We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place with great service”
Review of Hotel Manastir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Manastir
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berovo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Last weekend I was there with a friend of mine and was very surprised!
I could not imagine Macedonia would have a hotel that is so nice.
The service, food and price is just great and there are lots of things to do like sauna, fitness, tennis and more.
The hotel organised a trip way up in the mountains with a great and good English speaking guide, Toni, we had a great (never forget) time eating unique made cheese at 1000 meters up, drinking plum brandy home made.
The owner, Slobodan made this hotel for the love of the place, each room looks different and is build with natural materials from the region
All rooms have a mini bar, LED TV with many channels, Airco.
Also the hotel had a outdoor swimming pool.
I will be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterJS700MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The best place in the town and around the east part of Macedonia. The food is tasty , the host are lovely and frendly and the price is reasonable . You have to tray ,,babina torta,, for desert , malesevska tava and zelnik , dont forget to drink home made alcohol ,,rakija,, wich is made from the local and organic plums :) enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

While this hotel looks pretty great from outside, the room we rented felt like an old dorm room. The hotel is walking distance to "downtown" Berevo, but still a car's drive from the lake and walking trails (the real reason anyone would want to stay there). Also, the restaurant served very mediochre food; the "local specialities" were really nothing special. One important warning for parents of small children: the entire hotel is full of steep stairs, sharp ledges and hazards such as open pools!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MishelO843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Staff at the reception desk and restaurant was very hospitable, smiling and greeting each of their guests, helpful, hotel has typical macedonian traditional design and traditional macedonian food. Value for the money is apsolutely very good, compared with other hotels

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aleksbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I've not stayed at the Manastir as we have a house nearby. However I have viewed the rooms for our guests and they are pleasant clean and well appointed in what I would consider the usual traditional Macedonian style. There always seems to be a lot of deep dark colours, shiny fabric and velvet which is not my personal taste but is fine. The restaurant in particular is very good and so far in 10 years of visits I've not been disappointed. The local specialities are excellent. The only let down for us is that we visit regularly in summer and we'd like to spend the day at the hotel, eating, drinking and ideally using the pool but this is not possible for non residents even for a fee when it is not being used. I've offered to pay but they don't want my money so I don't venture over that often. Nonetheless I think I'll be back next week for an evening restaurant visit, if not later this week for lunch and ice creams.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This place is utterly amazing. Think of the movie Heidi, or Sound of Music. It's up in an alpine setting in a small village, where the kids are so friendly that they dragged me inside to meet their parents. You can hike to a lake, or through pastures and little vegetable gardens, past pristine streams. The hotel has the most magnificent breakfast included, all for 28 euros a night. There were almost no other guests (I was there in early June). The room was gorgeous and exceptionally clean. The staff helped me with bus schedules and finding hiking trails. I had planned to stay only one night, and spent three, feeling great sadness to leave. It's right next door to a monastery that's still in use. Meals were fresh and really cheap -- $6 for dinner including wine. What's not to love??? Okay, the massage was only so-so. But for 10 euros, how can you really complain?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfAlesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you are looking for authentic, but at the same time comfortable accommodation in the area of Berovo, Hotel Manastir is the right choice. They speak English, prepare local tasty dishes (very good prices at the restaurant), and the rooms are nice and clean. I saw there's a spa (steam bath, sauna, hot tub, massage room, small pool), but didn't have time to try it. During my stay, the hosts arranged excursion around the area that included walking, hiking (there are nice waterfalls in the area), biking, kayaking in the Berovo lake, as well as lunch at the Klepalo sheepfold (next to the border with Bulgaria). All in all, I had a very nice and fulfilling stay in hotel Manastir.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josifovskijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berovo
4.5 mi away
Hotel Gogov
Hotel Gogov
#1 of 1 in Pehchevo
6 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Esperanto-Strumica
Hotel Esperanto-Strumica
#1 of 6 in Strumica
4 reviews
23.9 mi away
Panorama Hotel Sandanski
Panorama Hotel Sandanski
#8 of 14 in Sandanski
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Central Hotel, Fitness and Spa
2.7 mi away
Aurora Resort & Spa
Aurora Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Berovo
154 reviews
22.3 mi away
Podgoski An
Podgoski An
#2 of 6 in Strumica
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manastir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manastir

Address: ul. Kiril i Metodij br.6, Berovo, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Eastern Region > Berovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berovo
Price Range: £34 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manastir 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Manastir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing