We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic for surfers especially family's great price and owner did everything to make your stay the best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marks Place Moorea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marks Place Moorea
NewPlymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for surfers especially family's great price and owner did everything to make your stay the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived keen to surf late in the day he sorted our room and had us on our way to surf in about 10 mins, great wave surfer friendly with good barrels.
Came back to our great room what a cool design comfortable with everything we needed, a little supermarket down the road to get supplies and we cooked our own meals in the kitchen. We had 8 in our room and it worked well.
Can't understand where the bad reviews came from.
Will be back again love this spot.
Regards to the team at marks place
Nev and friends,
NewZealand

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    15
    6
    6
    17
See reviews for
13
33
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked Marks place through internet and when we arrived we met the owner Mark about we read so many coments :) Indeed he is a very nice guy and welcoming always trying to make you feel confortable at his place ! Moorea has lot of nature and also there the bungalows are in a lovely garden. We knew in advance that ther is no beach close, but Mark gave us bikes and next beautiful sandy beach we reached in only 20 min by bike. Cristal clear water, sting rays, is a dream. In the are we stayed there are no restaurants close or shops, but there is a small supermarket only 5 min away and the bungalow have a kitchen, so is fine. We did not expect a luxury bungalow of course, the one we got was ok, bit dirty and oldfashion, but we had a great time there! The only thing we did not like was the little black spiders in the bedroom and bites we got, but I mean thats part of beeing in nature also the moskitos which you get obviously more in humid mountains areas than right on the cost where you get a lovely trade wind breeze. Being onsite we found also other acomodation that was closer to beach and to our surprise much cheaper!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjantaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked 2 nights here and were so happy and comfortable, we stayed for 4!

Travelling on a budget - we were surprised that Mark's most affordable hut, was so well equipped with so many homely touches. After learning that he turned his carpentry skills to use and built the whole complex by hand, it fell into place. Our room had a double bed, sofa, coffee table, TVs, microwave, hob, steamer, kettle, a bounty of utensils, literature and travel books. We also had our own en suite bathroom, with clean towels, powerful shower and hot water.

All the windows are cased and firmly sealed with netting to prevent bugs entering your room. Further, Mark sells repellant incense coils, which are a great further deterrent. We had no problems and didn't even bother to erect the mosquito net we carry on these travels.

The garden area is beautifully kept and teaming with wildlife. The shoreline in this area is great for surfing, but for those wanting sunbathing and iridescent lagoons - then pineapple beach is a short bicycle journey or a 10 minute 'Mark shuttle' lift away.

Located on this southerly part of the island, we took the opportunity to go for a walk up into the mountains behind the property. Mark will gladly provide all details for doing so if of interest. It was beautiful and a great opportunity to cool down and see another side of island life.

There are two well stocked shops 5 minutes either direction of Marks too - so home cooking is a joy.

Mark is wonderful company and a talented carpenter. We would definitely advise all those travelling to Mo'orea to take a few days to meet him, his family and wonderful home for yourselves.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at Marks place in Moorea a few years ago. Forget the expensive concrete jungle that is Papeete and head to this idyllic place. I arrived on my own and Mark basically gave me one of the huge bungalows for the same price of the basic room I had booked - really appreciated the gesture.

For the price of the Moorea ferry and a bus ticket, Mark's place was extremely accessible, good value and literally is paradise. Some guy below had a bit of beef about mozzies, worms and spiders but what else can you expect for the region. I must admit that the mozzies on Moorea are vicious little savages so take along plenty of Deet…...

For the best Pizza known to man be sure to visit Daniel Pizza (clockwise on the west)- a small shack by a creek leading to the sea, google the place and read the rave reviews.

I shared a few beers with Mark and the only thing I could fault him on (in a jovial way) was his optimistic view on being able to hitch a lift on the Island. I thought Mark was a great host, very helpful and informative

If your a back packer or on a tight budget I thoroughly recommend the dorm / shared accommodation which was full of travellers from all around the world.

A fantastic idyllic place with a fab host. Cheers Mark and hope to revisit one day

Room Tip: Back packer - head for the dorm. Families will love the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iannai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Loved our week here, kids enjoyed the space and we met a lot of interesting, more independent travellers. Bungalows are beautifully done, all built by the owner Mark who was a cabinet maker. Pricing was reasonable by Polynesian standards and as we were flexible and happy to move chalets around pre booked guests we got a good deal.

Mark was a charming host and pointed us in all the right directions. Our kids loved playing with his locally adopted son.

Moorea is one of the nicest islands and plenty to do over a week. You can get a bus there and walk to the shops but you really need a car. We hired one from Tahiti Auto Centre south of Papeete and took the ferry over and still cheaper than a local hire.

Only negative was quite a few bugs but get the mossie coils on in a few places and not a big problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Iam a surfer, 31 years old from Germany travelling around the world for surfing and Iam really deeply grateful to meet such an open minded guy as Mark is and his very lovely bungalow accommodation.

Honestly at the beginning of my short island trip I wasn´t sure to spent my time and money at Marks place because I read all these negative comments at tripadvisor. There were also a group of people who told me I should not go there but god bless I decided to make my own experience and it was totally worth.

When you just arrive Marks place you can feel the good vibe of these place. Marks place has a huge peaceful garden with 8 different full equipped bungalows on it. All the bungalows were built by Mark himself and no one is similar to the next bungalow. Each one is full of lovely designed details. You can really feel that Mark loves his passion as a craftsmen:) My private bungalow was very clean and also very safe. In my opinion you don´t have to lock your door. The prices of the bungalows in comparison to the rest of the island or Tahiti are very reasonable.

If you are a surfer perfect, welcome to paradise. Rent a kayak by Mark and go for the outer reef break so called "Haapiti". If you are not a surfer it is simply an ideal place to relax and find yourself.

So finally I can totally recommend Mark and "Marks place" to everybody. Don´t listen to the negative comments - there are no words for these bunch of people in my opinion. Go out and make your own experience and I am sure you won´t regret it.

Enjoy

Bastian from Germany

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BastiGeretshauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

my husband and i stayed at marks place for a week in february. it was the rainy season but it's just like florida. if you don't like the weather, wait 15 minutes. ha ha. mark made sure we had access to the rental car agency, he called them for us on his cell and got everything set up for us. he told us where to eat (excellent food at excellent prices) & where to visit and what beaches to go to. he made sure we had what we needed for a grand week. his partner, marietta, was magnificent with her woman's touch. so helpful and so attentive. she would greet the guests, show them to their cottages, answer any questions, run the housekeeping, and anything you needed, she made sure you got right away. i sometimes thought she was a mindreader, very professional and very savvy. we could not have asked for a better week. my husband would take a morning walk and come back with football sized avocadoes, green grapefruits (pamplemoose i believe is the polynesian word) and mangoes that had fallen off the trees for breakfast. we met benoit and johanna, friends of marietta. benoit is a french pastry chef. i ordered a chocolate torte for my husband for valentines from him and we ate the whole thing in 1 sitting. it was truly decadent. mark told us about les tipanier, a restaurant (actually 2 restaurants) 1 serves breakfast and lunch and 1 just serves dinner. amazing food. he also told us about pizza daniel, the best pizza we've ever eaten. daniel is also from france and has an open air stone oven in which he cooks the pizza. i still think about it. our stay in moorea was delightful, our trip of a lifetime. thanks mark & marietta!!! God bless you both!! hope we can come back someday!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlmoorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
6.1 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.6 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marks Place Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marks Place Moorea

Property: Marks Place Moorea
Address: PK 23 5 cote montagne | Haapiti, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marks Place Moorea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Moorea we have the Bungalow accommodation to meet your every need. Our accommodation and environment is perfectly suited to families, groups, couples or individuals.Currently there are seven individual private bungalows spread over a 4 acre property. Each bungalow is completely unique and has everything you need for a comfortable stay (Full kitchens, attached bathroom, hot showers, Satellite TV, wifi, and so much more). If you don't have a computer than use our high speed desk to in the attached computer room.We are 200 metres back from the coastal road. The inner lagoon and reef is accessible by kayak at the end of our drive way. The nearest bathing beach(Panapo or Pineapple beach) is 4km away, 7 minutes by car or scooter, 15 minutes by push bike. This is a wonderful white sand beach that offers great swimming and snorkeling, a restaurant overlooking the beach, chairs, toilets, showers and shade all available for your use. 'Marks Place' does free delivery to Pineapple beach and then you can walk back along the beach after an enjoyable day swimming and snorkeling.Most of the surf breaks on Moorea are on the passes. The passes are breaks in the outer reef that surrounds the island. The break in front of Marks(Haapiti) is about 1km from shore. Its a very consistent break and can handle some size. It works on south swell generated from depressions that go under New Zealand. When the swell maxes Haapiti out go round to Taeme which works of big south swells that wrap round the island. See the activity/surf page for more detail.The closest sit down restaurant is a Pizza parlour 15 minutes away by push bike. A number of other restaurants are a 20 min car or scooter drive away. There is a small Magasin(Super Market) 5 minutes away by push bike with all the daily staples available, baguette, milk, fruit and vegetables etc. Mark has an arrangement with the local Pizzeria and Restaurants offering free pickup and delivery on request.We have long-standing experience accommodating and attending to the needs of our clients. We continue to build extensively, while taking into account the requirements of both traveling individuals and families seeking budget accommodation at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marks Place Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marks Place Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing