We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep an open mind but take on board what other reviewers have said”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rehana Sharm Resort
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Just arrived back on Sunday from a week with my girlfriend at Rehana Sharm resort. Having read a few of the reviews on here before departing we weren't sure entirely what to expect as it ranged one extreme to the other; some seem to love it and others marking it down as a holiday from hell.

First impressions were decent enough. We arrived shortly before midnight and managed to get in for the small late dinner they do between midnight and 2am for late arrivals and people who have been out on excursions, etc. It was basic but decent enough for a quick scoff after a long day of traveling. After this we checked the room out. Again it was spacious and looked very clean, two bottles of complimentary bottled mineral water sitting in the fridge was a nice touch and the air con worked spot on without being too noisy which is a bonus.

General experience after that was decent enough. Choice of food wasn't great at all for me, but i am quite fussy, ended up being either soup or a roll and chips (play it safe !) combination for me most evenings and lunch times. The selection was reasonably big however some of it looked too dodgy to risk; beef fillets still pink in the middle and that sort of thing. Not really a morning person so wouldn't be fair to comment on the breakfast as i only made it once but girlfriend got a good cup of coffee and a pastry each morning which she was more than happy with so no complaints there. One thing i would give a thumbs up to is the wee snack bar at the middle pool bar. He always had hot dogs, pizzas, chips, etc in the afternoon which hit the spot and kept me ticking over till dinner. My girlfriend ended up with bad diarrhoea on our 2nd full day which we could only attribute to the previous evenings dinner as she had beef stew and a side salad (they said it's washed in mineral water but my cynical nature has me doubting that severely) whilst i stuck with the trusted staple diet of soup and buttered rolls. Took a wander to the pharmacy across the road for a look to get some imodium. Ended up getting the obligatory sales pitch from the pharmacist decked out in fake German football strip trying to sell me something above and beyond what i went in for but ended up getting two boxes of tablets. One antiseptic to kill bacteria in stomach, etc and another to sort out the diarrhoea. He was looking for 150 EGP which is just short of £20 for EACH of them, obviously no chance of this. Managed to get him down to accept £10 in british pounds for the pair of them combined and in all fairness to the lad she was back to normal after two dosages of each tablet so kudos to Mr Chemist for that.

After this we ended up having a Burger King delivered the next night - same as back home, freshly prepared, well priced and delivered to the hotel entrance within 10 minutes - and then out to the Hard Rock Cafe in Naama bay the night after that for a meal as she was feeling better by this point. Following day it was my turn to get the drizzles and i was on the toilet constantly and another days in the sun KO'd as i wanted/needed to remain in close proximity to the toilet; back on the medicine i'd picked up for the GF and similarly i was back on my feet after a couple of dosages. Next again day we used our allocated meal in the a la carte restaurant and opted for the Indian. Place apparently only opened on the 21st June so it was a work in progress but again good services, food was good not brilliant but did the job and no trips to the toilet the following day !!

Moving on from the food and illness situation...........

The hotel itself was in very good condition. Very well maintained internally in terms of cleanliness and always hordes of staff out working maintaining the gardens and grounds which were stunning. The pool(s) also got the thumbs up from me although be advised if you have kids or are small yourself they have sharp drops in depth as opposed to gradual inclines / declines.......not a problem except for the fact they are not marked to tell you this!! So be warned otherwise you might get a fright when it gets deep all of a sudden.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Some of them are worked into the ground, for example one of the lads i was speaking to was rostered on a fifteen hour day 9am-12pm for three weeks solid on what i am assuming in very low wages in blistering heat. They do appreciate tips although some are more gracious than others but thats life. Tipping the towel boy is a smart move to guarantee you loungers for the duration of your stay, likewise the waiter in the main dining hall who will have a table and drinks sorted each night. The young housekeeping lad we had was extremely helpful and very gracious when we tipped at the beginning and end of holiday. I tipped a couple of the staff when i was leaving who had been particularly good to us over the week and they seemed keen to get football tops, so if you have any old ones and room in your case you could take these for tipping and save some cash. I gave an old pair of Scotland shorts to a guy who was over the moon, shame i never got to see them on him as it would have been quite a sight as i'm an XL and he was built like a garden rake but he was delighted all the same :-)

The biggest disappointment for me overall was time between dinner and bed. I don't think it's an exaggeration to say that there was literally NOTHING to do what so ever in the evenings by way of entertainment. There were two small bars open for drinks but they only probably had about 20 tables betwen them and were all snapped up by the time we'd finished dinner each night. We ended up having a couple of drinks on sun loungers by the pool and then headed off to bed. Fortunately the world cup was on whilst we were there and the Al Jazeera sport channel is on the TV's in the rooms as well as a small TV lounge with a 32" plasma which was busy for the bigger games and had a bit of atmosphere. If it wasn't for this then we'd probably have been in bed by 9.30pm every night ! Apparently there was someone singing in one of the bars each night but you had to pay 20 EGP each to get in (!?!?!?!) despite being all inclusive at which point we politely told the staff no thanks. Likewise there are pool tables; we got the balls and racked up for a game alongside a couple next to us. Within a minute or two there was a hotel staff member up waving his arms about pointing to a clip board telling us we had to pay for the pool tables! I thought he was on the wind up before he started stacking the balls back in the tray and telling us it was 20 EGP for half an hour on the tables. Again we politely told him where to go, although the couple on the other table were slightly more colourful with their language and went down to reception to have a rant about having to pay whilst all inclusive. Totally agreed with them but too disillusioned by this point to really care so just finished our drinks and went to bed.

Final day before we came home we went quad biking. Something to do that would get us out of the bloody hotel at night. Was the highlight of the holiday for me and my GF too (i think ?!). Had a great time and very enjoyable experience. It was organised through one of the people in the hotel who was looking for around £65 in english for a double quad bike but i managed to haggle him down to £25 each for our own individual quad's. Were out for about just under two hours in the desert and through the mountains. Was quite tame in terms of what they let you do - everyone was kept in a line and had to follow the leading quad - but a good experience and definitely worthwhile and something i'd recommend to anyone going.

Have rattled on a bit here in what i've said but hopefully it's of use to people who are perhaps planning a trip. I see a lot of the positive reviews from people saying to ignore the negative ones; i do not agree with that. Fair enough peoples opinions and thoughts are subjective on the holiday itself, but the fact that people - and we are not just talking one or two here - are reporting illness and diarrhoea whilst away is a hard fact and obviously relates to a wider problem somewhere what ever it may be.

In addition the constant pestering by the hotels "affiliated" agencies for snorkling trips, boat trips, scuba diving and health + beauty treatments EVERY DAY becomes tiresome and annoying very quickly.

In conclusion the place it let down by the food and entertainment aspects. Going all inclusive makes you think you'd have a relatively cheap and light holiday in terms of spending money as your main outgoing, food and drink, is already paid for up front. When you are having to eat out every other night due to the food not being up to scratch and/or causing illness then there is a problem and it quickly becomes expensive, likewise keeping yourself entertained at night outwith the hotel due to it's lack of entertainment programme.

Overall a decent holiday. Despite what i mentioned above i'd still say the good outweighed the bad. Not a five star resort though despite it being marketed as such but none the less a pleasant enough week away with good, clean facilities and a nice bunch of staff and fellow holiday makers.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarky666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,009)
There are newer reviews for Rehana Sharm Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week's stay in the Rehana Sharm Resort, Naqb Bay.

When searching for deals, we thought we had got a great deal. In the photos and pictures, it stated 5* Luxury All Inclusive and when we had got it so cheap, we booked it. However, the reviews and write ups we were looking at, were a mix of this hotel and its sister hotel Rehana Royal Beach (which is directly across the road).

Needless to say upon arrival, I was initially disappointed and it was clear that this hotel was not 5*. I can't speak for the sister hotel as we were instructed by our rep that we were not, under no circumstances, allowed to enter or use the facilities of the Rehana Royal Beach Hotel. So first of all there was no sea view in this hotel as the sea was across the road, behind shops and behind other hotels. We could access the private beach for our hotel via an underground tunnel which was a great idea, however, if you have walking difficulties I wouldn't recommend walking to the beach.

Rooms - Clean, spacious, good air conditioning system, balcony nice and pretty much had everything you needed (including the world cup games on room TV).

Pool Area (nearest reception) - Comfortable sunloungers, nice big beach towels, clean, good pool bar. However there did seem to be a lack of sunloungers for all. The only way to make sure you get one everyday is to tip the towel man and workers a pound each. We had no problems getting 2 loungers and an umbrella every day.

Buffet restaurant - Breakfast - cereals, breads, eggs, salads and lots of pastries etc, tea and coffee. If you are wanting a full english type brekkie then you will be disappointed sadly.
Lunch/Dinner - There wasn't much difference between either always some sort of beef, chicken and fish dish, always some sort of potatoes and veg, always pasta, salads, breads and chips. To be honest, it wasn't a great choice and I'd imagine after two weeks i would be really fed up. In that case the local KFC, MCDS and BK deliver to your hotel.
Indian (a la carte) - Beautiful dinner, no complaints.

Entertainment - During the day, there was nothing going on at our pool, however, at the pool in the middle of the complex there were slides, water polo etc. But having not experienced it, cannot comment.

Evening - the biggest let down of the holiday. There was nothing to do. No atmosphere at all. All pool bars were open but you were lucky if you got a seat. Pool tables cost £20 EGP to play so add that up over your holiday and soon all inclusive isn't so all inclusive anymore. There was a 'disco' in the magic pub, but it cost you £20EGP(per person) to get in. Shisha corner, but that cost to use too. We ended up in our room watching tv - thank god for the world cup or my boyfriend would have been fed up big time.

We both were unwell during our stay. We had heard that people got stomach cramps etc and to avoid using tap water which we did. However, we don't know how the kitchen are washing food and cooking food in so it was inevitable that we were going to have sore tummies. We had to spend a day of our holiday in our room so that we were near a toilet (if you get what I mean). Toilet facilities were not great at the pool - two flights of stairs to climb. None at the actual pool. Had to spend £20 (british pounds) on medicine.

Overall, we had a nice relaxed holiday but were disappointed with the food and the lack of things to do at night. We were also disappointed that the hotel was advertised as 5*, as it would have been 3* maximum. We went in to Nama Bay to the Hard Rock Cafe for a meal which was fantastic and quad biking in the desert which was a highlight of our time in Egypt.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubleyou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Nicole 29 . London , this is my best holiday ever. Pools and rooms are clean always . Lovly safari and quad. And aqua games . Animation team not bad . Resturants need more options in food . The staff is helpfull but i want to talk about one man. (Hossam) that is his name. Best barman in hotel. Maybe he is not talking to much but if you looked to his eyes you will fell how much is this man is cute and smart and very kind. Very good man and his movment in bar like tom cruise .(HOSSAM) I LIKE THIS MAN AND IWILL COME BACK TO HIM.XXXXXX

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

where to start, firstly i am 23 and would never normally do a review but this place annoyed me so much i had to. The staff were rude and not very friendly, when walking through the complex they wouldnt move opting to push you off the path, one occasion when asking for 4 coked for me and my 3 friends i was answered with "why 4?" and was only given 2 which we had to drink then ask for another 2!! this happened on several occasions. Our rep (who was also egyptian) stated that when you check out you have to stay in the lobby till your picked up which in our case was 6 hours away! he stated "you do not go to the pool or leave the hotel you stay here!" we obviousley told him where he could get off.
The food nearly had me to tears! I was starving and if it wasn't for the mcdonalds down the road we wouldnt have eat much! The food was weird concoctions..... im not normally fussy and will eat anything but this was something else! The weather---- brilliant lovely and hot couldnt ask for it any hotter!! The staff charged us for a bottle of water (we were all inclusive) fair enough we paid oh but no change!! and every time we asked for it all we got was "no change"......... this is true for everyone in the hotel no matter where you go no one has change its all a big CON!
Hotel taxi's charge you what they like one night we got a taxi for £40 (egyptian) and then the next night to the same place it went up which we argued and finally got it for the same price (they obviousley didnt recognise us. and they were so rude asking "why u going there?" and "listen to me" and my favourite "i dont care"........
Nothing going on in the hotel at night its so boring that we spent most our time watching telly, there is 2 singers on that sing the same songs every night and the entertainment staff are pathetic trying to get ppl to play ping pong and yoga......
the beer was warm and out of bottles and you would be left stood a the bar waiting to get served while they have a conversation.
There are so many problems with this hotel it is disgusting the way we were treated please do not go to this resort!! if you do choose to ignore this you will see for yourself what its like, oh and if you do go best take lots of diorreah tablets etc as you will spend most of the holiday on the toilet with cramps.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamdurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

PLEASE TAKE NOTE! Im going to try an keep this as short as possible. This was mine an my girlfriends first visit to Egypt and this hotel really was NOT 5* as it looks on its web site. The staff were not at all rude to us but we did witness them being rude to others. The resort itself is very nice, the gardens are kept spotless and the pools are nice too, we found the staff walking around would always say hi which was good. However after the first 2 days me and my girlfriend fell ill with very bad stomach pains and cramps, we were constantly back and fourth to the toilet, sometimes we would have to run from sunbathing as they came on so quick. The food was the same and at the time i enjoyed some of it but after speaking to other guests who ALL had the same problem we found ourselves not really eating at all.
On the plus we did the quad biking, trip to Tiran Island and went to the snake and crocodile show which were all amazing and very much recommended. We booked these through Sharm Excursions and they were so well organized and very good value. However they were slightly spoiled by the fact we were slightly on edge incase our stomach pains started and we couldnt get to a toilet, but luckily the immodiums seemed to work for a few hours,
It is a shame because the hotel itself is nice, its very near the beach and has a lovely layout and the weather is really hot, but its just a shame they clearly have problems which is affecting so many peoples holiday!!!! So until they sort this out STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazansaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Hotel itself nice, room was really nice very spacious. Staff varied, some very helpful + friendly others rude and very expectant of tips. Food was awful, no choice & poor quality. Seems to be lots of reports of food poisoning from other reviews- I concur...awaiting doctors as we speak. However, the rest of the holiday was really good and at the end of the day, you get what you pay for. Ours was cheap and we got a cheap holiday. Not 5* but still had a really nice time.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murphyslaw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

1st of all dont listen to the reviews i was really worried bout going but went with an open mind...and had a fab holiday! 50 degree sunshine everyday Loved it

Hotel isnt 5* id say 4 the hotel itself is havin building work to make a bigger reception entrance which will make it more appealing..didnt bother us in the slightest only noticed it as it was by our room.
Hotel is cleaned its imaculite really kept to high standards see cleaners cleaning grounds constantly!
Rooms where really big..cleaned everyday but lovely ppl who made crocodile, swans, hearts flowers and teddys out of the towels every other day!
Pool were amazing slides were fab never had a problem gettin a sun lounger but if u like a space tip the pool cleaner and he makes sure u have the same throughout the holiday! also the bar man we tipped him a few quid and every hour he wud bring ice cold drinks round the pool to us which was brilliant! :D
russians...alot but didnt bother us met loads english here.
Staff where lovely can be bit stubborn sometimes but they never seem to go home! just have a laugh with them
beach looked lovely but didnt spend much time there (too hot!)
Food wasnt very good sum1 got food poising from bbq but can happen anywhere! found somefin each night but did go to tgi fridays/mc donalds/kfc (the delievery ask at reception) and chinese called peking as same food was gettin bit too much
desserts where lovely :) shisha corner was so cheap! but the lobby bar drinks were always warm :(
entertainment we only went to once..10pm each night seemed good
Me and my boyfriend loved this holiday went to dreams beach last yr and naqb bay seems to b better area! for nightlife etc..
gonna go bk nxt yr for £730 bargin
xxx

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceyjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nabq Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
0.7 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,216 reviews
3.2 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sharm El Sheikh Resort
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.5 mi away
Sea Beach Aqua Park Resort Managed by Blue Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rehana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rehana Sharm Resort

Address: 7 km North of Sharm Airport | South Sinai -Sharm - Nabq bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 1111, Egypt (Formerly Hotel Prima Rehana)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Rehana Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 663
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 4* hotel was designed for those who love the sea, sun and fun together. Cozy and intimate, with a complex of fancy shaped pools, it is perfect for a family holiday. The hotel offers an interesting entertainment program from morning till the very evening with lots of attractions. Care about our youngest visitors is our priority! Water slides and playgrounds - a paradise for children. And for sure a lot of new international friends will be a nice special bonus. Great place to fly-by-night with excellent disco, various evening shows and late dinner and all the refreshments throughout the day. Rooms : The hotel has a total number of 666 rooms of different types: * Standard - 25-29 m² - comfortable room * Superior - 28-30 m² - comfortable room of a larger size * Family -30-35 m² - one large room * Executive - 30-35 m² - luxury room * Suite - 45-60 m² - luxury 2-rooms apartment Each room is equipped with individually controlled air conditioning, private bathroom with shower or bath, television, telephone, safe box. Balcony or terrace with a beautiful view of the garden, which is well taken care of, palm trees and swimming pools can be found in every room. KIDS CLUB: The comfort of our smallest guests is our priority. Kids Club was established for those who are searching for fun and joy all over the days. A variety of activities, hand works, games and fun with experienced, professional and lovely international team of kid's animators will make your child wish to stay there forever. Two outside playgrounds will help parents to enjoy all the leisure activities together with their children not only in the Kids Club but on the beach as well. And for sure everybody are welcome for the most important part of the program - Mini - Disco! ENTERTAINMENT: Every day various classes with an international animation team (yoga, dance lessons, water volleyball, etc..) are provided all over the territory of hotel. Our evening shows held in the Old Egyptian Amphitheatre will take you to the fairytale of Arabic night. Fakir show, belly dancers, Egyptian art, derwish show will create the spirit of ancient magic . And our live singer, violin performances and dance competition will help you to discover your hidden talents. Sombrero Disco will take you into fly-by-night tour under the latest hits together with our DJ SPORT: The hotel's aqua-park consists of 12 different shaped swimming pools with area of 6,000 m² in total, large and small for children, with water slides for everybody. Some of them , including the Main one, are heated in winter. Our international animation team offers different opportunities to train not only sense of humor but body as well. Everyday you can enjoy and have a lot of fun with: * GYM and fitness * Tennis courts * Table tennis competition * Volleyball tournament * Darts * Water Polo * Aqua-aerobics * Belly-dance and Latino -dance lessons Rehana 24 Hours All Inclusive: * 24 hours food & beverages service in all of our 25 outlets (restaurants , bars ,snack corners) * Three main buffet meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner ) & Kids' corner * Four a la carte restaurants (Italian, Mexican, Indian and Lebanese) * Early breakfast, late breakfast, snacks, tea time and late dinner * Snack Beach bar (beverages & snacks ) * Kids' snack corner * Food Court with full amenities * Entertainment (daily animation program, night shows ) * Sports (mini football, basketball tennis courts, table tennis, GYM, water polo, aerobics , dances lessons, darts,..) * Free entrance to Sombrero Disco. * Tea & coffee service at the rooms (upon request ) Rehana Ultra All Inclusive: * Enjoy the 24 hours formula PLUS: * 24 hours All inclusive food & beverages (including drinks at the disco) * Three additional visits to a la carte restaurants (Asian and Oriental in Rehana Royal Beach and Seafood restaurant on the beach) * Space Disco in Rehana Royal Beach free of charge entrance & drinks * Mini bar upon arrival & 2 bottles of water daily * Fresh fruit platter upon arrival * Free Shuttle bus to and from Naama Bay/ Old Market * Free SPA package (Jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna, Turkish bath) once per stay * Laundry service (once per stay) * Sports (mini football, table tennis , tennis court during the day & in night time free of charge) * Turn down service * Free Internet daily * Rehana souvenirs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rehana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rehana Sharm Hotel Nabq Bay
Rehana Sharm El Sheikh
Rehana Sharm Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing