We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointing”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ohrid
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very very disappointing”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

To start with, the name of the hotel is a joke, because only half of the rooms have a 'nice view'; the other half have a view of the parking lot, which is not very nice, to say the least.

Our large international group hit it off quite badly, with several people having to wait quite a while until they were finally given a room, because 'their bookings could not be found'.

The hotel is much too pricey for what it offers. Overall, it looks tired and lacks atmosphere. My room was pretty basic. I (and several other people in my group) had to ask for towels because there was none in the bathroom. The beach is not clean, and access to the lake is outright dangerous, with slippery steps and a shaky handrail.

The worst of all were my experiences with the hotel staff: neglect, apathy and a mercenary attitude are not what I expected to find here, but I had to face them at every step. Part of it, I suspect, was 'systemic' and a result of poor managerial policy.

It is a shame, because I have held a very romantic view of Ohrid and have been its best ambassador in Australia and elsewhere ever since I visited it many years ago.

No longer after this experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikulahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
master_adm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

I’m sorry for your impression from staying in a room that is not facing the lake in Hotel Bellevue, which probably had big influence on the impression of all the other services and Ohrid in general, to look not good enough for you.

It is a fact that not all of the rooms are on the lake side, and the view isn’t the same from each room. I would’ve understood your comments for the room view if you were promised to have a lake view room and you didn’t (which is not a case here).
It’s also a fact that the rooms not facing the lake have a look at the parking lot, but they also have a look at the green mountain “Galicica” (which is also a National park).
I can add that the breakfast room and main restaurant are facing towards the beach, plus the lobby bar terrace is also faced to the lake side, so any guest can enjoy this view if they prefer.

When large groups are checking in, not all can be checked in at one time, so some will have to wait a little longer than the others.
In case you choose to visit our hotel again in the future, we’ll make arrangements to book a lake view room, and hopefully you’ll have better impression for our hotel and the region in general.

Kindest regards,
Atanas Nikoloski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    15
    3
    9
See reviews for
12
21
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We went September last year to Ohrid and stayed in Bellevue. It is very peaceful hotel with excellent service. Staff was very welcoming,helpful and always smiling.
My partner did celebrate his birthday there with a lovely surprise cake by the staff and the cakes in the hotel were just great!
We loved the breakfast area and the swimming pool also.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
master_adm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.
We'll make bigger cake for you the next time you'll be celebrating a birthday or some other anniversary during the stay in our hotel.

All the best,
Atanas Nikolski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was in Bellevue hotel in February, because I was invited to a seminar held there. The room was very good, clean and comfortable plus I got a perfect view to the lake and the mountain peaks covered with snow all around the lake.
The food was excellent, the staff friendly. Too bad it's winter season so the lake is cold for swimming and the outside pools closed, but I played tennis and use the fitness hall in the next building (in Hotel Metropol - which is available because they are same resort).
I must take my family for a summer holiday there, it must be better in the other (warmer) months of the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco_Denouden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

the hotel seems to be old, you feel like you relive the 80's back.

But the biggest problem is the language barrier of the staff... Noone (including the staff at rec.desk) can speak english, french or german...

so you have to communicate with them by using body language or turkish... (they understand turkish better than any other language because of the Ottoman past of the area)

pro's:

beautiful lake view
large and clean rooms
comfortable beds
cheap minibar prices

cons:

outdated decoration style
a little outside of the city (you need to take a cab - takes 10 min and avg. 4-5 EUR)
language barrier of the staff

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brannant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is (as I heard) renovated three years ago and you can tell that by the look of the reception desk and the corridors in the hotel - fluffy rugs and sensor lights.
Everything else is terrible!!!

Let's start from the beach: it's not arranged and you can seriously harm yourself trying to enter the lake. Poorly made ​​slippery stairs are a serious problem!

Pool: I have never seen more blurry pool in my life. Some guy told me that it's because the water is thermal, the other one told me that the water is blurry because of the chlorine?!?!?

Rooms: Terrace was cleaned last time centuries ago. Bathtub also - they grew some special mushrooms on it, I'd say... There's no ventilation in the bathroom. Clothes hooks are not well screwed so when you try to hang up a shirt they fell on your head. TV program reception is lousy. There are two radios in a room - none of them is working. Air conditioner is working, but very bad. It worked all day, but at the evening it was 29°C in the room. The reception staff told us that it's because it's too hot outside!? I was in Tunisia and outside it was 47°C and inside 22°C...
We've entered the room in 10:25AM and the cleaning lady still haven't entered the room (it was dirty from the previous guests). They told us that it's because the guests from Finland had a flight in 5AM?!!?

At night you can hear screaming youth on the beach, someone pushing the rusty terrace chair, or people talking very loud...

I think it was the worst day in a hotel in my life.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GiaBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ohrid hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Hotel Bellevue is a good hotel that equals three star standards somewhere else, but it has what it takes - it's modern, the rooms are spacious, especially those that overlook the lake, and the location is just superb, just off the edge of the lake of Ohrid. The staff is polite and friendly just as all the Macedonians tend to be. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kata23rina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The hotel is a old building, maybe from the 60's. it looks clean and fixed but when you look in the details, they are a lot of small things to take care. The personal in the reception speaks a very very limited English, but the worse is the organization and the charisma which are complete a disaster.
The breakfast and the dinner are included in the price. But are not bad at all, buffet with a better menu in the dinner.

The room was clean and it was done every day. But all the worse ever was the bathroom. It looked clean but for a problem in the drainage, the stink was unbearable and not only in the bathroom but also in the complete room. I spoke to the reception but As I said, the had a complete disaster on the desk so that I could not get other room. And I could not move to other hotel because all was already paid, there was a conference, that means no chance to find other free room in a next hotel.

I can recommend this hotel, because is in from on the Ohrid lake, but before you accept the room, check it out.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajeron78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ohrid hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#3 of 37 in Ohrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal View
Royal View
#4 of 37 in Ohrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa St. Sofija
Villa St. Sofija
#1 of 37 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Lakeside Hotel
Park Lakeside Hotel
#16 of 37 in Ohrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel City Palace
Hotel City Palace
#2 of 37 in Ohrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#14 of 37 in Ohrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: Settlement Konjsko bb, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ohrid
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ohrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellevue was built and opened in 1989 (complete renovation 2007) and is a part of Metropol Lake Resort - Ohrid. It's a 4 star hotel, consisting of five floors with mezzanine, ground floor, underground floor, and super underground floor. Located on the shore of Lake Ohrid with private beach and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Ohrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing