We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd time”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Sharm Grand twice now. 1st time in march 2011 and 2nd time July 2012. Absolutely loved the hotel, travelled with my mum twice. Plenty of room road the pool we tended to be around the Luna pool and bar at the front of the hotel most of the time as its quieter than the other pools there was no activities going on at this pool during the day which we liked as we didn't get pestered. On the 2nd visit the food had changed considerable amounts! They had a pasta chef every night who cooked me bolognaise every night like I wanted. Italian guest moaned because 'it wasn't fresh' but was such an improvement on the year before food wise. Was my birthday whilst staying there and my mum wanted to take me to the a la carte Italian restaurant. She booked it up but when we turnt up on the day they didn't have out names down, we got seated however! There was people in the restaurant receiving complimentary meals and they seemed to be getting better service than us, found the staff in this restaurant to be quite rude to be honest, shame because every other worker in this hotel couldn't be any nicer and willing to help all the time. Would defiantly go back for a 3rd time, loved the location- couple of shops over the road and near enough to naama bay via transport sorted out by the hotel. I think this hotel was good value for money and would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Lana R ,
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments and feedback, we are more than Happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us , please accept our sincere apologies For the inconvenience regarding to the complementary meals as we do our best to Satisfied all our guests and to be informed that for time being we did not received any Comment in our a la carte and most of the guests post positive comments regarding to This issue , once again thank you for choosing the Sunny Sharm Grand plaza and we look forward to welcoming you for the third time

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,030
    1,297
    574
    207
    120
See reviews for
1,417
1,573
80
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Sharm Grand Plaza in August of this year for the second time. The hotel is impeccable with the most fantastic staff who are the most friendly and helpful you will ever find. Our room was very clean and in a lovely position, room number 2110. The pools are very clean and the water is warm. The entertainment staff were brilliant. The beach is lovely, and the sea is out of this world with the most amazing fish, snorkelling is a must. The restaurants are lovely and the food is very good, with quite a good selection. Across the road is the Union Jack bar which is well worth a visit. Naama bay which is a taxi ride away is a really bustling area with lots of restaurants, bars and shops. Soho square and Nabq bay are also worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for 2110
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Traybabes ,
Firstly we would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay At Sharm Grand Plaza Resort, We were very happy to know that our facilities were up to The standard you come to expect at our hotel , we will be more than happy to Welcoming you back for the third time in our sunny resort
Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just come back from holiday, and had a great time. The pools were really good, the food was good, to much to choose from for us, and a lot better than i expected after reading all the reviews. The staff well what can I say they all were so nice and very helpful, they will go out of there way to help you. The hotel was very clean, we loved it.
I would like to thank everybody there for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Sharon785
Thank you for staying at Sharm Grand Plaza, we really appreciate your comments And feedback. Your recommendation for our resort will be highly appreciate, Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Sharm Grand Plaza.

Regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have just come back from a two week stay at sharm grand plaza, it was a family trip for my husband and I and our two children. We both have mixed feelings for the hotel of positive and negative points. Started with the positives, the staff are great could not praise them enough, they are very friendly have fun with the children and really will try and do anything you ask of them. The hotel is very clean, our rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard and the pool areas were very clean. We stayed in coral and to be honest that was more of the quiet end but that suited us totally as it was a family holiday. The pools were lovely. I totally agree with others views regarding the lobby bar this is not all inclusive and it was very quiet, had to pay for your drinks in here so to us it felt like such a waste of a beautiful space. The other point which I agree with is ice creams!!!!!! My children are 8 & 3 so they often talked about the ice cream but they only served these between 1-2pm an hour is not long enough and at lunch time seems a crazy idea to me? It wouldn't have been so bad if you saw it in the restaurant as a dessert but it was never there? I have been on other all inclusive which have ice cream going all day - great idea! I understand its an added cost to the hotel but maybe not so many cakes are needed??!!!! That brings me to the food, I am sorry to say the food for us totally let the hotel down, and actually in our last week we ended up eating out 5 nights, because we just could not face the food any more, there was such a lack of variety. The kids corner really was the same everyday, which is a shame, on a few nights they had barbecued food going but if you go in the front way to the restaurant you have no idea it is going on? Twice we went out of the back way to find a BBQ roaring but had no idea it was there? One restaurant was closed down while we were there as it was so quiet and I completely understand the hotels reasons for doing this. It made us go to the bigger restaurant which did have a bigger selection of salads (which I like) so that did work a little better for us. It was extremely bland food with no taste I can honestly say I enjoyed just one meal in the restaurant as they did roast chicken, it was lovely to have a meat with out some sauce slapped all over it. This was our third time in sharm el sheikh so we were aware what the food would be like but this really did come under what we were expecting, very let down with the food. My son who is three has not stopped eating since we have been home, feels like he ate so little out there apart from when we went out. We meet some lovely families there and our kids had a lovely time with them. If you are worried about the trouble in Egypt don't be you are hrs away from it and sharm is very quiet. For us we will not be going back to sharm grand plaza in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Emma V
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our resort and for post your comment And we regret to know that you had some negative points and we will try to explain Some of them for you , regarding to the lobby bar to be informed that the Lobby-bar is Not included in all inclusive is that with the normally minimum 1200 guest in the resort the Lobby would become a railway-station, which would kill the atmosphere totally, Regarding to food to be informed that we put this issue in our consideration as we have Daily theme buffet at the main restaurant and we increased some items however we do Not mind to contact the guest and prepare some special items as per guest request , for The time being our managers around the lobby area and all outlets and we prepare Cocktail party to meet the guest in order to have fast action for anything , I hope from all Above finds you well and hope to give us another chance to show you how is our service Will meet your expectations
Warm regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just got back from two weeks in this hotel, from the minute we arrived to minute we left the staff were brilliant. I would agree with most of the advice from previous blogs, tip your waiter straight away, you will always get the same table as soon as your glass is empty it will be filled back up. Our waiter was Raed, a big thank you to you Raed, you were patient and always smiling, it helps when you are not always feeling up to eating with the family when you may have a touch of pharoahs revenge (easily rectified by a trip to the chemists). A big thank you to Momen Mohammed at the pool as well, Momen, you made our holiday pleasurable, its so much easier not having to get up at six o clock to put towels out, again always with a smile, Ellie sends her love. The entertainment team were good, again during the day the staff were very attentative, a big Hey Babe to Ryan, Lucy, Luca and the rest of the team, once again thanks for making our holiday brill. On an evening we chose to entertain ourselves and interact with the other British on site, however there is an entertainment programme available, Luca little ABBA says thanks. We went to Union Jack bar for a meal, this is just a short walk away from the hotel and is really worth a visit for a change, the meal was excellant just like you would get in Britain. The Portafino restaurant at the hotel was good too again for a nice change. The food at the hotel was good in fact on all inclusive standards it was the best I have had in Egypt and in Turkey and Tunisia, however on a 14 day stay I would suggest you try other things on a couple of nights.

Initially on the first week of the holiday, we thought that the Italians on site were treated better than the English guests having their own animation team and restaurant. However in the second week, all but the British guests had gone and believe me in this hotel it is actually the other way around. The hotel puts on British only nights, cocktail nights and they are worth attending if only to meet the management this is your chance to let them know of any problems you may be experiencing.

There is a hotel (animation) ran kids club which my 11 year old attended, she loved it, thanks again Lucy its purley down to you. Please hotel can you ensure that the glass in this area is tempered glass when replaced, my daughter put her arms through by accident on the second day. But the management were straight on the phone when I complained. I would however say that this a positive point to the hotel and a good club for the kids, plus it gives mum and dad a bit of quiet time.

The negatives of the holiday! Expect delays getting through passport control in Egypt in took us 4 hours. Also please expect to be bothered constantly when away from the complex by store people. However also on complex when sat by the side of the pool by the spa staff and the hair salon staff, we must have been bothered at least 6/7 times a day, often by the same people not taking no for an answer. There are apparently do not disturb signs to put on your loungers, however we asked for one several times at the towel store and they had none. Also we paid for an upgrade to a superior room, and can only say that I could not see any difference between our room and those of our friends in other blocks, that is not however saying that the room was unclean or usatisfactory it was cleaned well every day, our beds changed daily and towels as well, we could not see where our money went thats all. The best block to stay in is the Teran block or Ocra block, they are the closest to the main pool areas and bar and restaurant areas, we were situated in the Sea Horse block and it was a fair walk back on an evening, especially with wobbly legs.

Would I go to this hotel again, yes I would, the staff mentioned and the people we met out there, Dave, Kat, Niki, Rich and all the kids, Jo and the kids, thanks for your company. To all the staff thanks a lot. During August 2013, we saw no sign of trouble for hostility, Egypt is still the beautifull happy hot place it was six or seven years ago, I hope that this stays the same and other families can experience it like we do. Egypt is truely a beautiful county.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comedydave1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Comedydave 1971
We would like to thank you so much for staying at Sharm Grand Plaza. many thanks for Your comments posted here , and we so pleased to learn from you that your stay with us was a memorable one, regarding to the negative comment for delay passport in the Airport this due to the safety reasons , and regarding to the disturb from the sales kindly Accept our apology for this , once we read your comment we increase the number for The do not disturb sign to be available at the towel kiosk to avoid this comment in the Future , for the superior room to be informed that this type of room is pool or garden view However we do not mind to upgrade guest in better view ( to be subject to hotel Availability ) on the other hand we have deluxe room ( it is better category with a direct Sea view to be against charge ) , once again thank you and look forward to welcoming You again in our sunny resort

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Sharm Grand Plaza Resort is a great holiday destination. It is well presented, and great value for money. The staff, from management to cleaners, are professional in all they do, and nothing is too much trouble. They treat everyone with the utmost courtesy, even when clients are abusive and rude. If there is a problem, a polite word with staff will get it sorted, if staff are not aware of an issue, how can they resolve it? Whilst we were there, the staff had to put up with a lot of abuse and rudeness, they are human after all, and entitled to respect as are the rest of us. People couldn't even be bothered to put their dirty plates together after finishing snacks by the poolside bars, what an attitude, especially with little children running around. The kid's club is well organised, and the staff go out of their way to ensure all children are actively involved, well done Lucy and Wojtek and thank you for going without lunch breaks to ensure the children were supervised at all times. Only downside was we couldn't get any sunbeds by any of the pools, people were up at the crack of dawn and reserving them - maybe management need to enforce the "No Reserving" rule? We preferred to spend our time by the Lazy River, safe for the kids, and not crowded at all (possibly due to the fact that there wasn't a pool bar, and too far for some people to walk to get a drink??).We didn't use the spa, so unable to rate it. All in all, a great place, and we will definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: We found Tiran block great, and stayed in room 1312, great views over the grounds, the Lazy River, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilak_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear lilak_uk
We would like to thank you so much for taking the time posting your review in the Trip Advisor, we are very glad to know from you that all of the service of the employees met Your expectations , all Grand Plaza team member will be more than happy to Welcoming you again in our resort
Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Went last year great place staff work so hard place was so clean apart from odd ant no insects about. We did both fall ill for 2 days not sure if it was the food or the sea water as there is a little coral pool to swim in and water gets cloudy but doctor gives you a magic pill and all ok !
Would I go back yes defo and tip waiter first night and you never have to get up to get a drink and have same table every time you use restaurant also tip the cleaner and ask for more bottles of water as they only give you one a day otherwise.

Room Tip: Sea view room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Mark K ,
We are glad that you have truly enjoyed your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza and like to thank you for your comment about your to your stay , regarding to the doctor issue to be informed that we always advice the guest that this type of ill can be happened due to change weather or when guest use air condition if they came from outside , hoping to have again such pleasure in the future,
Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.7 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tamra Beach
Tamra Beach
#5 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,958 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Property: Sharm Grand Plaza
Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing