We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe not a spa, but definitely an oasis!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa
Ranked #2 of 11 Siwa B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maybe not a spa, but definitely an oasis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our party of four guest and three dogs arrived in Siwa tired and dusty after two nights of desert camping, and we were greeted with tall glasses of flavourful lemonade. We occupied three rooms. The walled lodge is peaceful, and situated along a town road and surrounded on three sides by a date plantation. The rooms are built around a central courtyard garden which is beautifully landscaped. The rooms are of a high standard for rural Egypt, and I was relieved to see that the windows were well-screened and the bathroom was in good order. We enjoyed the simple yet tasty foods served at supper and at breakfast. Coffee on offer was Nescafe instant, not brewed. The swimming pool is an ambitious attempt and it adds to the ambiance in the garden but it was not as well maintained as it could have been and didn't appear to have treated water so it is probably inadvisable to use it. It may have been spring water-fed as several tanks in the town were fed by artesian springs. In the evenings there was a crackling fire in the garden fire pit. The locals who staff the hotel are friendly, courteous, accommodating, and were eager to address our minor concerns. We did have the water go off one evening, but someone quickly re-primed the pump and water was flowing again. The room lighting was dim and mounted high on the walls, so if you want to read then you will have to take your book outside into the sunlight. If staying at this hotel do try to wander into the centre of Siwa town and visit the small shops and enjoy the smells of the street foods cooking. The vendors were friendly and happy to see tourists as Egypt's political unrest and resultant drop in tourism has had a deep impact on the local economy. This is a religious and conservative part of Egypt, so its advisable to wear loose-fitting clothes with long sleeves and long pants. It is always better to err on the side of modesty here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleLeafExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The place is very nice, well maintained, clean. The rooms are large, well built, comfortable. We had a ground floor room with a private garden/orchard in the back. Not all windows are properly covered with curtains, so there might be some privacy concerns. The restaurant is nice and in winter they have a working fireplace. We had huge problems with the food: meat is served almost raw. The direction admitted they have some problems and promised to solve them, so hopefully this issue won't affect the hotel in the future. Vegetables are nice though. It is located half-way between Agharmi and Gabal al-Mawta, so the position is perfect. It's in the middle of palm tree gardens, so very quite and calm. Staff is polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filopatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

From the moment we arrived and the whole building was lit by candlelight in the evening, this ecolodge exceeded all our expectations. The setting is absolutely beautiful - plants, trees and flowers surrounding a pool, with spacious and cool rooms around the edge. We were made to feel very welcome, and the guys at the ecolodge were always very polite and helpful.

We had a wonderfully relaxing time in Siwa, and the ecolodge organised a trip out into the desert where we ate delicious food, swam in an oasis, watched the sun set over the sand dunes and slept out under the stars. It was quiet and peaceful as it was just outside the main town, but it was easy to get lifts into town .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank half-pinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

we have an excellent vacation in such wonderful place with a very warm hospitality . The lodge is an excellent surprise. Not only the place is amazing, beautiful and quiet , but also the staff is very sweet

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazemdaghash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

When we first arrived to the Ecolodge, we just realized we were the only ones there at the place, which is fine. However, the pool as filthy!! There was no "Spa", and there was literally nothing to do on the resort, we had to leave to go to a local Cafe in order to use the Wifi. When they did our laundry our clothes came back with tears in them and discolored. There were even nights where they didnt make any dinner for us and we went to sleep without eating. I was there for 6 nights the last 3 nights the electricity would shut off every 5 minutes and we were told that they have a back up generator which did not work either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Skylight, if you do not like the food tell them what you would rather eat inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary7387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghaliet, Manager at Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We are very sorry and disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay at
the Ghaliet. We hope that some of the following comments help clarify a few issues:
Swimming pool:
The waters in the swimming pool are fed from the pure natural ancient springs in
Siwa, and they are alive and wellness-giving. We understand that by Western
standards the pool may have looked unclean when you were here, and while it may not
be as aesthetically pleasing as a chain-hotel pool, algae or other signs of life in
the waters are not an indication of cleanliness. In the West, swimming pools are
pumped full of chemicals to keep them "clean" and clear. However, water that has
been so heavily 'treated' is actually quite unhealthy. At the Ghaliet, we use the
minimum amount of chemicals required by the health department, so the algae grows
very quickly and can appear this way overnight. Of course, this also means that we
have to empty it and clean it by hand almost every 4th day or so, which is a lot of
work!
Internet/WiFi:
We are in the process of setting up the hotel's new WiFi system, and unfortunately
at the time we were only able to offer internet via USB modem stick, which worked
very well for the majority of guests (the few that actually come to Siwa at the hot
summer time when you arrived!). We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that
the incompatibility with your system may have caused you.
Restaurant:
We really cannot understand your claim of going to sleep without eating?! After you
voiced displeasure about our menu on the first night, as we understood it, you were
going to dine elsewhere for the remaining nights. We always prepare meals for a
guest unless we are informed not to. This issue was clearly a result of a
misunderstanding/miscommunication, and we sincerely apologize for whatever our part
was in it. As you found out, we are always open to accommodating individual guest's
specific dietary requirements and requests as best we can.
Spa:
These services must be booked when they are desired. Much like safari excursions and
other special visitor's options, spa services (massage, hot stones, etc) are made
available upon the guest's request.
Laundry:
We do not have in-house laundry services, so we send them to an outside business. We
apologize for the damage that was caused to your garments, however this was not in
our control in any way. If this had been brought to our attention, we would have
contacted the laundry immediately to make amends.
Electricity:
This is common to all of Egypt unfortunately, and is also completely beyond our
control. While it is certainly frustrating and inconvenient when the power goes out,
we try to make the most of it here by enjoying the stars, the candle light and the
calm (for which Siwa was formerly most known). We are currently pursuing alternate,
independent sources of electricity.
Again, we offer our sincere regrets that you didn't find our ecolodge to be to your
liking. It would have been nice to hear you say some good things about our place,
which is very loved by most all who stay here...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent in the lodge with my wife 2 nights as part of a group and extended additional one night on our own. It is an awesome lodge though it’s not an “eco” lodge since there is electricity, TV, fans and sewage system but this is just a debatable "definition" that didn't affect our high quality stay.

The location is a bit far from Shali town but the reception can arrange for a ride (toktok) that takes you to the town in exactly 5 minutes with a cost of LE 10 to 15 for a single trip and LE 20 for round trip. By walking it would take from 15 to 20 minutes.

The lodge consists of 12 rooms which are not identical. Each room has its own structure, space and design. However, they all share the same taste and spirit inspired by the surroundings of Siwa with palm trees bulp cielings and mud texture walls.

We stayed in room 10 which was spacious with one queen size bed, spacious bathroom and closet. Electricity plugs are very well distributed around the place, the room is full of sunlight due to glass ceiling window (Skylight) measured 1m X 1m, three wide glass windows and balcony glass door. But I believe that all these windows might turn the room into oven if you visit by summer time. The room is not equipped by AC but there is an electric fan which is a bit noisy but does a good job.

Bathroom is spacious with a big stand up shower with twin shower heads gives you a new showering experience under sunlight going through the glass ceiling that gives you the outdoor shower feeling. Towels are of a very good quality, no bathroom amenities were provided in the bathroom except basic soaps.

Sleeping quality is good, the mattress is ok and the pillows & linens are very good.

Service is good but a bit slow when the lodge is full. We have tried the service on our third night when the lodge was almost empty and the service was excellent and quick that night. Food quality also depends on the occupancy ratio of the lodge, the Egyptian breakfast (beans, cheese, dates and falafel) was just fine on peak days and excellent on the low traffic day.

There is a very nice pool in the hotel with a fresh water and a bit chilling though it needs cleaning in some areas.

The whole lodge experience is excellent and provides a very high value for money. Definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: Recommended to stay in Upper floor rooms to enjoy more privacy, more lighting due to more windows as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Fattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The lodge is an excellent surprise. Not only the place is amazingly beautiful and quiet , but also the staff is very sweet, the moment we walked in we felt we are so welcomed. It is suitable as a base to visit Siwa attractions or have alone time.

The room: is spacious, with Siwan ethnic style, almost all made of natural material which made us feel comfortable and connected to nature. the sky lines over the bed and shower allow lots of sun light to enter the room which makes it bright and cheerful.

Bathroom: big and clean, we got 2 shower jets in shower area for extra enjoyment after a long day visting the sites. Towels are high quality and fluffy. There are no bathroom amenities, just regular soap.

Landscape and pool: are amazing, the garden is planted with mint and basil which fill the place with beautiful smell as we walk around. at night they light candle in the garden which makes it magical. The pool is okay, the structure is a bit strange as the pool is surrounded by some kinda water tunnel so it makes it a bit tricky getting in and defiantly while getting out. Also the pool floor needed to be cleaned.

Food: we had breakfast and dinner everyday in our 3 days stay. Breakfast was nice, fava bean, eggs, tameya, and jam. However quality was not constant we had a very good day and 2 average days. Dinner was nice, ¼ chicken, rice and veggie in red sauce. It was a set menu for us as a group but I doubt if they have a menu to choose from, we just ate what was prepared for us.

Staff: is the highlight of the place, very polite and helpful. I had upset stomach one night, they prepared special fruits and yoghurt dinner for me and boiled mint leaves to make mint drink and made sure to call after to make sure I am ok, that was very sweet of them.

Location: it is a bit far from Shali and downtown siwa, around 25 minutes walk which might not be the best thing in the day heat, however you can always to ask the lodge to call a tricycle for you, it is around 7 minutes ride and the fair is EGP 10 ($1.4).

Overall, the lodge is excellent. I would definitely go again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: pick a room with a sky line as it is bright and cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shera111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siwa hotels
2.3 mi away
Shali Lodge
Shali Lodge
#6 of 11 in Siwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siwa Shali Resort
Siwa Shali Resort
#3 of 11 in Siwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dehiba Resort
Dehiba Resort
#5 of 11 in Siwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Taziry Ecolodge Siwa
0.2 mi away
Albabenshal
Albabenshal
#3 of 11 in Siwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talist Siwa
Talist Siwa
#4 of 7 in Siwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa

Property: Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa
Address: Siwa Oasis | Matrouh, Siwa 11742, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > Siwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Siwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carols Ghaliet Ecolodge Siwa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghaliet is a unique SPA Ecolodge just located nearby Amoun Temple and Alexander the greatest oracle in Siwa Oasis. It has been built by nature and designed among the palm trees. you can feel history and the great ancient stories of Alexander the great while you are in Ghaliet. Enjoy the nature, organic design, organic food and different health programs. The ecolodge includes 12 cozy rooms; each room has its special personality and feeling. You can enjoy staying in the upper rooms with the transparent glass ceiling opening and you feel like you are sleeping in the heaven. Also you can experience the unique outdoor privacy in the lower rooms with its private back yard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing