We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Outside Town”
Review of Aleksandar Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aleksandar Villa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ohrid
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
245 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good but Outside Town”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Aleksandar offers attractive mini-suites, beautifully landscaped grounds, spa facilities and a pool, all in upscale venue. Breakfast in the pleasant restaurant is above average. If your goal is a self-contained resort, you will be satisfied. But understand what the property is: a walled compound with an adjacent busy road (think road noise from suite101). The lake, which is 500 yards beyond the road is not visible nor is there access to it from the hotel. Town is a short taxi ride (2-3 euros), but you must go in to see anyone but hotel guests or to dine in other than the expensive (by Macedonian standards) hotel restaurant or, for that matter, to see the Lake. It's a quality property, but you should decide if it's for you, based on your holiday parameters. The staff is friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    20
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It is rare to find a hotel that looks as good as, if not better than the hotel's publicity shots but Aleksander Villa really does. The gardens and pool are beautifully maintained, the spacious rooms are well furnished and comfortable and all the staff, including the charming owner were helpful and attentive at all times.
We dined in the restaurant one evening during our stay, and whilst the service was on the slow side (but we were in no rush!), the food which was obviously specially prepared using fresh ingredients was delicious and Macedonian wines were surprisingly good too.
The hotel is a short taxi ride from Ohrid itself, and its slightly out of town location meant it was very quiet at night and bedroom windows could be left open.
Ohrid and it's lake are in a lovely setting with the brooding mountains of Albania as a backdrop, altogether a great place to spend a few days, and only 2 hours drive from the capital Skopje.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have views of Ohrid, but there are no lifts so lugging cases up three fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Aleksander exceeded my expectations. Their web site does not do the place justice. Immaculately clean and well-run. There is a limited but very palatable fresh food menu prepared with care and pride. The proprietress who I fondly nicknamed Hyacinth Bucket runs the place with military precision.

However, there are some major niggles -

No waste bin in the bathroom and no flannels
Cheap curtains (without the slightest degree of light prevention) that came off their runners and were tediously put back on every day during our 3 night stay by the room maids
Take eyeshades if you want to sleep because the hotel is illuminated at night and the sun streams in in the morning

Be aware - the hotel is right next-door to a busy dual carriageway

Also the hotel has an arrangement with a large Dutch tour operator so beware of lots of miserable moaning Dutch tourists.

Despite all the above annoyances I heartily recommend this hotel for a short stay. It is good to see and support passionate caring owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theinspectorcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tremelo, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you appreciate a genuine 5-star service in a superior little boutique hotel, you definitely have to spend some time in Aleksandar Villa in Ohrid, Macedonia. Having had the opportunity to taste the service in some of the finest hotels chains in the world (Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, ...) I was impressed with the care and attention that the family owners and their staff demonstrated to their guests. You are not "processed" (although this can be delightful as well) but really pampered as you would do with your best friends. We thought that even the sheets felt like home.
The garden and swimming pool are meticulously maintained, nice big rooms, an extensive breakfast including fresh fruit and vegetables every morning. The lack of lake frontage is largely compensated by the superior experience in the hotel.
Patty and Marc, Belgium

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I tend to have mixed feelings about small boutique hotels but this really was a 5 star experience. The hotel itself and the gardens around it are gorgeous, providing a little paradise outside the town centre. The room was huge, with its own jacuzzi and living room area. Huge comfortable bed, incredible shower, little balcony- perfect! The owners of this great hotel live on site and so are constantly on hand to make sure that all of the guests are having a great time and that everything is perfect. Not once were we asked for our room number, the staff knew who we were and offered a truly personal service. The hotel is located a scenic 25 minute walk to the centre of Ohrid. The food at the hotel was good, but we enjoyed eating out in Ohrid as the prices in the hotel we felt were a little on the high side. The only thing I would not recommend is having a massage as they are not properly set up to deliver this. The massage tables are uncomfortable and they do not have a dedicated treatment room, so other guests wonder in and start chatting while you are having your massage!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a very good time in this hotel. After a day spend in Hotel Inex Gorica, this spa hotel made a nice difference. Big thanks to fantastic and kind cook Diana for cooking for us and making us feel at home and Lidia for looking after us around our stay there. We liked the pool and the kids playground very much. The room was pretty, the shower flooded a bit and the furniture could do with a bit of cleaning before we arrived. Perhaps, I do have higher standards than average traveler. I would recommend the hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciamrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durres
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Sleeped On this Hotel 3-4 years early, There where only a few people Guest there, No Hot Water on Bath Tube, No Central Heating ,Just a Air condition which only ventilate, The hotel Had a Very special Electronic Key to open and Close the Entrance Door, It looked more like a B&B than a Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DerinDurres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ohrid hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa St. Sofija
Villa St. Sofija
#1 of 37 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 37 in Ohrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal View
Royal View
#4 of 37 in Ohrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel City Palace
Hotel City Palace
#5 of 37 in Ohrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Germanoff
Villa Germanoff
#7 of 37 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tino Sveti Stefan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aleksandar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleksandar Villa

Property: Aleksandar Villa
Address: N. Raca b.b., Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ohrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aleksandar Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aleksandar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing