We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UK standard 3 star hotel that requires improvements!!!”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“UK standard 3 star hotel that requires improvements!!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights during mid August. The hotel is not a 5 star by UK standards, more like a 3 star hotel. The hotel is top heavy with rude Russians who like to push in the queues at the bar/restaurant, being British that makes our blood boil! .The Russians talk to the staff like something they stepped in who in turn talk to all guests very badly. During meal times, it was hard to find a table which was ready to go to eat on, the staff struggled to keep up with the pace. The food buffet was under par and did not cater for all cultures. We decided to eat out because the hotel food was poor quality. The all inclusive times needs to be changed to a earlier time of 8am as that's when most people are beside the pool. The staff are Nino Bar are very rude who liked to give "freebies" such as bottles of vodka to the Russians not the British. Being British, we got ripped off by the hotel, being charged more for things such as massages etc while the Polish/Russians got offered half the price. The staff will not do anything for you unless you tip them money. The entertainment is the worse I've ever seen in a hotel. The hotel has a no reserve policy on the sun loungers which no-one took notice off. Sorry for pointing out all the negative points of the hotel, that's what most people want to hear the truth but I'll give one positive point. The cleaners especially in coral block do a good job in keeping the rooms clean and immaculate. They also do impressive towel art.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Andy F ,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write your comment on your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. we appreciate your valuable time for leaving your comments and regret to know that you have some problem and hope that you reported to us during your stay to avoid any confusion , however we will pass your comments in order to increase our satisfaction , we do hope to give us another chance to show you how is our service in progress

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,054
    1,302
    578
    210
    120
See reviews for
1,441
1,579
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was my third visit already to this hotel in a year (29.07-12.08). Choice of Grand Plaza was not a random choice. I've never been before anywhere so many times in the same place. Grand Plaza is the best place for a wonderful and active holiday, as well as moments of relaxation and rest. I feel there like in second home , not only because of beautiful environment of greenery, cosily furnished rooms and delicious cuisine , but mostly because of people who work there. Wherever I go I meet a smiling, friendly and helpful person. Especially the biggest thanks go to Adel, so that our holidays have become even better! I always come back with a smile on my face and hope that I will be able to go back there again as soon as it would be possible :)

Room Tip: In my opinion best rooms are in building nr 2 :) close to the beach, swimming pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madzialen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Madzialen ,

First of all we we would like to thank you for comment regarding to your stay in our lovey resort , we are glad to know that our service and staff make your vacation a special one , your recommendation for your friends and family will be highly appreciate , all Sharm Grand Plaza team will be more than happy to see you again for the fourth time in our lovely resort

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a great 2 week Family holiday at the Sharm Grand Plaza in August. The reception staff on our arrival was very pleasant and Zara the British guest’s relation officer came and greeted us, she is a very helpful young lady and a credit to the Hotel. We stayed in the Tiran block room 1302; this was a great size with plenty of storage and two double beds and was kept extremely clean every day, the air con was brilliant and a free large bottle of water everyday. All the staff work very hard and we found them to be very friendly.

The facilities at the hotel were great and the pool areas were very clean with lots of sunbeds available, the gardens and public areas are immaculate and a fantastic house reef with a jetty from the private beach. The food was very good with something for everybody and plenty of it, considering what you pay for the hotel it is extremely good value for money, a lot of people leave reviews basing it on the cost of the holiday when most of it would be taken up by the flight.

I would say at the time we stayed there was an even split of nationalities between British, Italian, Russian and Polish, I think the Hotel went out of their way to accommodate the British with a BBQ evening exclusive to us and the NUTS bar open for the British guests only up to 11PM
Three of the animation team are British but they are all really friendly, plenty to do during the day but they are not too pushy if you just want to relax, the complex is very big and spread out so we found it a bit quite in the evening. We met some lovely people while there and had a few nights out in the local bars across the road.

Overall the Hotel is in a fantastic position and we really enjoyed our stay, we would definitely return without hesitation. Duncan, Joanna, Hannah

Room Tip: Tiran block is the most central and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Duncan F ,

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one and we are glad to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations always.
Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just arrived home from our holiday , 1st thing to say is that this hotel is lovely, pools are nice , grounds are lovely, but a few things need improving, we arrived at 11.15pm and as all inclusive finished at 11pm we couldn't get any food or drink unless we paid , we we're thirsty and hungry but had to wait till breakfast. This was our second visit to Egypt as we found the Egyptians to be very friendly but at this hotel we found them miserable and no manners, also we had breakfast about 8am so was by the pool for about 8.30 but pool bar didn't open til 10am so if you wanted water or any other drink then needed to go back into the restaurant, minor faults I know but if the hotel sorted these small complaints then this would be an amazing hotel to go to .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Alison 3208 ,

We would like to thank you for choosing the hotel for your past stay in Sharm El Sheikh. We are glad to know that hotel services, facilities could meet your expectations , on the other hand we would like to draw your kind attention that our all inclusive finished at 11pm however our lobby bar and room service is working 24 hours to covering the night time if guest need any drinks or food ,we will be glad to welcome you again at the hotel in the nearest future and we will do our best always to exceed your expectation always
Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at Sharm Grand Plaza for 7 nights during August 2014. During our stay, the hotel staff were always very friendly and accommodating. There was a choice of two restaurants and three a la carte restaurants. The food was good, but it seemed to be the same type of food over the 7 nights which we as a family grew bored of.
The rooms were lovely-(we recommend a pool view), with the housekeeping staff decorating our rooms (which the kids loved) with various twists of a towel to produce flowers or rabbits etc! The water ran yellow-DO NOT DRINK! (even if it is not yellow), but was a good temperature for showering. A 1l bottle of water was provided daily which was appreciated.
The hotel has 5 pools and is located on a beautiful beach with sun loungers and umbrellas and free bars around the pool areas. The kids had great fun in the coral rock pools whilst my eldest and I walked along one of the numerous jetty's along the beach, to snorkel the beautiful coral reef in the red sea.
The travel rep was a great amenity in arranging excursions, i.e. star gazing, further snorkelling trips-which were great, but he gave us the wrong information regarding our flights (he said they were an hour later than our paperwork said) which resulted in us going to the airport with less than 2 hrs to check in. this resulted in us nearly getting a flight to another airport 5 hrs away as the flight operator (monarch), had been 'overbooked'. Monarch do not accommodate online check-in so PHONE them to check-in!
Sharm grand plaza was situated close to numerous shops and markets, but be prepared for haggling! We lost much money due to 'overpricing' and 'clever talk'! Cigarettes are very cheap and so are most items if you are clever at haggling! Watch out for 'real' saffron or 'real' gold or 'real' converses!
Overall, a great stay where we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and location. Would return again, despite being ill for most of the holiday!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Nina pool are quiet, not far from the restaurant, but a trek to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellybyrne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Kellybyrne 74 ,

Thank you for choosing the hotel for your last stay in Sharm El Sheikh and for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort , It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one. we are glad also to know that our services and staff were up to your expectations It is our aim at Sharm Grand Plaza is to have the highest standard of service in order to exceed our guest expectations
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again and again
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Second time around this year for my family at this hotel and all I can honestly say is that we found it even better this time. We first came here in April for the Easter holidays and we had an amazing time, so much so we returned 10th August for ten nights.
We arrived quite late at night but we were warmly welcomed by the front of house team, we checked in with no problems, given a welcome drink and shown to our beautiful, large, spacious room 1130, which had the best views of the well maintained gardens, pool areas and sea view.
As it was a Saturday night when we arrived we went straight to the beach party for a couple of hours.
The next day we went to the main pool area when we where given our towels, again made very welcome by Maher and all the pool maintenance staff.
Animation team: Sam, Tony, Dylan, Kelly, Claire, Olga and the rest of the team all worked so hard throughout the day and night entertaining us all.
Food was lovely, (even better than in April) fresh breads, pastries, salads, fruits and grilled steaks, Kofta, fish and Chicken. Beautiful soups and fresh pasta at every meal time made just how you like it. Great restaurant staff especially Mohammed and Mustafa.
We ate at the Italian restaurant and the food was beautiful but the air conditioning was not working for a short time which made it far too hot in there.
Marco arranged a fabulous quad biking experience for ourselves and friends we had made there which turned out to be the most amazing day. Thank you Marco!
The Spa's and beauty centres were great. My daughter was treated to an amazing manicure and pedicure which she loved.
I really could go on but the truth is we had an amazing time, were made to feel very welcome and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Special thanks to Mr Akhmed and his amazing team.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gail P ,

We would like to thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. We appreciate your valuable time for leaving your comments ,we will be glad to welcome you for the third time at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort and we will do our best always to exceed your expectations.

Thanks
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just stayed at the Grand Plaza for a second family holidays in this year.Beautiful hotel,located just by the Red Sea,with well manicured grounds and fantastic staff
positives :
1)Smoth and well organised check in and check out.Very professional and helpful FOH team.Helping to solve any issues immediately
2)Rooms are dated but kept nice and very clean
3)F&B
Good choices of fresh food,salads daily with amazing choices of pastries.
negatives:
1)Entertainment needs to be improved,activities are not too appealing and in general is very quiet after 10:00pm.
2)Beach party very successful idea but should be more often
3)Spa has got fantastic staff but is lacking of atmosphere(proper relaxing music should be played)and cleaning standards must be improved.Towels smelled of mildew
4)Kettles should be as standard equipment in all bedrooms

Thank you to everyone in Grand Plaza to make our holiday happy and memorable again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorota M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Dorota M ,

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is for our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one and we are glad to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations always

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.0 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#92 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,599 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
1.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#63 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Property: Sharm Grand Plaza
Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing