We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love the Garden Bungalows with plunge pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love Love Love the Garden Bungalows with plunge pool”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very friendly staff. We were lucky enough to stay one night in room 204 - a garden bungalow with plunge pool. Very private. Great clean room and not far from everything. Resort nice and compact, didn't feel like I had to walk miles to the pool/ocean. Had breakfast in the restaurant and good range of food, all hot.
Had a swim in the infinity pool the morning we left and great way to end the stay. Would more than happily stay here again. Good for both couples and families. They even have rooms with single beds on the ground floor and a queen bed on a mezzanine so that I think would suit the family market.
Good location near shops in case you wish to purchase provisions elsewhere.
The lobby had a spectacular glass wall looking out over the bay to the left of the lobby. Got some good sunset shots! 5 mins walk to Moorea Café

Room Tip: Room 204 - garden bungalow with private pool. They have a connecting gate in the plunge pool area. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    610
    180
    56
    24
See reviews for
295
1,236
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Ok, the beach at the hotel is not the best we have ever seen but the rest is perfect. We were in this garden bungalow with private pool, amazing! The room was big and clean, the service prompt and ready.
Definitely a good choice, especially for the money moon gift (a black pearl...)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 915Rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I just returned from Moorea--stayed at this resort for 7 nights. The accommodations were very clean with air conditioning, a mini refrigerator and very spacious rooms. I stayed in the family style rooms which had an upstairs to separate the bedrooms. I toured the beach bungalows which were also very nice and private. If you can afford the over-water bungalows, I would recommend it because you can just jump off your balcony and go snorkeling. The infinity pool was huge and enough chairs for all the guests. The food was good in bar/restaurants and staff was also friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticket2Venture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Following a catamaran cruise we spent 5 nights at the Pearl, Moorea. It was hard to pick a location as there are so many great one in French Polynesia, but this suited us and was recommended. Based on good advice from this site, we went for an overwater bungalow, specifically between 418 and 426 and ended up with 418. Good location - if you check on Google Earth it is the bungalow furtherest out to the right and as far out as you can go. Great snorkelling off the landing and the water goes from 3 ft to about 30 ft.

Overwater bungalows cost a bit but you (or at least WE) don't go there too often. A good tip - the hotel will let you use their fins and masks (look good - we carried our own and thy were heavy), paddle boards, kayaks etc. There are jetski tours from the hotel - to be recommended. across the road and about 10 minutes walk there is an ATV tour also recommended (get Bubba - he is great). All can be arranged through the hotel.

Great sunsets from the walkways and beautiful pool. Would stay there again, everything works and the staf are fantastic.

Room Tip: Tip on room number above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We took our honeymoon here, and booked two seperate room types with our flight package. Our first 4 nights were in a garden pool bungalow, and the next 5 were in a premium overwater bungalow. There was no arranged shuttle service from the airport to the hotel, so we took a taxi. The hotel lobby was beautiful when we checked in. We were hours early, and a room wasn't quite ready, but we were shown the pool and given towels to wait. 2 hours later we had our pool bungalow. Very private, nice and large. The fridge is not a fridge, it does not keep things cold, it keeps things from getting hot. We kept getting ice and keeping things in a wine cooler we borrowed from the bar. The bathroom didn't have a bathtub, which we knew and were fine with. The plunge pool was perfect temperature, and very quiet and private.

Our OWB was again a beautiful room, same amenities as the pool room, expect it had a deck over the water. We found most OWB were useless in the fact that you couldn't use the stairs from the ocean onto your deck because it was over a coral reef. Also, some decks you couldn't jump off off because the water was so shallow. Our bungalow was great though.

The beach and pool were very nice. We took the paddle boards out every day. They did only have 4, and when some people would break fins, they weren't replaced. So one day it was down to one functioning board.
We read the reviews about food & drink costs, and bought booze at LAZ duty free to take with us. Smartest decision ever. We ordered 1 drink in our 10day stay, a virgin Pina Coloda was $9, and one with booze was $18! SO NOT worth it. We made our own drinks with pop and juice bought from the town, a 5min walk.

We booked a couples massage, which the hotel messed up the dates on, and we arrived to a closed spa. They rebooked it for us, however, we had to get a massage one after another, and not together. We also did the lagoon tour which was fantastic!! Swimming with sharks and sting rays was excellent,a dn the tour guides were friendly and energetic.

For the cost of staying at the resort, not worth it. However, it was a once in a lifetime bucket list honeymoon trip, so we had a great time. There was a lot more kids and families there than what we expected.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diesel1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidsonville, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Resort is just beautiful, very clean and comfortable. Our Premium Overwater Bungalow was amazing. My husband brought me here for a "big" birthday and relaxation. It sure did deliver, the staff was very friendly & helpful. Food was good but very pricey in the resort. We enjoyed our days out on the island exploring as well as a tour or two. This is a trip that will always be remembered.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premium Overwater Bungalow, sometime privacy was compromised but over all it was ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in the Moorea Pearl resort in a premium overwater bungalow for our honeymoon. It was the most amazing experience. Coming from California, the tropical waters were a very different experience and it was so calm within the lagoon. The overwater bungalows at the Moorea Pearl differ from the other resorts in that they are at the edge of a reef that drops off immediately to deeper water, perhaps about 30ft deep. This is scary for some people, but truth be told, the water is less affected by sand, the reef structure is a perfect habitat for fish and other creatures, and I've spotted larger marine life cruising through the channel like spotted eagle rays, dolphins, etc. So it is the best choice for those that are comfortable in the water. The service was meticulous and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
15.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
7.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Property: Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Address: Bp 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing