We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience on all accounts”
Review of Marks Place Moorea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marks Place Moorea
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at Mark's place for three days and were extremely pleased with everything, The bungalows are FULLY equipped for making your own food, complete with a stove, refrigerator, cooking utensils, water heaters etc. Mark makes each bungalow feel like home. There is also a store walking distance from the accommodation which is convenient if you want to make your own food. Mark was EXTREMELY helpful with everything from showing us surf spots, a ton of free activities on the island and giving us a map to guide us on our Moorea adventures. He also has bicycles and kayaks on his property for you to use as well. I couldn't ask for a nicer accommodation, host, and location for the cost especially.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 760love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Recently a group of 4 of us went to Marks Place Moorea.On arrival we were told by Mark that we were in paradise and here nothing ever gets locked he leaves all his pocessions out all the time it was so safe and wonderful.It had been a long trip and we were anxious to get settled and have dinner and neither couple gave any thought to the fact that we hadn`t been given any bungalow keys.A week later my cousin had a large sum of money stolen from her bad, hidden in a cupboard under the bedroom t.v. nothing else had been disturbed.At fist Mark was very helpful taking her to the polce station and even lending us his car for two days, but when he became aware that we had spoken of the theft to others he became extremely abusive to us all even to screaming the [--] word at my cousin and accusing her of stealing her own money in the full view of the whole compound.He threatend to have us deported???? and only stopped ranting at us when we requested he ring the police to come there immediately.He had also refused to hand over our passports for several hours, we had left them the safe he told us he had after the robbery, he also gave us room keys again after the theft had occured not that our keys were of any use as the sliding door in our bedroom was unfinished and had no lock or bottom rail.
My advice is if you go there STAY AWAY from Mark better still find somewhere else to go this man is not stable something he did admit to but did not apologise for, his behaviour was totally unexceptable anywhere at anytime. We are all in our 60`s and have travelled extensively and never encountered anything like this from our hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband, baby and I spent 8 nights here and loved our bungalow fare mahana it was really cool nice and homely to stay in...........the gardens are absolutely beautiful. We received excellent service from Mark the whole time we were there and I felt he went out of his way to help out with whatever we needed. The bungalows have everything you need and there are shops very close by for anything you don't have. The availability of kayaks bikes and snorkel gear was a bonus and the price of the accommodation is extremely reasonable for what you get. We would definitely recommend Marks Place for a relaxing holiday...........we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.........Mauruuru

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capryce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Mark built the entire place from the ground up. You can tell he spent his life on this place making it beautiful. I came with a large group and we ended up being able to rent out the entire place. All the rooms were beautiful! So unique in their own way. Each place had their own kitchen with everything you needed. From the time we got there till the end Mark made sure we had everything we needed in order to make our time there pleasant. He even offered to give us rides to the beach and access to his wifi along with full access to his kayaks, bikes, etc. Some of the neighbours ended up asking if they could put on a little performance for us one night. We had Tahitian dancers, fire breathers and jugglers etc. One of the ladies even gave me her beautiful flowered head piece she made!!

Mark and his team were very pleasant and very sweet. He became like a friend to all of us. You could tell he wanted nothing more than to make sure we had everything we needed to have the perfect vacation.

I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a nice quiet place. I would come back again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

2012 05 03
Marks-place is a wonderful place to stay in Moorea if you like nature and surf. I stayed there several days and enjoyed very much my stay. His bungalows are equipped with everything, small kitchen, etc, and everything works. Prices are very reasonable for this type of accommodation. This area is also very secure. If you are a surfer it is a paradise, if you are not, like me, it is simply an ideal place to unwind.
Mark was a great host.

Room Tip: Mark will select the bingalow that is right for you depending on the number of person. Warning dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Since first coming to Mark’s Place in 2005 I have stayed in just about all the bungalows on offer. I live on Tahiti and so I know both Mark and his accommodation very well. I would say that you would be hard pressed to find better quality or better value accommodation anywhere in French Polynesia. Mark is a true craftsman who has lovingly designed and constructed all of the bungalows himself and his imagination is evident everywhere. It is clear, both from the accommodation and the hospitality, that he places people before profit. Mark has spent half his life on the Territory and has established a fine reputation as a friendly, honest and helpful host. If you come to mark’s Place you will not be disappointed as you have the best of both worlds: tranquillity in a heavenly setting and an astonishing range of activities to fill the days.
Please ignore those sad, malicious individuals who gain pleasure from trolling this website (as opposed to those who give constructive criticism).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fetia-tahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I had a very pleasant stay with Mark. I had only been there for few days, but enough to make me wish to come back asap. I wonder the unpleasant experiences people had, as I can only speak of my own experience... I recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
7.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
1.0 mi away
Pension Tarariki
Pension Tarariki
#10 of 13 in Moorea
37 reviews
5.5 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
299 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pension Motu Iti
Pension Motu Iti
#16 of 22 in Moorea
145 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marks Place Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marks Place Moorea

Address: PK 23 5 cote montagne | Haapiti, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Maharepa
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marks Place Moorea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Moorea we have the Bungalow accommodation to meet your every need. Our accommodation and environment is perfectly suited to families, groups, couples or individuals.Currently there are seven individual private bungalows spread over a 4 acre property. Each bungalow is completely unique and has everything you need for a comfortable stay (Full kitchens, attached bathroom, hot showers, Satellite TV, wifi, and so much more). If you don't have a computer than use our high speed desk to in the attached computer room.We are 200 metres back from the coastal road. The inner lagoon and reef is accessible by kayak at the end of our drive way. The nearest bathing beach(Panapo or Pineapple beach) is 4km away, 7 minutes by car or scooter, 15 minutes by push bike. This is a wonderful white sand beach that offers great swimming and snorkeling, a restaurant overlooking the beach, chairs, toilets, showers and shade all available for your use. 'Marks Place' does free delivery to Pineapple beach and then you can walk back along the beach after an enjoyable day swimming and snorkeling.Most of the surf breaks on Moorea are on the passes. The passes are breaks in the outer reef that surrounds the island. The break in front of Marks(Haapiti) is about 1km from shore. Its a very consistent break and can handle some size. It works on south swell generated from depressions that go under New Zealand. When the swell maxes Haapiti out go round to Taeme which works of big south swells that wrap round the island. See the activity/surf page for more detail.The closest sit down restaurant is a Pizza parlour 15 minutes away by push bike. A number of other restaurants are a 20 min car or scooter drive away. There is a small Magasin(Super Market) 5 minutes away by push bike with all the daily staples available, baguette, milk, fruit and vegetables etc. Mark has an arrangement with the local Pizzeria and Restaurants offering free pickup and delivery on request.We have long-standing experience accommodating and attending to the needs of our clients. We continue to build extensively, while taking into account the requirements of both traveling individuals and families seeking budget accommodation at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marks Place Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marks Place Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing