We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Surfing”
Review of Marks Place Moorea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marks Place Moorea
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We rented one of the Bungalows at Mark's Place for 10 days. It was the ideal location for my boyfriend who wanted to surf. Every morning he'd roll a kayak and his surfboard down to the beach and paddle out to the break, where was a bouy were he could tie up the kayak. Dolphins jumped in front of his kayak and surfing towards the green mountains, was nothing short of magical. The bungalow was spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed. My only complaint is the little worm-like insects that would crawl under the doors and got ALL over the place at night but we did want nature! We enjoyed the free bikes and used them to get around but I'd suggest renting a motorbike (if not a car) to fully enjoy the island. Mark was busy while we were there and didn't have much time to advise us on places to eat/visit but he was a warm and gracious host. We had no payment issues or conflicts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Marks Place Moorea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Mark pick us up from the airport a bit hig up on the arrival but the hospitality of Mark make us feel wonderful.
Room: Very nice and lovely hotel, we have a bungalow that have kitchen so we can cook by ourself.
Location: Quiet Area, good for surfing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Teerapong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived keen to surf late in the day he sorted our room and had us on our way to surf in about 10 mins, great wave surfer friendly with good barrels.
Came back to our great room what a cool design comfortable with everything we needed, a little supermarket down the road to get supplies and we cooked our own meals in the kitchen. We had 8 in our room and it worked well.
Can't understand where the bad reviews came from.
Will be back again love this spot.
Regards to the team at marks place
Nev and friends,
NewZealand

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked Marks place through internet and when we arrived we met the owner Mark about we read so many coments :) Indeed he is a very nice guy and welcoming always trying to make you feel confortable at his place ! Moorea has lot of nature and also there the bungalows are in a lovely garden. We knew in advance that ther is no beach close, but Mark gave us bikes and next beautiful sandy beach we reached in only 20 min by bike. Cristal clear water, sting rays, is a dream. In the are we stayed there are no restaurants close or shops, but there is a small supermarket only 5 min away and the bungalow have a kitchen, so is fine. We did not expect a luxury bungalow of course, the one we got was ok, bit dirty and oldfashion, but we had a great time there! The only thing we did not like was the little black spiders in the bedroom and bites we got, but I mean thats part of beeing in nature also the moskitos which you get obviously more in humid mountains areas than right on the cost where you get a lovely trade wind breeze. Being onsite we found also other acomodation that was closer to beach and to our surprise much cheaper!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjantaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I booked 2 nights here and were so happy and comfortable, we stayed for 4!

Travelling on a budget - we were surprised that Mark's most affordable hut, was so well equipped with so many homely touches. After learning that he turned his carpentry skills to use and built the whole complex by hand, it fell into place. Our room had a double bed, sofa, coffee table, TVs, microwave, hob, steamer, kettle, a bounty of utensils, literature and travel books. We also had our own en suite bathroom, with clean towels, powerful shower and hot water.

All the windows are cased and firmly sealed with netting to prevent bugs entering your room. Further, Mark sells repellant incense coils, which are a great further deterrent. We had no problems and didn't even bother to erect the mosquito net we carry on these travels.

The garden area is beautifully kept and teaming with wildlife. The shoreline in this area is great for surfing, but for those wanting sunbathing and iridescent lagoons - then pineapple beach is a short bicycle journey or a 10 minute 'Mark shuttle' lift away.

Located on this southerly part of the island, we took the opportunity to go for a walk up into the mountains behind the property. Mark will gladly provide all details for doing so if of interest. It was beautiful and a great opportunity to cool down and see another side of island life.

There are two well stocked shops 5 minutes either direction of Marks too - so home cooking is a joy.

Mark is wonderful company and a talented carpenter. We would definitely advise all those travelling to Mo'orea to take a few days to meet him, his family and wonderful home for yourselves.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at Marks place in Moorea a few years ago. Forget the expensive concrete jungle that is Papeete and head to this idyllic place. I arrived on my own and Mark basically gave me one of the huge bungalows for the same price of the basic room I had booked - really appreciated the gesture.

For the price of the Moorea ferry and a bus ticket, Mark's place was extremely accessible, good value and literally is paradise. Some guy below had a bit of beef about mozzies, worms and spiders but what else can you expect for the region. I must admit that the mozzies on Moorea are vicious little savages so take along plenty of Deet…...

For the best Pizza known to man be sure to visit Daniel Pizza (clockwise on the west)- a small shack by a creek leading to the sea, google the place and read the rave reviews.

I shared a few beers with Mark and the only thing I could fault him on (in a jovial way) was his optimistic view on being able to hitch a lift on the Island. I thought Mark was a great host, very helpful and informative

If your a back packer or on a tight budget I thoroughly recommend the dorm / shared accommodation which was full of travellers from all around the world.

A fantastic idyllic place with a fab host. Cheers Mark and hope to revisit one day

Room Tip: Back packer - head for the dorm. Families will love the bungalows
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iannai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Loved our week here, kids enjoyed the space and we met a lot of interesting, more independent travellers. Bungalows are beautifully done, all built by the owner Mark who was a cabinet maker. Pricing was reasonable by Polynesian standards and as we were flexible and happy to move chalets around pre booked guests we got a good deal.

Mark was a charming host and pointed us in all the right directions. Our kids loved playing with his locally adopted son.

Moorea is one of the nicest islands and plenty to do over a week. You can get a bus there and walk to the shops but you really need a car. We hired one from Tahiti Auto Centre south of Papeete and took the ferry over and still cheaper than a local hire.

Only negative was quite a few bugs but get the mossie coils on in a few places and not a big problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
7.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
6.1 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pension Tarariki
Pension Tarariki
#10 of 13 in Moorea
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
5.9 mi away
Pension Motu Iti
Pension Motu Iti
#16 of 22 in Moorea
143 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marks Place Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marks Place Moorea

Address: PK 23 5 cote montagne | Haapiti, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Maharepa
Price Range: £60 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marks Place Moorea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Moorea we have the Bungalow accommodation to meet your every need. Our accommodation and environment is perfectly suited to families, groups, couples or individuals.Currently there are seven individual private bungalows spread over a 4 acre property. Each bungalow is completely unique and has everything you need for a comfortable stay (Full kitchens, attached bathroom, hot showers, Satellite TV, wifi, and so much more). If you don't have a computer than use our high speed desk to in the attached computer room.We are 200 metres back from the coastal road. The inner lagoon and reef is accessible by kayak at the end of our drive way. The nearest bathing beach(Panapo or Pineapple beach) is 4km away, 7 minutes by car or scooter, 15 minutes by push bike. This is a wonderful white sand beach that offers great swimming and snorkeling, a restaurant overlooking the beach, chairs, toilets, showers and shade all available for your use. 'Marks Place' does free delivery to Pineapple beach and then you can walk back along the beach after an enjoyable day swimming and snorkeling.Most of the surf breaks on Moorea are on the passes. The passes are breaks in the outer reef that surrounds the island. The break in front of Marks(Haapiti) is about 1km from shore. Its a very consistent break and can handle some size. It works on south swell generated from depressions that go under New Zealand. When the swell maxes Haapiti out go round to Taeme which works of big south swells that wrap round the island. See the activity/surf page for more detail.The closest sit down restaurant is a Pizza parlour 15 minutes away by push bike. A number of other restaurants are a 20 min car or scooter drive away. There is a small Magasin(Super Market) 5 minutes away by push bike with all the daily staples available, baguette, milk, fruit and vegetables etc. Mark has an arrangement with the local Pizzeria and Restaurants offering free pickup and delivery on request.We have long-standing experience accommodating and attending to the needs of our clients. We continue to build extensively, while taking into account the requirements of both traveling individuals and families seeking budget accommodation at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marks Place Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marks Place Moorea French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing