We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis within an Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa
Ranked #1 of 11 Siwa B&B and Inns
Austria
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“An Oasis within an Oasis”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Siwa as such is not anymore an Oasis, but rather a busy and dirty palce in the middle of the dessert. But within the walls of Ghaliet you get back the feeling of being in an Oasis, just as it has been 25 years ago. Beautiful rooms, great design, striking simplicity, good functionality and extremely friendly service. Not the cheapest place, but worth every cent you pay. We had room 10 and that was just superb! The glass window in the roof made it possible to watch the stars from bed. Always would go there again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Abusultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly! We stayed four nights in wonderful surroundings within 2 kilometres of the centre of Siwa (bicycles are easy and inexpensive to hire) and had first class service with deliciously cooked local produce

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a truly magical place! The hotel is beautiful and the staff are excellent! We were sad to leave. If you have the opportunity, book a desert dinner excursion- it's one of the highlights for our entire trip around Egypt.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meliss90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Once I arrived , I have got this peaceful feeling. every thing there is reflecting peace .The ecolodge ,the Garden , the mud and salt construction and the people.
People are very helpful ,,The food is a special experience. In the reception ,they are very helpful and arrange all the excursions I asked for.
I am sure I will return back to Ghaliet very soon.

Room Tip: upper room with ceiling glass window is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hans h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The rooms are great, the place is stunning. The service is painfully slow. Service is bad almost everywhere in Egypt, but even worst here. Two hours for breakfast to get a cup of tea and fried eggs... At lunch time, i've asked for a specific plate, explaining that we were leaving with a guide in ninety minutes. One hour later, somebody comes to tell me that my plate is not availabe and that it would take an extra hour to make another one. I already told them that a guide was coming to get us really soon and that I needed to eat ... So I had to take exactly the same thing that I had for breakfast so I could get something quick.

You could easily spend a whole day here in the dining room and get only one meal... If you ever get it..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdhajajhdddbajja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghaliet, General Manager at Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Valuable guest,
I apologize for what happened,But please would you mind accepting our excuse as it is the first day of the occasion of EL ADHA Feast ,and as all our employees are indigenous ,we used to respect their traditions to let them sacrifice at that day with their families and come to the work.
This is why they were late and slowly in their response. We promise you if you give us the chance to receive you for second time in normal days or in the other occasions ,you will not suffer from the slowness of service.
please accept my apology again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The Ghaliet Ecolodge was a truly stunning place to stay. Soon after arriving at the ecolodge we were greeted by the owner, Magdy, who took us on a tour of the place and showed us how each room is unique. The rooms are beautifully built incorporating elements from nature brilliantly into the design while also bringing the outside in, with skylights cut into the roof to allow visitors to lie in bed and watch the stars. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. The most amazing part of the ecolodge has to be the pool though - it was stunning!! What a beautiful place to stay!

Room Tip: Request a room with the skylight so you can see the stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireZerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We read the reviews for a lot of places in Siwa before going (and popped into check out a few while we were there) and suffice it to say, I'm so glad we chose the Ghaliet. First off, Magdy who I dealt with before our arrival over email was very helpful and straightforward. He made sure someone was there to pick us up at the bus station when we arrived and was always prompt whenever I had an email question. As for the hotel itself...the grounds are beautiful, clean and very well maintained. They're full of fresh herbs and flowers and a pool that really is a god send on a hot day. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Ali who goes out of his way to make sure you have an enjoyable trip. And the food..the food was honestly some of the best we had in Egypt. Both my partner and I are vegetarian so food-wise Egypt wasn't easy but the cook at Ghaliet made some amazing dishes for us. Also, the hotel arranged our day long excursion to the desert and it was, by the far, the best day we had on the trip Ahmed was our driver and I highly recommend him...relaxed, calm, informative but never pushy...it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IBeenBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siwa hotels
0.6 mi away
Siwa Shali Resort
Siwa Shali Resort
#3 of 11 in Siwa
49 reviews
4.9 mi away
Adrere Amellal: Desert Ecolodge
2.3 mi away
Shali Lodge
Shali Lodge
#5 of 11 in Siwa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Taziry Ecolodge Siwa
0.2 mi away
Albabenshal
Albabenshal
#3 of 11 in Siwa
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nour El Waha Hotel
Nour El Waha Hotel
#6 of 11 in Siwa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa

Property: Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa
Address: Siwa Oasis | Matrouh, Siwa 11742, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > Siwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Siwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghaliet is a unique SPA Ecolodge just located nearby Amoun Temple and Alexander the greatest oracle in Siwa Oasis. It has been built by nature and designed among the palm trees. you can feel history and the great ancient stories of Alexander the great while you are in Ghaliet. Enjoy the nature, organic design, organic food and different health programs. The ecolodge includes 12 cozy rooms; each room has its special personality and feeling. You can enjoy staying in the upper rooms with the transparent glass ceiling opening and you feel like you are sleeping in the heaven. Also you can experience the unique outdoor privacy in the lower rooms with its private back yard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing