We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyable Holiday!”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Plaza Hotel from 8th-17th May and had a great holiday. The staff cannot do enough for you and we particularly warmed to Effat in the restaurant who is literally the best waiter I have ever come across. All of the English animation team were friendly and Zara in guest relations dealt with any concerns or issues promptly and professionally. The staff make this hotel one to revisit and due to this it would be lovely to see Zara and the Animation team dining with guests in the Main restaurant however I can only assume they eat elsewhere. The cleanliness of the hotel is impressive & fresh towels are provided on a daily basis. I was expecting more food choices as many reviews raved about the variety, however I think we were just unlucky as the most recent chef has now left and I was assured this would improve. Breakfast Omelettes and Fried Eggs were available along with lovely Croissants, Pancakes and Fresh Bread. Lunch choices were very limited to a daily dish of meat in a sauce with rice however there is an option to have a pasta of your choice made up for you which I took advantage of daily. The Egyptian Traditional food section was a refreshing change and was lovely to experience the traditional dishes.

The all-inclusive drinks finish at 11pm however we were surprised to find a decent Gin and real Schwepps tonic water which we have never had in any other all inclusive. The hotel provide a selection of cocktails along with other spirits & beer throughout the day. Be careful of the balcony doors – Myself and my partner managed to lock ourselves out on the first evening as they lock automatically! Outside the hotel are a row of shops however I recommend taking a short taxi ride to Hard Rock Café in an evening & having a look around the shops around the main area of Nabq bay where there is a lot less hassle. The hotel also provide a free trip to Soho Square on a Tuesday which is well worth a visit and a stunning place to have a hassle-free shop.

Overall this hotel absolutely exceeded our expectations, even given a couple of glitches which are bound to be fixed. The Sharm Grand Plaza really does listen to feedback and acts on it which is what makes it such a great hotel. We will definitely be returning and hope to see even more improvements.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah_heys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear sarah_heys,

Thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort for your latest stay in Sharm El Sheikh. we are happy to know that you liked the staff attitude , hotel food,room choice and action towards your comments ,we will be looking forward to welcoming you at the hotel in the nearest future and will do our best to exceed your expectations always

Thank you
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 4,353 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We are just back from 10 days at Grand Plaza and we can honestly say we loved it!

You will read reviews where English people complain about the food but we found the food was good, there was plenty to choose from every day. There were themed nights but even on the curry night and egyption night I did not struggle to find something nice to eat. Every evening there was a pasta station, a carved meat section with boiled rice and vegetables, then 2 other meat / veggie dishes, 2 potato dishes, salad selection and freshly baked bread. At lunch there was also a good variety in the restaurant but we often preferred to stay around the pool and have fish and chips. We found there was a good variety of drinks at the pool bars and between 1-2pm you could get ice cream cones. We particularly liked the cocktail evening and the BBQ night that the hotel hosted for the English only! Was a lovely touch!! My only criticism food wise would be that at dinner no one shows you to your table or offers to get you a drink and some of the waiters can be a bit cold (unless you tip them!). But if your happy to pop to the bar and get your own drinks then you will be fine.
In terms of the grounds of the hotel its gorgeous- the gardeners do a wonderful job, it really is beautiful! Our room was kept clean, often animals made out of the towels and a bottle of water put in the room daily. Although was hard to keep the water cold as the fridge temperature was poor.
We joined in a lot of the activities in the day with the animation team including water volleyball, water polo, bowls and a quiz. The animation team are just lovely!! Katy and Dylan are an English couple and they really helped to make our stay enjoyable. They are the type of people we would choose as friends at home. Kelly (another English girl) was also friendly and always smiling. Egyption Dylan is so professional and I absolutely loved attending his water aerobics in the morning, its probably the most popular water aerobics ive ever seen! Sam and Beso are also lovely and their fire show is fantastic!!! I was so impressed, infact we would have paid to see it.
The other evening shows are ok, in line with what you usually get on these kind of holidays. We'd like to thank Zara the English customer relations girl, she gave us good tips about cab prices, where to eat out, trips to do etc, which was a great help.
We booked the quad bike dessert trip with Marco, a guy that walks around the pool. Negotiate your price with him. We paid £25 each for a private tour guide (which I would recommend rather then having to follow a massive group). Thoroughly enjoyed the trip!!
I booked 3 massages for £60 and absolutely loved them. Ask for Heba - she is brilliant.
All in all a fantastic trip and we would definitely go back to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Block Tiran was an ideal location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Emma O ,

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort we are glad to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations.

Thank you
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from this hotel yesterday. Was amazing, 5* grounds, amazing views, so much to do in the area, the reception staff are really friendly and helpful, Roos always tidied perfectly, and Zara and the animation team are probably the friendliest and fun people you could ever meet. The only downside was the food, apart from the a'la carte resturants they are nice and cheap,the buffet all inclusive us absolutely awfully, but heard the head chef has been fired, so hopefully this will change as it is an amazing hotel. Would defo consider going again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie_Forward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear jamie_forward,

Thank you for your valuable time to leave a review about your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.we are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services. Your recommendation to the staff mentioned and all our staff, is an asset for each of them, regarding to the staff to be informed that we will put the comment in our consideration in order to increase our guest stratification, we will be looking forward to your next visit and will do our best always to gain your loyalty

Thank you
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We returned on Friday after a very nice break.
We've never been to Egypt before so totally ignorant. The Hotel is large and kept clean, our room spacious, a twin room having two king size beds in. The air con worked which is important for us but a trifle noisy.
All staff were courteous and polite, Zara Foster tirelessly seeking out English guests to ensure all was satisfactory was an excellent ambassador for the hotel complex and we found her to be reliable providing us with the answers to a few questions we posed.
Foreign food is always a large question and in this case the food was adequate. There is always pasta & sauces, potatoes, several rice dishes, several meat dishes, plenty of salads and several vegetables. Although not the best we have had there is always something to choose to save from starvation and breads and cakes were delicious.
Taking into account the amount of money the holiday cost, the airfare swiping the majority paid the services provided we thought was excellent. Transfers were included, entertainment was offered. The team worked enthusiastically to involve guests into playing sports games, swimmimg exercises childrens entertainment and nightly shows in the theatre.
So thankyou Zara and thankyou to Mohomed and Ossama on the reception desk and hope to see you again.
Ann & Paul Little

Room Tip: Tiran block is the most convenient for restuarant, lobby, theatre, pools and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear ann I ,

On behalf of the entire Sharm Grand Plaza management and staff we would like to thank you for your feedback. we are happy to read your comments and more than happy to understand that our team members did well to make your vacation a memorable one, we do appreciate your kind commendation for our hotel and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again in our sunny resort and to make your next visit a memorable one

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Thankyou to zara for making our stay memorable .we had a great time momen looked after us round the pool.the food was good and the service brilliant .to be honest one of the best hotels I have stayed in would definitely recommend it and visit again myself thanks to everyone for a great holiday love mandy x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandycolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Mandycolpet ,

First let us thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is for our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one. we are glad also to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations.we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations always.

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On our arrival at the hotel, we were met with a grand entrance a warm welcome and friendly staff. A nice guy named Figo carried our bags up and did not expect a tip which was unusual. The room was huge with a pleasant balcony and over our 10 day holiday it was cleaned everyday and the housekeeping staff were great.
It is very obvious that the food at the hotel is not catered for the British. The hotel was 75% Russian when we were there and from the few times that we actually visited the restaurant it was obvious to realise why.
*VictoriaLeah* is spot on with her review with particular reference to the awful food. We were there for 10 days and out of the 30 opportunities we had to eat in the all inclusive restaurant, we ate there 5 times. Twice for breakfast once for lunch and twice for the evening meal. Each time i left hungry and disappointed with the variety of food and the quality of it.
After the first few days i spoke to the Guest Relations girl, Zara. In fairness she was great and put me in touch with the manager. He told me to ask the chefs to make me something different, that i may enjoy, very strange thing to say. NO APOLOGY was offered at all or even a complimentary meal in one of the other restaurants.
This meant that the holiday turned from a supposed all inclusive to a drinks only holiday where we had to dine outside of the hotel for all meals and the manager did not seem to mind. His only option being to ask the chefs to make me something.................. which i did and the chef point blank refused and stated that there was enough food within the buffet!!!!
Overall on the food side of things, i was angry, hungry and disappointed.
Before i mention the positives, the other negatives away from the food were that there was no FREE wifi (apparently browsing only) but it never worked, so i couldnt even check flight times or even read the news. To play pool for half an hour it was around £5 which is ridiculous. The hotel is all inclusive but every bar shuts at 11pm. There is no on demand food served throughout the day, there is no poolside service offered and if there was you practically had to bribe the guys to bring you anything. So there are the negative points.

However there were lots of positives, it just sucked that the negatives left us with such a sour taste in our mouths.
The room was great, we didnt have a great seaview and we were put in 1218 which was near enough to the pools and in a good location for the restaurants/bars etc. The room was cleaned everyday and the TV had lots to watch when we retired for the evening.
The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of sunbeds and the stunning coral reef to look at from the jetty.
The animation team are great and always energetic. They were great for tips and insider knowledge to help make the holiday better. The beach party on the Saturday was awesome and a great laugh, with a fire show and other entertainment thrown in.
Mooman was a great guy and worked very hard to please us and always put a smile on our faces around the pool. The italian restaurant that was onsite (Portafina) was fantastic. Awesome food and great service. Although the same cannot be said for the other a la carte places. The less said the better there really. The pools were greats and always refreshing, the all inclusive soft drinks were always cold and self service made it quick and easy.
99% of the staff there are amazing, constantly running around and never too busy to help you out if needed.
Overall a good holiday in sharm but i will not stay in this hotel again. Sorry guys.

In my view, the hotel is rough around the edges and there are bits which need to be done to bring it up to a realistic 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boomber11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from our 10th visit to this hotel and once again had a great holiday a big thank you to all the management team for making our holiday so special.and thanks to Zara Foster for all her help.the rooms are spacious and clean as are the grounds of this hotel would recommend it as I've been to a few hotels in this area and have found this one to be the best in its price range.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Andrea H ,

We would like to thank you for your time to post your feedback regarding your stay in the hotel. your positive comments makes us more than happy that you find our hospitality standards satisfying and our services up to your expectations, we are looking forward to seeing you again for the 11th times and we promise to make our best to exceed your expectations .

Thank you
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.7 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,132 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
3.3 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#20 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,347 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £37 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing