We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort, good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Resort, good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Ok so lets make it very clear- a 5* in Egypt is NOT the same as a 5* in say London Paris or New York! If you go there thinking it is then you will not enjoy your holiday!

If you go with an open mind like we did- then you will love it and have no complaints!

We have just returned from our first visit to Sharm and we absolutley loved it. The hotel was beautiful, very large, well laid out with several pools, bars and restaurants and has a lovely jetty to walk out into the sea.

We were in the coral block in a large room with two Queen Size beds, Tv, Mini Fridge, great air con, a large bathroom with clean towels everyday. Our cleaner Elsyed was a very polite, friendly man who always stopped for a chat in the morning. He always cleaned the room to a good standard, gave us fresh towels and a bottle of water daily. He also did us some lovely towel art whilst we were there. In all fairness the rooms are a bit dated- but they are in the process of updating all rooms- and you're only in them to sleep and shower so it's no big deal!

We spent most of our time at the Nino pool as it was closest to our room and seemed to be the quietest and most relaxing pool. The Nino Bar opened at 10am, serving drinks and at different times of the day offered snacks and ice cream. The pool and towel hut attendant Momen Mohamed was an absolute diamond, making sure we had sun beds everyday, offered us lilo's and always came over for a chat or to splash us everyday :) We really hope to see him again as he made our time at the resort so much more enjoyable.

The restaurants offer a variety of food every night- they do a different theme every night- english, italian, indian, russian etc but there is always something to eat- I am unbelievably fussy with my eating but I certainley didn't go hungry! All the food we had was a good quality and not tasteless as some of the reviews have previously said. On the live cooking stations for omelettes, pasta etc there is a choice to add extra ingredients like cheese, onion, garlic, meat or tomato so they can be as plain or as tasty as you choose. We also ate/tried most things and neither of us suffered with a bad stomach which was encouraging. Whilst we were there they had a BBQ at the grill bar on a Monday night for British guests with belly dancing as entertainment and a chance to speak to the management.

The hotel grounds were absolutley stunning!! The gardens were tended to everyday, there was no rubbish to be seen anywhere, it was obvious that the staff worked very hard to keep it so nice and green. There was building work at the hotel but it did not effect us at all. There are shops on the resort selling souvenires etc they do try to talk to you but don't hassell you too much- a polite no and they get the hint. The toilets throughout the resort always had an acceptable standard of cleanliness.

I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone and we hope to return next year for another visit!!

A big thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable

Kerry & Daryl xx

Room Tip: Coral block was near the quieter pool and Elsyed did a great job of cleaning our room 4317
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kez_street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Kez_street
We are so pleased to read your review and to know that the hotel services, facilities, and manners were at your expectations. We would like also to thank you for your precious time for conveying your valuable comments about your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza.Your positive comments will be an asset for the staff mentioned in your review.

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    1,294
    573
    207
    120
See reviews for
1,411
1,570
80
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

My partner and I arrived to this hotel on October the 7th this year (2012) and stayed for ten nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recomment this hotel for couples, and families. Big thanks to Sameh in the hotel restaurant who looked after us through out our stay keeping us a table every day at breakfast lunch and dinner. Another special thanks to Salah on the beach bar who has become a great friend and also looked after us every day bringing us beer back and forth from the bar to the pool or where ever we were on the beach. And last but not least thanks to the lovely boys from the animation team, Sam, Mimo and Matty who kept us entertained every day with their dancing, chatting, and the enthusiasm they put into everything like water polo, water gymnastics etc... they were such a laugh!
The only thing about this hotel which was a slight let down was the food did get a bit repetitive so we went out one evening for food and got a McDonalds on another just to have a change. Also remember a tip goes a long way over here as does manners and just being polite =)
The hotel for us was great and I cant understand some people on here who have said that it isnt clean here, it was spotless and there were people working constantly on the gardens sweeping and cleaning. The rooms were also faultless. We will definitely be returning next year!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the pool as you will be close to the beach also and near to the restaurant and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Becky G

Thank you for your time conveying your comments here and we are glad that you shared your first experience in Sharm El Sheikh among the rest of our guests here, rest assure that your comments will be taken into our consdertaion and future plans.
First time at Sharm El Sheikh and we hope that all times will be at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort and we will do our best always to exceed your expectations.

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a week at Sharm Grand Plaza.

I'm going to be very honest, there were some aspects of this hotel that I would expect from a five star all inclusive that were not part of the package at Sharm Grand Plaza for example, there is a Movenpick ice cream stand next to the beach which isnt included in the all inclusive you could only get free ice cream from the Luna bar between 1-2 pm

That aside the hotel is lovely, our room in the Tiran block was spacious, clean and very close to the beach. The beach bar was great, very generous with their measures....gin and lemonade + beach bed = GREAT TIMES

We didnt try the three a la carte restaurants as the Riveria (the biggest all inclusive) was great, loads of choice and most importantly all the food was tasty, we never struggled for things to eat, breakfast you could have freshly made omlettes, waffles, french toasts etc etc.....I have to admit I did develop an addiction...CHOCOLATE COVERED BREAKFAST DONUTS!! WARNING!!! These are highly addictve but a must have, its a shame they all come out at breakfast, breakfast this morning in England was not the same.
Lunch was always nice with chicken, beef and fish dishes to choose from, theres loads of choice for eveyone and plentiful.

Dinner was a different theme every night and again loads of choice.

Bottomline, we would go back to this hotel tomorrow if we could, it was beautiful, the staff were great, everything was beautiful

Go there and find out for yourself!!!!

Room Tip: Tiran block is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Missy A
We would like to thank you for choosing the hotel for your past stay in Sharm El Sheikh.We are glad to know that hotel services and facilities could meet your expectations. Hotel's all inclusive concept is clear to all the tour operators as the hotel facilities at the hotel website. We do our best to make sure information reach our guest before arrival via website and tour operators and also upon arrival by handing out hotel pocket guide with map and also facilities explanation.
We will be glad to welcome you again at the hotel in the nearest future and we will do our best always to exceed your expectation always

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Yes our second holiday to the fantastic sharm grand plaza this year, i would not have returned if i hadn't of enjoyed our first visit so much, nothing has changed we had fantastic room in the tiran block overlooking the pool & gardens, the room was huge & very comfortable gave the cleaner a nice tip the first day & we got treated like lords nothing was to much trouble, the air conditioning broke down & was repaired within 30 minutes great service...!!!, my girlfriend & i were with 2 very very fussy eaters & they got on very well with the great selection that was there for you, hamadi our waiter was fantastic gave him a good tip again on the first day & we couldn't of asked for better service our drinks where served as soon as we arrived & kept full whenever we ate in the main restaurant brilliant, grounds & gardens spotless & beautiful, we spent most nights after our meal around luna bar great cocktails just ask...!!!! please remember manners go a long way here aswell as a small tip you'll be looked after i'm sure, would i go back again to the Sharm Grand Plaza........YES YES YES

I ALONG WITH ALL OF YOU HAVE CHECKED THE TRIP ADVISOR REVEIWS FOR THE SHARM GRAND PLAZA SOME BAD SOME GOOD BUT NOT ONCE HAS ANYBODY MENTIONED WHAT THEY HAVE PAID FOR A 2 WEEK ALL INCLUSIVE HOLIDAY WE PAID £650 EACH & HAD THE MOST FANTASTIC TIME EVERYTHING BRILLIANT IF YOU WANT 5 STAR USA EUROPEAN ASIA STANDARD HOTEL PLEASE PAY THE PRICE OF SANDALS ETC ROUGHLY £2700 EACH YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR IN LIFE PLEASE BEAR THAT IN MIND......??????

I for one cannot wait to go back for our spring break 2013......ENJOY, WE DID AS WELL AS EVERYONE WE MET

Room Tip: tiran block room near to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scottieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear scottieq ,
We would like to thank you for your time to convey your comments. On behalf of mentioned staff and of all Sharm Grand Plaza staff we would like to thank you for appreciating the offer made to make your stay memorable.We are happy to know that we are on the right track to make our guest feel satisfied,welcomed,and to gain their loyality.
We will be expecting to welcome you again at the resort and we will do our best always to exceed your expectations

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We we so very much looking forward to 5* treatment at this hotel, unfortunately this was not to . be. On our arrival at 11.30pm we wanted to sample the local beer only to be told that the lobby bar was a 24hr bar but this wasn't an all inclusive it was such a contrast because on our arrival in front of the hotel it looked very impressive . Lovely comfortable seating and very clean and welcoming, but couldn't get a drink in a glass unless we paid for our drinks.

Our room was very spacious, clean and a great view of the grounds and beach. The only fault was the safe deposit box instructions we not correct.

The fridge! more like a cooler bag didn't keep any drinks or food cold. Also only 1ltr per day was given and when we went to fill up our empty bottle at the Luna bar was told that we were not allowed to fill up bottles only paper cups were allowed or we would have had to go out of the complex to purchase cold water.

5* service at the restaurants were not very forthcoming. We had to on numerous occassions had to get our own drinks to accommodate our meals , it was only the people who gave regular small tips that seemed to get this service.

My friend and I are both widows and travel a considerable amount and always tip generously at the end of our holiday if we have received the service but we felt. penalised for not tipping each day however not all the staff we like that and it didn't ruine our holiday but would have been more enjoyable if this service was given all the time. This was my first visit to Egypt but my friend visited the Mirabel in June and the service was second to none.

We found it very strange how the hotel seemed to segreate the British from the Russians, Polish and Italian's within the complex.
.
Hope our comments are of some interest to you and look forward to our next trip to Egypt

O

Room Tip: The Tiran rooms were excellent, good location, nice views and close to all restaurants. Air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Jason B
We would like to thank you for taking the time conveying your comments here.We also regeret that that during your stay you did not convey your grieviences to the hotel management or assigned staff for customer service so we could take the proper action and ensure that you leave the hotel satisfied.We have late dinner buffet served at the main restaurant every day from 11 pm till 2 am for late arrivals. Rests assure that all your comments will be our main focus and we will address all issues raised within the review.
Shall you give Sharm Grand Plaza Resort another chance we will be looking forward to welcoming you again and we will do our best to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us.

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Sept/Oct, as we had family arriving 2 days before us we e-mailed the hotel direct and requested rooms close to our family. On our arrival we were met by really friendly and accomadating staff at reception. Syed Mohamid was great he had arranged for us to have room next door but one to our family in Coral block room number 4327. He and all the reception team were great.

The rooms are spacious and our room boy Mohamid kept our room imaculately clean, he had a wonderful nature and great smile.

We ate most of our meals in Palamero and were looked after by Tamer. The Chef Mustafar could not do enough for us, one evening he asked my husband what he fancied for dinner and when he said steak and chips Mustafar went off and cooked this for him. He made me a special bolognase. Nothing was ever to much trouble.There was always plenty of choices of food.

The grounds are amazing and the staff work really hard to keep them looking their best.

During the first week of our stay we found the entertainment team awful, no interest or enthusiasm. The second week Nassam and his team were drafted in and they were a breath of fresh air. They interacted with all holiday makers, the aqua aerobics was very popular.

We were taken care of by Remy at the Nimo poll bar, which we went to each night before dinner.

We also ate in the Portofino Italian restaurant, this is a beautiful venue, cream leather comfy seating and great food.

The pools were great with always plenty of sunbeds. We however went to the beach, as you were unable to swim in the sea off the beach, we would use the nearest pool which was only a stones throw away.

All in all this was a great place to stay. I'm sure I could find some negative points but these are so insignificant in the grand scheme of thing don't feel the need to mention them.

I don't think you would be dissapointed if you stayed here. Of all the nationalities that were at the hotel I still find the Russians rude not just to the staff but to other holiday makers.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Always e-mail hotel direct in advance if you have a special request sea view pool view etc. They wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davis978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear davis978,
First, we would like to thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort for your stay in Sharm El Sheikh. On behalf of the entire Sharm Grand Plaza staff I would like to thank you for this excellent feedback , we are very pleased to read your comments and more than happy to understand that our team members did well to make your vacation a memorable one, we do appreciate your kind recommendation for our hotel

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our resort in the hopefully not so distant future and we will do our best to exceed your expectations.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Me and my wife stayed here Oct 6th - Oct 20th 2012 what a great holiday made extra special by the people we met, Tim, Max, Liam,Dan,Si and Maria and all of the Scottish lot,especially Doreen,Jennifer and Rebekkah where so friendly.Thats enough about that side, the hotel is set in fantastic grounds looked after on a daily basis, with 2 buffet restuarants and the grill house the food wasnt brilliant but we didnt go hungry. On the last night we where invited to the Portofino only wished we tried it earlier fantastic food but not part of the AI deal. What really made this holiday so good also was Matty and Sam from the animation team what a fantastic job they do, had never palyed water rugby before, the russians and poles also joined the fun. Even though my wife and i where ill for a day or so, it didnt seem to spoil our holiday, definetly well worth the money we paid and we will return again in the future. Just one note this hotel is having work done, to improve the facilities we stayed in the dolphin block above all the work still had a great holiday, teh next phase they are starting to redecorate all of the apartment blocks over the next 6 months so all work will be complete by July 2013

Room Tip: Dolphin Block is near the main restuarant, and clsoe to the beach and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megadyne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear megadyne66
First let us thank you for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one we are glad to know that our services and staff were up to your expectations.We regret that you did not enjoy the different theme buffets served in the main restaurants,Grill House restaurant items,nor the daily snack served by the pool bars. Also we regret that you did not use the hotel relax pool where there is no animation activity or loud music.
Rest assure that all your positive comments will be taken into consideration and hotel action plan.

we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations always.

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.7 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tamra Beach
Tamra Beach
#6 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,046 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Property: Sharm Grand Plaza
Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing