We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marks place? Just LOVE PEACE and Harmony!”
Review of Marks Place Moorea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marks Place Moorea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marks place? Just LOVE PEACE and Harmony!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Iam a surfer, 31 years old from Germany travelling around the world for surfing and Iam really deeply grateful to meet such an open minded guy as Mark is and his very lovely bungalow accommodation.

Honestly at the beginning of my short island trip I wasn´t sure to spent my time and money at Marks place because I read all these negative comments at tripadvisor. There were also a group of people who told me I should not go there but god bless I decided to make my own experience and it was totally worth.

When you just arrive Marks place you can feel the good vibe of these place. Marks place has a huge peaceful garden with 8 different full equipped bungalows on it. All the bungalows were built by Mark himself and no one is similar to the next bungalow. Each one is full of lovely designed details. You can really feel that Mark loves his passion as a craftsmen:) My private bungalow was very clean and also very safe. In my opinion you don´t have to lock your door. The prices of the bungalows in comparison to the rest of the island or Tahiti are very reasonable.

If you are a surfer perfect, welcome to paradise. Rent a kayak by Mark and go for the outer reef break so called "Haapiti". If you are not a surfer it is simply an ideal place to relax and find yourself.

So finally I can totally recommend Mark and "Marks place" to everybody. Don´t listen to the negative comments - there are no words for these bunch of people in my opinion. Go out and make your own experience and I am sure you won´t regret it.

Enjoy

Bastian from Germany

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BastiGeretshauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    7
    7
    17
See reviews for
14
37
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

my husband and i stayed at marks place for a week in february. it was the rainy season but it's just like florida. if you don't like the weather, wait 15 minutes. ha ha. mark made sure we had access to the rental car agency, he called them for us on his cell and got everything set up for us. he told us where to eat (excellent food at excellent prices) & where to visit and what beaches to go to. he made sure we had what we needed for a grand week. his partner, marietta, was magnificent with her woman's touch. so helpful and so attentive. she would greet the guests, show them to their cottages, answer any questions, run the housekeeping, and anything you needed, she made sure you got right away. i sometimes thought she was a mindreader, very professional and very savvy. we could not have asked for a better week. my husband would take a morning walk and come back with football sized avocadoes, green grapefruits (pamplemoose i believe is the polynesian word) and mangoes that had fallen off the trees for breakfast. we met benoit and johanna, friends of marietta. benoit is a french pastry chef. i ordered a chocolate torte for my husband for valentines from him and we ate the whole thing in 1 sitting. it was truly decadent. mark told us about les tipanier, a restaurant (actually 2 restaurants) 1 serves breakfast and lunch and 1 just serves dinner. amazing food. he also told us about pizza daniel, the best pizza we've ever eaten. daniel is also from france and has an open air stone oven in which he cooks the pizza. i still think about it. our stay in moorea was delightful, our trip of a lifetime. thanks mark & marietta!!! God bless you both!! hope we can come back someday!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlmoorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is probably one of the most beautiful bungalows I have ever stayed in! Mark the owner constructed all the bungalows by hand, and put such detail and care into them, and you can easily see this! They are beautiful inside and out! A friend and I stayed here (after another very persistent friend suggested this place) and I'm so glad I did! We stayed in a 4-bed bungalow, which was set up with the bedroom area upstairs. There was a couch in the centre and tv in the corner, and around the room were 4 'coves' with the beds situated in them, allowing for privacy from others staying in the bungalow with you (there was a curtain to pull across each).The bed was comfortable enough, and it was at a perfect level for having the windows open and feeling a nice breeze in the evening. There was also a lounge area on this level, so you could sit outside and relax. Downstairs has the kitchen (quite large), and washroom facilities through another door. The washroom comprised of two toilets, and two showers with a 2 sink countertop. Towels were also available in the washroom. The property is nice and green with a couple dogs wandering around (very cute and friendly!). Mark is very helpful with sorting out things to do, giving directions, etc. He helped us organize a rental car for the island (very useful thing to do if you want to see as much as possible in two days!). He was very friendly and always willing to help! You can rent bikes from him (1000 francs a day) and about 15 minutes down the road is Pinapoo beach- worth the ride out there for a relaxing lounge and swim! There's also a nice pizza place en route back from the beach- so grab a nice pizza and sit by the beach somewhere and enjoy the sunset! Overall I had an awesome time at Marks and would gladly head back there with some friends to enjoy the beautiful bungalows and friendly nature!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are amazing! Depends on the size of your party as to which one you will get, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCanuckTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Maybe i was one of the unluckiest guys but I was in paradise and did never see the sun. I visited marks place in january and it was more or less raining the whole time. Mark did everything to make my stay perfect. Despite the weather he helped me to find activities and they were great...mark really want you to enjoy moorea.
His garden and the houses are great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We met Mark on our first trip to Moorea 7 years ago. He was very helpful giving us many suggestions and much insight. Although we did not stay as a hotel guest on that trip we did rent bicycles, kayaks, and other gear from him and it was all very usable. He spoke of his children which he adopted on the island and opened our eyes to travel in natural accommodations that are second to none. His little Island Paradise was refreshing.
Make no mistake this is not a five star property but it offeres more than anyone would expect for its price point. By the way, when you are on Moorea your life is five star.
On our return visit we booked most of our time with Mark and were not disappointed. Our luggage was lost by the airlines and our "High end" property could not locate our missing pieses. When we arrived at Marks, he called the airlines and was on the phone until they found our bags and gave a schedule of when they would be delivered to us. This was very helpful. Our accommodations were everything we hoped for and more.
We feel so comfortable with Mark and his property that during our next visit to Moorea (cruising with another prime operation, Liberty Cruise, we had our captain anchor near Marks Place to visit him and catch on our lives.
Price for valus we have never found a better natural place to stay in the world.

Room Tip: Check the net to judge your group size. We visited all of the accommodations and there is not one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The most affordable accommodation in Moorea. We had our own private bungalow and felt like we had the place to ourselves. I can't say enough kind things about Mark who was always available with fun suggestions or history about Moorea. We rode bikes all over the south part of Moorea, hiked the waterfalls and ate amazing food from the roulette a Mark suggested for us. Staying in the bungalow there was the best part of our South Pacific holiday. If you are looking for tons of pampering and amenities its best to stay at a resort, but if you are adventurous and like exploring on your own then marks place is the spot for you.
The bungalow was extremely clean and everything we needed was right there. Ours had the shower outside in the mango tree so it was amazing taking showers outside in the rain.
He's built all of the bungalows himself and they are truly hand crafted gems. Our bungalow had hundreds of glass bottle in the wall so when the sun shined through it was so beautiful inside. Truly a special place and there's no where else like it on the islands.

Room Tip: Unique split bungalow was amazing for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Marks Place Moorea (no apostrophe) is beautiful. No doubt. Also cheap. The owner however, is an interesting fellow. I know there are reviews on this site that say how sad it is and the like that some of the reviews about Mark and his place are not so positive, but sad and true can often be the same thing.
One review I read was titled Jekyll and Hyde? Based on my impressions of Mark, that might be a bit drastic, but perhaps in the ball park. I would suggest that those people who only had positive things to say about Mark have not really experienced the man in his various moods.
That said, from my experience, if you treat him carefully, with kid- gloves and politeness, try not to throw any curve balls and stick to your guns, he can be managed.
Marks Place is beautiful, no doubt. Just... be prepared for some interesting and challenging times with Mark. Furthermore, I'm not sure it's fair to call him deceitful, but I think he probably can tell a story or two.
Oh yeah. Moorea might be beautiful, but it can be windy. We were at Mark's for about 5 days waiting for this apparently magnificent wave to come alive out the front and it was blown out the whole time. If you’re a surfer... best to understand that this wave is not by any means a sure thing. Neither are other waves on the island.
Still - he drove us back to the ferry and gave us shell necklaces... so La Orana!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
6.1 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
7.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.5 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
1.4 mi away
Linareva Moorea Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marks Place Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marks Place Moorea

Property: Marks Place Moorea
Address: PK 23 5 cote montagne | Haapiti, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marks Place Moorea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Moorea we have the Bungalow accommodation to meet your every need. Our accommodation and environment is perfectly suited to families, groups, couples or individuals.Currently there are seven individual private bungalows spread over a 4 acre property. Each bungalow is completely unique and has everything you need for a comfortable stay (Full kitchens, attached bathroom, hot showers, Satellite TV, wifi, and so much more). If you don't have a computer than use our high speed desk to in the attached computer room.We are 200 metres back from the coastal road. The inner lagoon and reef is accessible by kayak at the end of our drive way. The nearest bathing beach(Panapo or Pineapple beach) is 4km away, 7 minutes by car or scooter, 15 minutes by push bike. This is a wonderful white sand beach that offers great swimming and snorkeling, a restaurant overlooking the beach, chairs, toilets, showers and shade all available for your use. 'Marks Place' does free delivery to Pineapple beach and then you can walk back along the beach after an enjoyable day swimming and snorkeling.Most of the surf breaks on Moorea are on the passes. The passes are breaks in the outer reef that surrounds the island. The break in front of Marks(Haapiti) is about 1km from shore. Its a very consistent break and can handle some size. It works on south swell generated from depressions that go under New Zealand. When the swell maxes Haapiti out go round to Taeme which works of big south swells that wrap round the island. See the activity/surf page for more detail.The closest sit down restaurant is a Pizza parlour 15 minutes away by push bike. A number of other restaurants are a 20 min car or scooter drive away. There is a small Magasin(Super Market) 5 minutes away by push bike with all the daily staples available, baguette, milk, fruit and vegetables etc. Mark has an arrangement with the local Pizzeria and Restaurants offering free pickup and delivery on request.We have long-standing experience accommodating and attending to the needs of our clients. We continue to build extensively, while taking into account the requirements of both traveling individuals and families seeking budget accommodation at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marks Place Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marks Place Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing