We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall amazing, some minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overall amazing, some minor issues”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

The resort it's absolutely beautiful. The bungalow was amazing, with loads of sea life to view below. The snorkelling equipment could do with updating as the masks uncomfortable and a bit worn. The service in the restaraunt is good but not the standard you would expect from a 4 star resort. The food isn't great, it seemed like it was pre prepared and just reheated.They could maybe do with a bit of training. Everything is very pricey but I think that is everywhere here. In general it's a beautiful, relaxing place to stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommended this place as the downsides were really quite minor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank She_lley2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    610
    180
    56
    24
See reviews for
295
1,235
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The resort is immaculate. The staff is friendly and the service cannot be faulted. The island is interesting and there is a wide choice of dining venues.
The island is a long way from Australia so airfares are expensive and traveling is tedious but cost/reward is a definite value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

You can totally tell that this place is well run. From the mixture of amazing Polynesian women and a young Swiss man, the front desk is run very well. The staff looking after the rooms is delightful and attentive. The massage was amazing.

Room Tip: 307 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Best place in the WORLD!! We woke up every morning and paddle boarded before breakfast. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet is worth waking up for. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is nothing better than falling asleep to the waves lapping up on the reef underneath you. We are from Florida so the heat is nothing new. We left the doors open half the time to let the fresh air in. The market up the street came in handy when we needed some fresh mixers for cocktails. Please make sure you check the concierge desk for your choice of excursions for the day. Oh and the hot stone massage, you need to treat yourself to one of those. I can go on and on and on, but I won't. IF you are in between places take my word for it. It was well worth it.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our way back from Bora Bora in the ending of September. We had booked the pearl because of it's location and we figured we would just relax in Moorea after having a bunch of activities in Bora Bora.

The location of this property is key. We were able to walk into Maharepa in about 5 minutes. It's a little town with touristy shops and some small restaurants. Our meal at the yacht club during lunch was one of the best meals we had all trip. We are the type that doesn't like to be stuck eating exclusively at the hotel with a meal plan. Our stay did include breakfast and I would rate it as average for french polynesia.

Our trip getting to the hotel did have some hiccups. We had just planned to fly from Bora Bora to Moorea and taxi to the hotel. Well, the flight out of Bora Bora ended up being about 3 hours late. By the time we got to the airport in Moorea, everything was shut down. There were no taxis! The woman from Tahiti tours was nice enough to squeeze us onto the transfer bus (and for free). Otherwise, I have no idea what we would have done. We would have probably had to call the hotel to send us a taxi. Plan ahead and ask the Pearl to set up a transfer if they can.

So because of the late flight, our stay was very short. We were had booked a horizon overwater bungalow and were put in room 401. This room is to the most west of the property. At first, I though this might be a good thing because the only neighboring bungalow would be to the right of us. Wrong! From 6am, boats would be going in and out. The property stores their boat right next to the bungalow, also just next to it is a public boat ramp and pier. From about 10am-6pm, there were a lot of local kids jumping off the pier and screaming and making tons of noise the entire day. Then from about 6pm-8:30, there was a truck of people who drove up to the pier drinking and playing very loud music. Being from Hawaii, I completely understand that this is their home and we are just their visitors. But the Pearl should not have guests stay so close to there. This did not make our stay relaxing at all.

After mentioning this to the manager, he did everything he could to make our stay better. Offered another room but we only had one more night to stay so it wouldn't make sense to move. He also said he could call the police if the people were still there after 9pm. They left just before 9. He comped our dinner that night which was probably about $120. They also gave us a free wifi access card for the night. Wifi cards are about $20 for 24 hrs. Only one person can connect at a time with the card. The connection is pretty decent given french polynesia standards. I would also like to note that the same manager saw us about to leave the property and walk to town one day and gave us a ride into town in his car. I think he was on the way home and saw us about to walk when he offered us a ride.

The grounds are pretty nice. The water is still pretty clear in the deep water. Lots of fish. You can also see the light blue lagoon in the horizon. The food is pretty average. I had nothing bad to say about the food but it wasn't spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property on the second leg of our honeymoon to FP. We had originally been booked at another property on the island, and for reasons I wont get into on this review, we chose to switch resorts mid-way through our trip.

Not only were they able to accommodate us on short notice, but the manager who heard about the trouble at our previous location (and knowing we were on our honeymoon), actually upgraded our room category as well.

Having stayed at the Pearl in Bora Bora, we knew that the standard of service was high and the Moorea Pearl Resort certainly didn't disappoint.

The rooms are meticulously clean and spacious and every effort was made to ensure that everything was top-knotch.

I have nothing negative to say about this resort or the wonderful staff that keeps it at the level it is. The ONLY thing that kept me from giving this 5 stars was the food as I thought it was only average, but that is just my personal preference.

If you're looking for a beautiful property, good staff, and a resort that is close to "downtown" in Moorea, look no further!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

LOVED THE HOTEL! A quick ride from the pier and when we arrived we were greeted with cool towels and juice. The lobby is open air with nice simple furniture and decor. Staff are wonderful and unassuming. I tried to use my French as much as possible. The communication wasn't always perfect but this is my fault. Everyone was fantastic. We loved our Polynesian Luxury accommodation!! We stayed in the mid-range Private Garden Bungalow with our very own plunge pool. Stunning dark wood with beautiful details and Renovated. Gorgeous. Even Nicer (if you can imagine) than their Over Water Bungalows. Having your very own private romantic indoor/outdoor sanctuary to frolic in is my preferred experience thank you. The spa is excellent, I was fortunate to have their signature treatment. Unique and calming aquatic massage. The food is very good. Mmmm fresh avocados and papaya for breakie, fresh fish for dinner and delicious drinks. Get a meal plan. THE PLACE TO STAY IN MOOREA as far as im concerned. Do not hesitate to book. Highly recommended. Ive travelled all around the world and this a quality resort. Style is authentic Polynesian, what more can you ask for?

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Great_Expectations84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
15.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
7.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Property: Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Address: Bp 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing