We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Loved everything from start to end. Had requested ground floor family room when we arrived had been given 2nd floor room. The reception staff were really helpful an had us moved next day. No fuss. All complex staff friendly and helpful. Bit annoying first day with the guys offering trips and massages etc but they never bothered us again after that. Will Definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear MsPMan ,

Thank you for sharing your detailed experience, we are pleased to learn of your superb holiday and thank you for highly praising our Sharm Grand Plaza , we are very glad to have had the opportunity to host you and we will be very glad to welcome you again

Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,062
    1,304
    579
    211
    120
See reviews for
1,449
1,583
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel for us.. Our reviews were mixed..
We stayed for 9 nights, from the 27th of September 2013 - 6th of October 2013 (really late - never had a chance to do this!)

Overall we had a good holiday. Most of the staff were lovely. The weather was beautiful.
Our only real problem was the food, unfortunately for us, it was a bit hit and miss.
On some days the Buffet was absolutely amazing, however on others it really wasn't great at all. Although we weren't sick (thank god) the food would be bland or under cooked, or just inedible.
Considering we paid for an all inclusive hotel, we were disappointed that we had to eat out for dinner 6 of the 9 nights, due to the poor quality of food.

We also found that some of the staff pestered us quite a lot. They didn't have much shame asking for tips, which made us feel a little uncomfortable - in particular the cleaning staff.
The staff that sold excursions were also quite annoying, and didn't really understand no meant no - as you're on holiday and all you really want to do is relax.

On a plus note - we did go on the snorkelling trip. We recommend this 110%! It was incredible, the food - again - wasn't great, but experience in itself was amazing. Perfect memory! I recommend an underwater camera, we bought a disposable one, the pictures were brilliant!

We also did the Quad biking, this was also really good. But if you've done it before there's not much point doing it again I'd say, it wasn't a long excursion, they broke it up well to make it seem like it was.

The atmosphere of the hotel in general was calm, just what you need to chill out of an evening.
If you're a big sun worshipper like my boyfriend and I, we'd recommend Sharm el Sheikh.. however if you want value for money paying for an all inclusive, maybe this hotel wouldn't be the greatest pick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereverThesunIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear wherever Thesunls ,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our resort and for time taking to write your review here , regarding to the food issue to be informed that we are working in our plan to increase the food items in order to satisfied all our clients as we have different cultures, for the staff issue kindly accept our apology and to be informed that we passed the comment to our human resources to be considered in our training ,we do hope to welcoming you again to show you how is our service is always in progress

Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a great 2 week holiday at this hotel from the 29/07/14 - 10/08/14. The reception staff on our arrival were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was enormous and very clean and Waleed our cleaner was fantastic at keeping it immaculate. The food and the facilities at the hotel were great and the pool areas were very clean with lots of sun beds available. the gardens and surrounding areas are immaculate and are kept tidy by the staff who are all very friendly. We spent most of our time on the beach where there are plenty of sun beds and a jetty which takes you over the coral into the sea by the reef. Any boat trips or diving experiencies you fancy the Easy Divers Padi diving center is definately the place to book it with, you can find them just by the jetty on the beach, highly recommended, The staff on the beach and at the beach bar are very pleasant and you will see the strange sights of the entertainment staff wandering around in some weird and wonderful costumes, they are so funny and will have you in stitches :-)
Any problems you have or even if you just want a chat or to compliment a member of staff then Zara at guest relations is your lady, she is lovely, she will help you in any way she possibly can to help make you stay as enjoyable as possible. All in all we met some great people and had a great holiday and yes I would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KrysMelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear KrysMelling,

We are very proud for your coming and trust to our property and thank you for choosing our resort , our target to increase the guest satisfaction and satisfied all guests, all our team member will be more than happy to welcoming you again in our lovely resort

Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just back from our 10 day family holiday at the Sharm Plaza. Stayed from 7/8/14 to 17/8/14. It was our 4th time in Sharm and first at this Hotel. I must admit with our children now 11 and 14 yrs old, family holidays in school holiday times are getting more and more expensive. The price for this holiday was within our budget, so we booked the holiday before looking at the reviews on Trip advisor. From then on with the mixed bag of reviews we regretted the booking. We arrived on day one really hoping that we had not made a big mistake. I can honestly say that all our worries disappeared within a matter of hours of arriving. Check in was supper fast and our suitcases were brought to our room minutes after turning the door handle. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left every person who works at this hotel are super friendly and can not do enough for you. The hotel in my view is kept very clean, the garden and grounds are very well kept too. The pools are great and the beach area including the jetty fantastic. I think we got fantastic value for money from this hotel without having to forfeit any standards in food, cleanliness, attractions, things to do and the position of the hotel to outside amenities. Yes I could fault a few things but that's the same to any hotel in any country. As for other nationalities staying at this hotel, every time I said hello, good morning or just gave a smile too, we always got the same back. No special persons to name as everyone was as fantastic as the other. Got to say Hi to Zara though, she is a very important factor in the running of this hotel. Thank You Grand Sharm Plaza for a great 10 days.

Room Tip: We stayed in Coral block. Was a long walk to the beach and favourite pool near beach. But close for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Gary H

We are very grateful for your superb review and great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for highly recommending our property and to have noticed the willingness and care of the Employees to assist., we are very glad to have had the opportunity to host you and we will be very glad to welcome you again soon.

Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just arrived back from a 2 week holiday at the Grand Plaza, (Mum 70 and myself 46). Overall the Hotel was pleasant, I would not put it at a 5 star, probably a 3/4 now. The staff were very helpful and very polite, in particular a young man Mohammed Fathy on the beach, he was fantastic, my mum has a back problem and struggled on the sun-bed, so he helped by bringing a chair for her to sit on.
Food: on the whole it was good, usually a reasonable selection, a little frustrating sometimes when there were no plates available at times. Hamad was excellent, he ensured tables were clear and available for you.
Pools: the river pool was quiet and only used occasionally, there was a good pool for youngsters, the main pools were very busy, and only as a matter of opinion the music was way too loud around the pool, the top "quiet" pool was nice, but spoilt by rowdy holiday makers from a an unnamed country.
Beach: lots of sun-beds available, well kept, well staffed, the jetty is manned, however be careful on the steps as they are a little rough in places.
Towels: the hotel operates a Towel card system for the beach and pools, so you can get clean towels each day.
Room: the room was clean and spacious, a 1.5ltr bottle of water was left daily for two of us.
The hotel is geared up predominantly for families, with a good selection of activities run by the Animation teams.
Evening Entertainment: To be honest once you had completed your evening meal there was very little to do, if this is a "5 star" it is appalling that you can not use the lobby bar for all inclusive, this is the main air conditioned area, and after the heat of the day, my mum and I would rather have sat in a cooler area than at the pool bar, where it was still very warm and as this was the main area available in an evening often quite loud.
WiFi: this is advertised as browsing only!!, but this was very hit and miss, again a hotel selling itself as 5 star in this day and age should be able to offer free fully accessible WiFi.
The hotel has many positives, but has areas where it needs to step up to the "5 Star" rating.

Room Tip: Tiran block is more central
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheppie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sheppie68,
We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one and we are glad to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations
Rest assure that we will take your comments into our consideration and future planning
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations always
Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A few days ago I returned from a weeks holiday at the Grand Plaza Hotel. I miss it already.

Great, big, spacious hotel. The air-conditioned rooms with a fridge and safe are cleaned daily and sometimes awaited us a nice surprise in the form of animals, hearts or flowers from towels.
The service was nice and always very helpful.
The water in swimming pools was always clean, also deckchairs were in a good condition (both on the beach and at the pool).
The beach was very beautiful place to relax too. The pier(molo) was huge and also in a good condition.
The fishes were colourful and they always swim near the coral so you can see them and take beautiful pictures of them.
The food was very good, every day was something new. I think everyone will find something for themselves.

And finally I can say about the great work of animators. They were fantastic! They always can cheer you up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Paula F
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Sharm Grand Plaza resort . We always like to know that our hotel standards and services are lived up to our guest expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel Facilities and very happy to know that you could feel happy in our sunny country. It has been for our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future
Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks between 29/7 and 10/8 and had an absolutely fantastic time. The hotel itself was massive and had good facilities! The pools were great (although we didn't spend much time there because the beach is the place to be!) the staff were great and Waleed the cleaner was fantastic! The internet in reception is shocking, but on holiday that shouldn't be a main concern anyway. The food was great and overall we had a great experience!
The 'Easy Divers' diving centre in the hotel is absolutely fantastic and any diving/snorkelling trips should be done through them!
Marco from sokar safari in the hotel was very persistent about excursions, but overall a good guy who was easy to deal with.
We also met Zara from guest relations on a boat trip to Ras Mohammed. She was a really nice girl, who would ensure you were happy with all aspects of the stay. She was very easy to get on with and is great at her job.

Fantastic stay overall and would definitely go back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Tommelling,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Sharm Grand Plaza resort . We always like to know that our hotel standards and services are lived up to our guest expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel Facilities and very happy to know that you could feel happy in our sunny country.It has been for our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.0 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#95 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#72 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,215 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Property: Sharm Grand Plaza
Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing