We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you want to stay someplace that is clean, nice, and on the beach in Elmina, then Coconut Grove is a good choice. They take advantage of their ocean front property here, the restaurant and bar both face the sea. I was staying in a room in the main building, which was fine and comfortable, but for $130/night, I was expecting a few more luxuries.

We did walk around the property a bit and I saw that they have beach front cottages which are right on the ocean and have porches facing the sea. These looked a step up from the rooms we had (though I didn't see inside) and seemed quite lovely.

The food was more than decent. The breakfast buffet had a full range of options (pasteries, omlet station, fresh fruit, etc), and the seafood was excellent. Try the grilled lobster with garlic butter - simply amazing! And you get 2 lobsters for 24 cedis, so it's good value for money as well.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank n0madsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

The grounds of this hotel are what make it great. Restaurant right by the sea, nice pool, golf course, crocodile put.......

The food is pretty good quality at the hotel and the menu is extensive. Buffet breakfast was great.

The traders on the beach are a nice bunch of guys and good for acquiring a few bits of tat before you return.

And the location is ideal for the nearby castles and kakum national park.

The rooms let the hotel down slightly, but given you are in rural Africa, they are still pretty good quality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent a few nights here and had a great time. As everyone has mentioned the food is great, including the breakfast buffet. They have gone to an awful lot of effort to ensure your stay is as comfortable and stimulating as possible, with a golf course, crocodile pit (seriously), rabbit enclosure (is that how they feed the crocs?), stables for pony trekking and a seriously nice pool.

The rooms are fine, with good showers and powerful aircon, but the ceilings are too thigh to hang a mosquitoe net net in most of the rooms, which could be a problem. The free wifi is a massive bonus too.

One other thing, the guys who try and sell you tat on the beach are really friendly and certainly up for a good haggle, especially 'Rasta Tony'!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Spent two nights here, a good base in Elmina to go visit the Elmina Castle, Kakum Rainforest snd the Cape Coast Castle... Hotel is located away from the buseling action of Elmina... There is a golf course, you can do horseback riding, there is a crocodile pond ( why, i don't know)... Beach, Pool, restaurant, everything you need for a peaceful retreat...
Food at the restaurant was so-so, service is a bit slow, limited cocktail drinks at the bar, had a pina colada (meh)...
My room was nice, clean and quiet, what more could I ask for..,

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castafiore002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Elmina is already interesting, but Coconut Grove worked out perfectly for us: nice large rooms, everything worked, large showers, good pool, lovely staff, free and fast wifi, good walks on the beach. Food lovely (especially grilled fish) - could happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rennew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have been staying nearby, and had lunch here twice. The food is good - delicious tilapia, reasonable steak (always difficult in Ghana), top-notch pizza. Not everything is to the same standard, however: e.g. the chicken curry was poor. Service is slow and not overly charismatic, and the environs are not as charming as the rest of Elmina: the Coconut Grove feels very much like a third tier foreigners' beach club. But you can get gorgeous Atlantic views and local authenticity elsewhere. For us and for our kids the food here was the draw.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We eat supper here after visiting Elmina Castle or Kakum National Park. It has a nice ocean view and breeze. Food is good and prices are reasonable...closer to US prices than when I first started going to Ghana twenty years ago. So were the nightly rates...so now we stay at Anomabo Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank rtwilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
7.1 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
244 reviews
9 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#5 of 9 in Cape Coast
126 reviews
12.5 mi away
Anomabo Beach Resort
Anomabo Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anomabo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beach Resort

Address: Mbofra Akyinim Street, Elmina, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Price Range: £115 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Grove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Beach Resort and Conference Center is located on a sandy beach in the Historic Town of Elmina. Guests have access to an 18 hole Golf Course, Horse back riding and can swim in the Pool and on the Beach. Also available are Board games, table and lawn tennis, beach volley and soccer as well as a fully equipped gymnasium. We have an animal sanctuary with crocodiles, peacocks, rabbits, parrots and other wild life. We have a variety of rooms to suit honeymooners, families or groups as well as kids play areas and swimming pool. Our Conference Halls can host from 15 Guests to 300 for a meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coconut Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beach Hotel Elmina
Coconut Grove Beach Elmina
Coconut Grove Beach Resort Ghana/Elmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing