We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Windber, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This was paradise.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

my husband and granddaughter and myself stayed at an overwater bungalow (406). They kept it so clean and the deck was so peaceful to sit and watch the sunset. I would go back in a heart beat,but don't really seeing that happen. I must say that the food in the restraunt wasn't to my liking and very expensive. The American breakfast was great,just about anything you could think of they had. The swimming pool was Georgia as well as the grounds.

Room Tip: Our room was about the center of the bungalows so you got a great view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    596
    173
    51
    24
See reviews for
283
1,192
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent a very pleasant 3 days here after touring around the Marquisa islands. We had a garden bungalow with plunge pool. The gardens and rooms are kept immaculate and the beach and pool are very nice. There is a small hamlet 5 minutes walk down the road and it's worth walking there to stock up on drinks and snacks. Everything on the island is expensive and you have to stop worrying about the exchange rate. Being french everything shuts for lunch and on Sunday so if you are here at the weekend plan ahead. Can recommend an ATV trip organised by the hotel or at Alberts opposite the hotel entrance. Also worth walking 200 m to the White House for a good range of souvenirs.
Mix of clientele at the hotel, some Americans , a few Europeans. Quite a number of small children so perhaps not the quietest of resorts.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are delightful, beach and pool are nearby and you have private plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasidevally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in April. We were very happy with pretty much everything. The room (garden duplex) was large, clean, and well serviced. The pool was very nice and there were always chairs available to relax on. The food was nice. We had two small children and their meals were included. They really enjoyed the food and there was a good selection for kids. We ate about half our meals here (prices were reasonable and inline with Tahiti prices) and half across the street (the ribs and skewers are well worth it).

What made our stay so special was the snorkeling. I had read several reviews that said it was good but nobody wrote what you can see so I will. We saw moray eels every day, lionfish, ocotupus, stonefish, eagle rays, and hawksbill turtles. We saw the eagle rays quite a few times and a large turtle three days in a row. The snorkeling was easy although you are over a channel that might make some people uncomfortable with depths of 10-30 meters. I did it with my 8 year old son though and he was fine and really loved it. We also did the shark and ray tour which we can strongly recommend as well.

The Pearl Resort does not really have the service of a 5 star hotel such as the Hyatt. Little things such as poor quality snorkeling gear (it is free though) and a lack of activities (why not have a guided snorkeling trip on your reef?) would really add to the experience. However, it did have charm and the fact that you could walk to Maharepa and the shops there was a bonus. The staff were all very nice. We would stay there again if we ever come back.

Room Tip: Bring your own snorkeling gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I'll be honest, this sort of thing is out of my budget range. But we so wanted to experience an overwater bungalow. This hotel was less expensive than the others and there was a pre-paid price that was - I'm not going to say reasonable because I *never* spend that much on the bed! - but reasonable compared to any other choices. The reviews were reassuring but I was afraid that my budget would create a lesser experience for us. I really can't see how. The lobby is beautiful and the staff welcoming. Our overwater bungalow - a premium, meaning farthest out and balcony facing the ocean - was luxurious. Gorgeous. Fantastic! The food and cocktails were wonderful. The Polynesian Buffet and Show (I think only on Sat. nights) was expensive but a wonderful experience and lots of really good food. They extended our check-out which made our last day in Polynesia SO much better than it might have been. We were initially a little disappointed with the snorkeling. Our bungalow was at the edge of the shelf where it dropped off to deep water. But the shelf really grew on us, lots going on there. A big turtle at the end pier that was reliably there at 3p. If you went in to the beach area you would see all of the same fish but smaller - it was like the nursery. I tried stand-up paddle boarding and we just generally had a fantastic time there. I read reviews about some of the other big five star hotels that have better snorkeling, but we were pleased enough with what was right there and we drove to a couple of public beaches, too, where the snorkeling was out of this world. (My biggest tip to any visitor to Moorea is to just go ahead and rent a car.) Anyway, thanks to the Pearl we had that truly luxurious over-water bungalow experience and had a little money left for food.

Room Tip: Premium over-water bungalow! Look for the pre-paid discount on their web-site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobnob_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We absolutely loved our 7 night stay at the Moorea Pearl. We had a garden bungalow with a pool, & appreciated the privacy that gave us, we could go & swim in the sea any time we wanted so didn't feel the need for an OTW room. The pool was fabulous, water temperature was perfect, we were in & out of the pool & sea all day long. We got lots of use from the kayaks & tried out the paddle-boards once. The snorkelling off the resort was ok, the coral is terrible, but that just seems to be what Tahitian coral is, but the range of fish was excellent, at times I felt like I was swimming through the nursery scene in Finding Nemo.

Having breakfast included with the room was important as its one less expense in a very expensive country, & the breakfast spread was really great, there was something for every taste. The restaurant evening meals didn't have a huge range, but the bar did food as well, plus there are several restaurants within walking distance, so we enjoyed the variety that allowed us. Plus having a supermarket down the road meant it was easy to get a cheap lunch of baguette & cheese or pate every day.

The hotel staff were all very polite, & helped us a lot by speaking such good english, & not laughing at my attempts at french. The ladies at the travel desk were helpful in organising us a snorkelling trip & a hire car. The room was cleaned beautifully every day, we had nice facilities & whilst there were little things that were irritating, we were only there 7 days, so nothing was that big a problem. And as a lovely extra touch, they left a plate of little cakes on the evening of hubby's birthday, while we were out for dinner.

I'd definitely stay there again, really enjoyed it, & have no real complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asinvari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stay here 3 nights the first week of May 2014. We booked the Premium Garden Pool Bungalow Room. Upon your arrival the staff was very FRIENDLY and HEPFUL !!! We arrived 4 hours before check in and lucky for us they allowed us an early check in at no extra cost.

The room was very clean and updated.The room had AC, a fan, 26in tv (mostly french speaking channels) w/ dvd player, blower drier, iron, and a big comfortable couch. The room private pool is very small. I thought it was jacuzzi but it was not. The water is cold there isnt a heater. I only went inside the pool once for a bit but the water was to cold. The pool is surround by a tall fence for privacy from the neighbors.

The hotel grounds seemed to be cleaned very morning by hand. I never saw or hear any power tool. No waking up to leaf blowers. The pools was average. They offer free equipment to kayak, paddle board and snorkel. But the equipment is limited.

The bar is nice but average. There is only one restaurant in the hotel. The food was good.

Great location! The hotel is about 8 minute drive from the airport and a 10 minute walk from town (where you can shop and eat lunch and dinner).

My complaints are the beach is very small ! very limited were you can lay out and swim. Do not expect the postcard picture of a great beach. For that i recommend over the water the water room at Bora Bora. Beware there are families that bring there very young kids here. So there might be kids running around at times.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at the Moorea Pearl Resort and Spa. It was average compared to other resorts I have stayed in. There was only one restaurant and one bar in the resort so food selection was rather limited. The pool was nice although the area around the pool sloped toward the water and was quite slippery and dangerous. The rooms were overall nice but also with a few downfalls. The mini fridge was not even cold, so could not keep anything in there. Plus on our second to last night we did see what appeared to be cockroaches in the room- 2 large ones and several small. THAT was largely disappointing. If I returned to Moorea in the future I would not choose this resort to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMooreaPearl, Directeur général at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I do understand that it is never a nice surprise to find roaches in a room. Unfortunately we are in a tropical climate and to be franc it can happen occasionally, especially after heavy rain, despite a regular spray treatment for bugs. I do not know a Polynesian hotel which never encounter that problem, some time to time. Even 5 star and plus that I worked for. For your information, those roaches live in pandanus (material that Polynesian roofing is done with) .
A big asset of our hotel is truly the possibility of going out. Clients are not trapped in our hotel far away from everything. The little village of Maharepa with shopping, boutiques and several restaurants at walking distance make us thinking that having 1 restaurant, 1 snack and 1 bar at the hotel is efficient and satisfactory for our guests. However our menus offer a reasonably wide selection of dishes. We like our guests to eat with us, but we do understand them when they want to experience other restaurants.
You are right, our minibars fridge are not a food fridge . This is the reason why we do not recommend storing food in it. However your remark is constructive and I will plan to progressively change our mini bar by real little fridge.
Thanks for staying with us . We do hope that over all you will keep good memories of your trip to Polynesia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
15.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.7 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.1 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Property: Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Address: BP 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing