the entertainment lets the hotel down, but when hotel is quiet I guess cost and budget are an issue.

Read many comments about the Russians on Trip/A thought I would reserve judgement until I was actually on hol. Speak as I find.... all previous comments true.

Portofino Restaurant is just that, a restaurant, although they no longer serve food. So it now becomes a 'bar' !! Absolutely no atmostphere, no ambience, not comfortable at all sitting on dining room chairs. Could do with some comfy lounge chairs. No decor so to speak..Oops!!. but we had the violinist.

The saving grace of this so called 'bar' are the two members of staff. Lovely Mohammed bar tender and waiter Assem who speaks wonderful clear English with an Oxford accent. Both are perfect gentleman who deserve the highest praise, an absolute asset to this hotel, what a great team they make. Promote them!!

At the managers meet & greet which takes place of a Monday I did mention this to a lovely gentleman Mr Hassan Hotel Manager. I did say candles in the this 'bar' may make small difference. He did take this on board, next night we had the candles, but to be honest its still not good enough.

He told me a new bar is being built but problems with contractors, which has been going on for a few months. Meanwhile, make your guests comfortable.

If you dont drink in the above 'bar' there is a bar around the pool area, but you will sit out in the open and it tended to become too chilly of an evening. They do have patio type curtaining. Hopefully when its warmer it will be fine.

Upstairs lobby bar is beautiful, be aware you cannot use all inclusive at this bar. You must pay for your drinks. We did visit, 1 glass of lager, 1 vodka tonic over £8. I guess thats one of the reasons it was always empty.

Again Mr Hassan explained they wont allow all incl in this particular bar because it's first impression as guests arrive. The last thing you want to see is drunken loud people on arrival. I did think it was a poor excuse, but on reflection after seeing how some guests behave with drink, especially our friends from Russia. I now tend to agree with him & think he has a valid point.

Shower curtain smelly need to be changed, heard others mention the same.

Pillows dirty, disgraceful

Mr Hassen if you read this please make it a priority and tell the Housekeeper Manager to do his job. Sometimes delegating doesnt work!!

Its most definely the staff that make this hotel.

Adel asst front desk manager is a star, if he can help he will. Naturally charming with guests tells you what you want to hear, but hey thats his job!!

As I said it was so quiet and under half full at this hotel, also told it is the same all over Sharm.

I have included some pics but there are loads already posted about this hotel

So with that in mind maybe there are some good deals to be had. Go grab some winter sunshine

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank syd312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Our Guest
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to convey your experience at Sharm Grand Plaza.We are glad to read your comments about the hotel services,facilities and staff and to know that in general most met your satisfaction.
All your comments we will take surely into consideration and immediate action. The single case of the wind breakers was handled on same day and the wind breakers checked and the recreation staff made sure that all are fixed in the best way to prevent any accidents.On that accident day the wind was strongly blowing and the wind breaker was pushed by mistake towards the injured client.Palmera restaurant is an all inclusive restaurant serving same items in Riviera restaurant and is opened depending on overall Resort occupancy. The violinist is changed already.
The indoor bar is temporarily only and is due to close any day now ; we are glad to announce you that work started already in our new bar lounge.Our housekeeping department was addressed about all the upraised points from your good side and be sure that we are running daily rooms inspections currently and we are making the necessary replacements or changes all the time.
Thank you again and we will be glad to welcome you again in the hopefully near future to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort and we will do our best to exceed your expectation
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.0 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#94 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,641 reviews
1.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#69 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,264 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
5.3 mi away
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £41 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing