We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation hotel clutted with antiques”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ohrid
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Vacation hotel clutted with antiques”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hotel Belvedere is about 10 minutes drive from the lake in Ohrid, said to be the 2nd oldest lake in the world. There are probably not many nice hotel options if you want to stay within walking distance to the lake. Belvedere is a vacation hotel catering to tour groups. At the back of the hotel appears to be some forested area with lots of trees. There are lots and lots of antique objects stuffed along the hotel lobby. This means this hotel is not new, but it is relatively well maintained except for some technical glitches. Air conditioning in some rooms stop working at night, and shower control appears complicated with all kinds of options. TV reception is not good or the TVs are just old. Overall, there is a rustic feel to the hotel. One night should be alright. Hotel room keys come in chunky chains, and the receptionist insists you deposit them as you step out of the hotel, and no duplicates would be given.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    48
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
20
43
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of an Insight Vacations Tour in July 2013. This hotel is not located near the town of Ohrid or anything for that matter, so stock up on water, or anything else you might need before you arrive. This hotel uses real keys. Our room looked tired and dated and desperately needs updating. We had two twin beds pushed together with separate duvets. Both mattresses were springy and worn out. There was a baloney area with a couple of chairs where we had a tiny glimpse of Lake Ohrid. You can walk across the road to the lake in less than 2 minutes, but it is quite the hill to climb up when you return.The windows in our room were very thin and we heard the traffic from the road all night long as well as the conversations of other people who were out on their balconies - this was all with our windows closed! This hotel has two tiny slow elevators, so just take the stairs. There was supposed to be free wifi in the rooms, but we could only get it to work in the lobby or near the stairs. The bathroom was very small and there was only a shower, no tub. Also the shower nozzle would not stay up, so that made for an interesting shower. We had dinner and breakfast here compliments of our tour. Dinner was described as a "schnitzel" interesting interpretation of the word "schnitzel" because I was expecting a fried thin piece of meat, and what I got was just a piece of meat that seemed to be pressure cooked. Breakfast in the morning was interesting. We walked in and there were only a few people there, then we turned around and the place was packed, people were streaming in the front door of the hotel and having breakfast. I don't know where they all came from, but the buffet was chaotic to stay the least and there were not many food choices on the buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Officially, a four star hotel but in reality I would not give them more than three stars. First, we were "welcomed" (barked at) by the most unpleasant female night receptionist, then we got stuck in the elevator for 5 minutes and then we arrived in our room that had a bad sewage stench coming from the bathroom. I would not even try to use the shower stall because of the streaks of black mold around. They did try to patch them up with fresh caulking though, which made the problem stand out even worse. The balcony door opens onto a small sit-down terrace with a view on the forest, or if you face the opposite side, the divided highway with another (defunct) hotel across the road. There is really nothing around, you do need a car or taxi. The beds were OK, however, only ONE tiny pillow per person. The room had an air conditioning so loud, that despite the mosquito threat (lake area) we decided to sleep with an open balcony door.

Room Tip: It's either the forest view (no sun) or the highway view. The choice is yours, the rooms are gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of a group tour. We had a room on the top floor, with a pleasant view of the lake. The room furnishings are due for refurbishment. However, the room was clean and it was adequate for an overnight stay. Included breakfast was mediocre.

There is not much to do around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed as a couple at Belvedere as part of a three nights four days package for the New Year, with a very convenient price. My positive intention started from the moment I called to ask for a room. The lady was very helpful each time I called her, until we arrived, the check in was easy and their English was perfect, something that you don't find in every hotel in Ohrid.
The hotel is located less than 100m from the lake, but on the opposite side, right on the leg of a small hill. It was a beautiful surprise for us, as a variety from the same old style by the shore hotels we've been to. The room was nice and clean, with a balcony and lake view. Although the air conditioning was controlled manually by a remote control by us, sleeping was a problem for us as it tends to be cold first and then it becomes very hot and then cold again towards the morning. But this could be only personal, affected by the climate.
The atmosphere in the hotel feels cozy and coherent, unlike the cold and old style common for the hotels around this area.
According the food, breakfast was the typical you can find in the Balkan and some European countries, but the variety was great, with a lot of fresh cooked items like sausages, bacon, and several kind of omelets. Although there were a lot of people during our stay, we never felt like we had nothing to eat, even when we got there late. We never took lunch in the hotel, but saw a lot of people doing so. We had the first dinner and 2 gala dinners as part of our package. The first night was typical fillet with a mix of canned vegetables and a nice and fresh made shopska salad (typical macedonian salad). The two gala dinners had nice food too, in normal quantities. The NY eve meal was the best for us because they payed more attention. Although so many people dinning at the same time, there was no lack of good service. They also asked us upfront from the first day we arrived if we had problem with pork meat, so we could ask for something else instead. There were also nice festive activities on 31 and 1, champagne, dancing, live music, fireworks, free festive hats etc.
The most special thing in my personal opinion was the general atmosphere, small, cozy, with mostly red classical interior, with special attention payed to details and decoration. The lobby was very nice, with lots of sitting options and privacy options, a fireplace, 2 pianos and 1 cello, reading nooks, writing desks, making it the perfect space to spend time even if you don't want to go to the city.
The city center and old town are only a 5 min drive or less by car. You can take a walk by the lake right in front of the hotel, you just have to cross the street.
Room service was daily, with nice and understanding ladies, that would come later if we were still asleep.
All in all it was a very pleasant and quiet stay and we'd go back again. I recommend it for families, couples and groups of friends.

Room Tip: Opt for lake view. Second floor was great. All rooms have the same surface, except for the suite whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stylish hotel situated 4 km from Ohrid in the pine forest of St Stefan. Rooms are spacious and recently renovated, with views of the forest or lake. The rooms are quite comfortable. The lobby is interesting, with all kinds of collectibles and musical instruments. Staff speak English and are very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Great rooms with airco, perfect view on the lake from balcony. Extensive and good breakfast menu. The entrance to the hotel was a bit of a climb, but not too extreme. Along the lakeside many shops and restaurats, very cheerful and nice. Crowded beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank bsoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ohrid hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa St. Sofija
Villa St. Sofija
#1 of 37 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal View
Royal View
#5 of 37 in Ohrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel City Palace
Hotel City Palace
#2 of 37 in Ohrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Germanoff
Villa Germanoff
#6 of 37 in Ohrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 37 in Ohrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tino Sveti Stefan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: St. Stefan bb, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ohrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the pine forest of St. Stefan settlement, 4 km from Ohrid and 100 m from the lake cost, Hotel Belvedere is a brand that offers wide range of services and comforts enjoying a splendid views on Ohrid lake.With its perfect balance between classical elegance and modern comforts, Hotel Belvedere offers 89 newly decorated rooms, two seminar halls, one modern hotel restaurant and two traditional restaurants in the center of the town Ohrid, piano lobby bar, antique shop, own parking.As soon as you arrive, you will immediately be immersed in a warm atmosphere and unique ambience. From the elegant lobby with classical instruments and antiques to the comfortable furnished rooms with breathtaking views, you will find a true beauty here.The effect of this combination between essential style and focus on details provoke on every guest a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing