We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel stay ever!!!”
Review of Hotel Kaveka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kaveka
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel stay ever!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I was at Kaveka Hotel last month and being a first timer in Moorea, I must say my stay was an unforgettable and memorable experience. I came with my sister all the way from Singapore. It was the best trip ever. The bungalow rooms were beautiful, his hotel has the best scenery of Cooks Bay and his restaurant served the best food. Everybody at the hotel are full of smile especially Tim, the reception guy.
The owner of Kaveka Hotel, Mr Greg Hardie, was a man with excellent and warm personality because tourists from other hotels came to visit his restaurant especially to try his delicious cuisine. He never fail to put a smile on the faces of tourists staying or visiting his hotel. He will visit each and every table to make sure that their food are prepared with so much love and of top quality. Lastly, I have to say that Mr Greg, you made my holiday a dream come true! Mauruuru, Mr Greg Hardie!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    114
    57
    21
    16
See reviews for
52
156
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Such a neat place to soak up the amazing scenery and relax on the beach. Only place to eat on the water while watching the fish. I was lucky to watch a turtle swimming by at the end of the wharf. The bungalows are clean & have all you need. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice but simple bungalows with all what you need. Remarkably good restaurant at reasonable prices compared to local price level. Beach is quite small and to enter the water a bit difficult because of stones/corals - reef-shoes strongly recommended! Central location - walking distance to Maharepa.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalow - watch the sunset and relax with a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Compared to the rest of the Pacific the Hotel Kaveka must be more than two stars. But probably not three. The rooms are okay, but quite worn down. The food is no big deal, and the breakfast tends to get boring after a couple of days. However, the restaurant is over water and you can feed the colorful fish directly from your table. The snorkeling at the end of the little private pier is fine - watch out for turtles! The location in Cooks Bay is fine, too - with great views of the mountains. The beach is the smallest in the world. The over loaded single receptionist and waiter is eagerly friendly and helpful, but tends to get stressed - and we had a really bad welcome experience. Rent a car and circle the Island yourself - and do swim with sting rays and sharks at the Tipaniers Hotel. Unforgettable! (Rent a kayak for an hour for 1.000 xpf = €8 - the crazy experience is only 7 minutes out.) Furthermore, go to church in the beautiful catholic church in Haapiti on Sundays at 7.30am.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is great because of the mountains on the other side of Cooks Bay. Beach view is a laugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanHolstebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After having seen mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I were a little unsure of what we would find, but this hotel ticked the right boxes for us with regards to price and location.
Having taken 3 days, with required stopovers from Australia, to finally reach Moorea, (and keen to get to our room and take a swim), we were initially a bit wary when we were informed by a staff member that we would have to wait till he was free to book us in since he was on his own & serving lunch as well!
40 mins later, another staff member appeared and showed us to our garden 'Lanai' (budget accommodation), which was clean and tidy, with an oversized king bed (plus a single too) and separate toilet and shower, though it was very hot with the sun pouring in. We found that this was not a problem however, once we opened the windows and doors and let some fresh air in, and during our 3 day stay, found the fan above the bed as perfectly adequate for keeping us cool during the night. (You can hire an air conditioning unit at an extra cost)
The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere & the staff were all very friendly and only too happy to answer questions & help us. We hired cycles here for a reasonable rate our first afternoon and the owner of the hotel was very helpful organising a hire car the next day at a cheaper rate than if we had booked it ourselves.
We found that a hire car gave us more freedom to explore, & was infinitely cheaper than relying on the taxi service which doubled it's price after 6pm and was reputed to be hard to find at all after 10pm!! Having not driven on the right for 37 years, I picked it back up with no effort, happy that there is only one road that runs around the island's perimeter, plus the one to the centre.Plus no traffic lights or roundabouts that we found!! The speed limit is slow and many of the cars we travelled behind seemed to drive on 'island time' (i.e. 20-40 kms per hr, in their own sweet time, not worrying about who was behind them!!)
Having said that, most restaurants offer the service to pick up & drop off free of charge to encourage you to dine with them, and understanding that you sometimes might have to wait around a little for someone to take you, this is fine.
The hotel is just off the main road, very private with it's high walls & a number of individual lanai's (bungalows) set in gardens & around the water's edge. The reception area & restaurant opened up to a long wharf where there was a swimming platform. We enjoyed a refreshing swim in the clear water, and saw some coral & fish, though not abundant- it was still very pleasant.
We ate dinner in the restaurant our first night, and were very happy with the food as well as loving the live music and friendly staff serving us, but we were slightly disappointed with the very basic breakfast the next morning which cost 1000xpf (about $12 each) for a glass of juice, a coffee/tea and chunks of French bread, butter & jam. You could add fruit or a cooked breakfast for more money.
We knew that prices in Tahiti are high, but after that first breakfast, we preferred to go to the shops down the road (2 mins in our hire car or a 5-10 min walk) and either have breakfast in a cafe (at half the price as the hotel) or buy our own crusty fresh baguettes & cheese, ham & fruit from the local supermarket there. You could also buy beer & alcohol, and all other necessities if you wanted to be more self sufficient, and place cold drinks in the small fridge provided in the hotel.
Some of the reviews I saw of this hotel complained about value for money, cleanliness and cost. I say that as long as you are not expecting 5 star accommodation, you will not be disappointed. My husband and I are in the 57-65 yr bracket, and did not want to pay the prices of the upmarket hotels like the Sofitel or Inter Continental. Therefore we were more than happy with the lanai, the hotel facilities & it's services and would recommend it to other travellers .
You are hopefully in Moorea to enjoy it's beautiful atmosphere and the people, not to stay in a hotel room! The money you save on expensive accommodation we feel is better spent exploring the place, enjoying the food, the culture and getting out to meet it's locals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nikkiloolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Kaveka in April of this year. The service and staff there was excellent, felt like we had friends and family with us. It was so nice and convenient having the restaurant on site. We did the meal plan which overall was a great deal considering the prices of everything in French Polynesia. They had live music a couple nights a week which was nice and we saw many different sea creatures just looking off the dock there in the evenings. They have a free daily shuttle to the main town near by which made it convenient if you didn't have a car the whole time. ( Go to the Moz Cafe in town! Great place also. )We felt very safe at the resort. The overall cleanliness was good with the exception of some trash built up on the sides of their beach and the other side that meets the water. If their maintenance man/ Gardner cleaned that up the place would be at an excellent clean rating because the rooms and restaurant were great. If I were going to have any criticism it would be the dogs in the evening. Now keep in mind there are dogs roaming everywhere on the island so having dogs around is almost inevitable but they do have a gate that is closed or suppose to be closed at 10pm every night and when it would get dark dogs would come in, all very passive and mellow and don't really come near you at all but they like to chew sandals sometimes. Just don't leave your sandals out all night. During the day was fine because they were never around but at night could be a problem. Mosquitos were not fun but that was an issue all over so bring the bug spray. Humid, humid, humid... Be prepared to sweat the whole time. My one piece of advice would be to bring everything you could possibly need with you on this trip. These islands will either not have it or it will be outrageously expensive. (Ex. Small roll of werthers candies at the store was $8 us). Overall beautiful place to visit, prettiest water you will ever see, and the best snorkeling. I would definitely stay at Hotel Kaveka again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwayslovetovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here after 3 nights at the Intercontinental - it was the only place on the island that would accommodate 4 people (that we could find on all the booking websites). I was a little unsure about staying here after staying at the intercontinental, but like other reviews, the owner and staff are incredibly courteous and friendly. It rained most of the time here. We got one morning of 'not rain' and went to Temae beach. Kids enjoyed playing in the sand and snorkelling. The views from the hotel are very beautiful. The food was fine. And yes, everything is expensive. We bought some beer and snacks at a grocery store and enjoyed those sitting on our balcony while the kids napped. We did have to pay extra for the A/C - our daughter is a red-head and can't handle the heat! It is what it is - a Polynesian hut, not a luxury resort. The owner gave our kids a baguette each to feed the fish and they were overjoyed. It was a welcoming place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
1.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
6.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
5.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaveka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaveka

Property: Hotel Kaveka
Address: BP 373, Maharepa, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kaveka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kaveka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaveka Hotel Maharepa
Hotel Kaveka Moorea, French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing