We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good holiday but......”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good holiday but......”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I want to be fair about this review as there are both good and bad bits..... so the best way I can start this review is by asking myself the question "Would I go back to this hotel/resort?" The answer is YES, but this is no 4* or 5* hotel more like a good 3* one at best.

We traveled as 2 couples and had 2 deluxe rooms with sea views. These were both on the third (top) floor of Dolphin Block. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well presented and our thanks goes to Mohammed who kept them that way throughout our stay. The bathrooms though were a little shabby decoration wise and in our particular bathroom, you could smell the drains at night. We had no problems with insects, ants, or any other little visitors. One other small issue was that there was an additional £4 per night charge for tea/coffee facilities if you wanted them.... even though it was supposed to be 'All inclusive' and we paid extra for the 'deluxe' rooms?

Food was in general was very good, plentiful and there was a wide selection, so no complaints there and the restaurant staff were also very helpful and friendly. During our stay, we also chose to have an Italian a la carte meal - excellent and good value, can recommend that one.

The rest of the hotel/resort was generally as stated in the brochure, pools were very clean, plenty of sunbeds, although they were a little tatty...and the Animation team were just great. There was also a SPA there and I must say "the best massage I've had in years, you simply must try it". Our thanks go to all of the Guarana Spa team.

So what about the bad bits......

Well, they are building a new purpose made SPA building at the moment...due to open in 3 months time....until then, there is building noise on a daily basis and so you don't need an alarm clock! We were not informed of that one before we went!
The 'Gents' toilets down by the Luna Bar is not recommended, VERY bad smells....and I'm told the LADIES is not a nice place either!
There are too many 'Trip Touts' around trying to get you to go on 'their' trips because they are the best....... I list this as a bad bit on the hotel as the hotel management must endorse this practice as they provide them purpose made kiosks to work from!

Other than the above, we loved it.......

Room Tip: If you can, go for a room with a Sea View.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acacia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,054
    1,302
    578
    210
    120
See reviews for
1,441
1,579
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
livingston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just back from a week in the grand plaza with my wife , we had a great time . best thing about this place is the staff they could not do enough for you with or without a tip. food not the best but ok , drinks very very strong russians very very drunk but funny and friendly (budgie smugglers seem to be their main choice of swimwear , very funny) the beach is great for an egyptian hotel . snorkeling there is just jaw droppingly awsome so many fishes , but beware i got caught in the current and only just made it back to the pier , so before you swim ASK where i'ts safe . the evening entertainment was so bad it was hilarious , had us in tears and looking farward to the next evenings show ,so for what it cost ,the fun we had ,the sun,the fantastic the sea , the friendly staff and the friends we made THANK YOU GRAND PLAZA were coming back next year

Room Tip: tirain block is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmylivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I have to admit we were a bit aprehensive after reading the mixed reviews on trip advisor before travelling! However during our 10 night stay in early october both me and my boyfriend really couldnt find anything to complain about. The hotel, beach and grounds were lovely and clean. The food was plentiful and tasty, i really dont understand the reviews commenting that there was nothing to eat! The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the people trying to sell you trips etc around the pool would always leave you alone if you just said a polite "no thankyou."
For the absolute bargain price we paid for this holiday we were very happy and would recommend this hotel for anyone looking forward to a reasonably priced relaxing holiday in the sun.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Myself and my wife have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Sharm Grand Plaza. We had a fantastic holiday and have no negative comments from any aspect of our stay.
The weather was very hot with it being over 40 in the sun and 36 in the shade. It would only drop to 32 / 34 in the night. There was a strong breeze on the beach which made it possible to sunbathe.
The food was good and very varied, with a different theme 7 days a week.
I would like to give a special mention to HAMADA from the restaurant. He looked after us for all of our meals and we made sure we sat in the area that he was waiting on as he made every meal very special by making sure we wanted for nothing. He was always smiling and came across very professional and showed that he enjoyed his work and took pride in ensuring all of his guests where well looked after.
Our hotel room was very large and had a good view over the lazy river pool. It was cleaned daily and water was left every day. We had asked for an upgrade prior to travelling and the manager, Waleed, made sure we had this excellent room. It had 2 double beds a large bathroom with bath and shower, and a large balcony.
The pool area looked good but we spent all of our days on the hotel beach. This was very good and you had a pool area in the sea between the coral that you could go into and cool off or snorkel. The snorkelling was amazing.
The people trying to sell trips or beauty treatments where very polite and if you said No, they would say thank you and just leave you a brochure and leave you alone.
I celebrated my birthday whilst staying at the hotel and they invited us to the A la carte Grill house for the belly dancing show which was a very nice touch, and I was very surprised and thankful for the birthday cake that we found in our room on returning from our evening meal. This was a very nice touch and I would like to thank everyone involved.
We are planning on returning next year with our family and the hotel management have already stated that they will look after any requests we have for room types, and the manager has said he would like to welcome us himself next time.

The complex is also having a new bar complex built and when finished I can only expect that it will make the experience even better.

The only suggestion I would make is to have a bar that can show the sport events as most people would go across the road on an evening to watch things like football. If there was a bar for sports events then you would not need to leave the complex.

Fantastic relaxing holiday with a very nice clean resort with excellent facilities and some of the most friendly staff I have met. They would actually approach you if you where in the lobby area and ask if they could assist you with anything.

Well done to everyone at the Sharm Grand Plaza team.

See you again next year.

PS. A lot of people complain about the Russians, and they are very arrogant and rude but I found that you could easily ignore this and just get on with your own holiday. I feel sorry for the staff as they are the ones that have to deal and put up with the Russian arrogant behaviour.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just returned from a great week in Sharm at a lovely hotel. Here is my opion of our stay ,
Firstly the hotel is set in lovely well kept grounds that are very well laid out,it is clean and tidy.There is air conditioning that works in all main area's. 5 different pools and an (out door jacuzzi) that cater for allsorts from the sporty to the quick dip and a shallow kids pool, with plenty of beds to choice from and fresh clean towels daily. It is hot but there is a nice breeze to take the edge of .I have been to a lot of all inclusive hotels and this is the first where you can help yourself to soft drinks instead of waiting in a queue,there is a jetty by the beach that is a must to look at sealife like nothing we have in britain crystal clear waters are amazing. Food is a bit plain in the main dining area there is enough to get you through the day but we did eat out every night. The Three Crowns beside the Tropicana grand is good safe honest food If you are going for 'cordon blu' cooking eygpt is not really the place to go. The Staff were very friendly and polite and worked hard. rooms were always clean and tidy and spacious .Animation team were good lots of daily activities.

Room Tip: Just be careful with your food
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We camed here for our 3rd week, having spent the first at the Royal Albatros moderna. (we wanted to experience a different hotel)

We had a lovely relaxing week. The staff are absolutely lovely and cant do enough for you. Lots of pools and choice of beds....Lazy pool is great to lie round relaxing!!!

The restaurants I must say VERY relaxed atmosphere very organised No hustle and bustle. I loved the fact that couples and familys were organised together so you never had 2 people taking up a dining table for 4/6 people.... GREAT IDEA!!!!!! the food was lovely too, and the chef came out and asked us what we thought... which I thought was a lovely gesture!!!

Our room was opposite the lazy pool on the ground floor very big and clean.

It was my husbands birthday whilst we were here and we were treated to a fabulous meal in the italian along with a birthday cake!!!....Lovely touch!!!!!!

Entertainment was ok.....kids enjoyed the mini disco although could do a bit more in English please!!!!We spent most days round the mickey mouse pool and kids club.....although I must say the kids club needs a complete makeover....the ceiling was coming down and the toilets were disgusting!!!!!! I dont think they had ever been cleaned!!!!! My children did enjoy getting out of the midday sun and the staff were great with them too!!!!

My only bad points would be: NO free water you have to pay for extra bottles!!!! No free icecream only an hours slot which is not enough and they could do with a few more bars ie round the lazy pool and near to the childrens mickey pool, or refrigerators with free water in at the very least....

Other than this we had a fantastic 3rd week very relaxing and met some lovely lovely friends!!!!

So thank you we would return to this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed right opposite the lazy pool on the ground floor lovely spacious room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alleybolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 10 days from 27 September until 7 October. The hotel was 20 minutes from the airport & we had a very quick check in. I had emailed the hotel asking to be given a room in the Tiran block & when we arrived we had been upgraded to a partial see view room which was brilliant as we were next to the beach & directly next to the main pool. In the first few days our air-conditioning unit broke & the fuse in the bathroom fan blew, we reported this to reception & they were fixed within 30 minutes. Our room was cleaned well & we were given a large bottle of water every day.

We had read a lot about hassle from staff offering treatments & are pleased to say we had no hassle what so ever. In fact nearly every person who approached us spoke more about themselves & Egypt than trying to sell services. I never book treatments on holidays but we were too tempted by the full body massage on the beach which was 300LE (£30) for 50 minutes & a 1 hour facial which was 400LE (£40) and amazing!! We would fully recommend these treatments!

As a vegetarian I’m always a little limited to start with when it comes to the food but the choice was fantastic. There were a number of vegetable dishes every day as well as the usual meat & potato dishes. Everything was cooked to perfection & the chefs couldn’t have been friendlier & more helpful if you needed to know what was in the food. We loved the oriental corner. The pastries at breakfast were the best I’ve ever tasted. Lots of reviews state lunch & dinner served the same food, this is not true. Lunch had the usual of hot food, pizza, pasta etc but dinner was a different international theme each night. Even on the seafood night I found plenty of vegetarian food to eat. The only thing we didn’t like about the restaurant was that they didn’t do rose wine but that was no problem as white wine spritzers were just as nice. The restaurant & dining area was well laid out with plenty of tables. After dinner we had cocktails at the Luna Bar, it was lovely laying on sunbeds by one of the pools but sometimes the music from the children’s amphitheatre was too loud to be next to the bar. There are 3 A la Carte restaurants which are not part of the all-inc package, we did eat at the Italian once but there was a mix up as we hadn’t been told it was a set menu which meant we had limited choice, the quality of the food here was great. There is a NUTS bar which is for British only & all-inc until 11pm, we ventured in one evening but the music wasn’t great & the crowd in their was much older than us.

We had absolutely no trouble getting sunbeds by the pool, we stayed there every morning then moved to the beach in the afternoon. The water wasn’t hot but given that it was 40 degrees every day the cool water was bliss! We did snorkel a few times but the sea was so rough we came out a bit battered but the coral we saw was amazing. There was always a lifeguard on duty on the jetty.

Although we didn’t get to any of the shows we chatted to Sam, one of the animators, a lot & he was really great. Every morning he said hello & shook our hands, he was genuinely interested in chatting to you & asking how your holiday is going.

We both felt a bit iffy at times, more to do with the heat, so we ventured out to the pharmacy across the main road. We both felt completely safe outside of the hotel.

All in all we had a really fantastic 10 days. The weather was great (albeit a little too hot for us), the food brilliant & the staff could not have been better, we met so many genuinely lovely people & would love to go back!

Room Tip: The Tiran Block is close to the beach & main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.0 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#92 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,599 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
1.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#63 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Property: Sharm Grand Plaza
Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Southall Travel so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing