We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempted To Keep Mayoka Lodge a Secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tempted To Keep Mayoka Lodge a Secret!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I would love not to share any info about this fabulous Boutique Hotel for fear it will become too well known! We just returned from 7 of the most pleasant days I`ve ever spent on vacation. John and Barbara welcome guests personally. Upon check in, guest receive a cell phone with the number of the lodge and the hotel`s favorite cab driver Alex on speed dial. Snorkeling equipment, kayaks and all sorts of other amenities are available free of charge to hotel guests. The beach is right out front with easy access to great snorkeling. Just down the beach is Anthony`s Key for dolphin watching. Each night, the hotel chef- Ben- works his magic. A classically trained chef, he has made the restaurant a popular dining location.

The hotel overlooks the water and the service is first class. We stayed in the Mayoka and Cycad rooms- both beautiful. John and Barbara arranged for massages, diving and fishing. Whatever we needed was accommodated.

Can`t recommend this resort highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySmithCannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you Emily. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and your family. I must say that your daughter is a joy and your husband's donation of fishing equipment is already being enjoyed! We hope to see you again at the Lodge!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
129
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a layover in Roatan on our way back from Guanaja. What we thought would be an uneventful 24 hours turned out to be one of the highlights of our vacation. The managers John and Barbara were excellent hosts with tons of great recommendations!

Upon check in we were escorted to our beautiful room. We stayed in the Royal suite which has a view of the ocean, cold air conditioning, a huge world class bathroom with a claw foot tub, ocean side sitting deck, incredibly comfortable king sized bed, couch, TV/DVD player.

After putting our bags in the room, we were issued a local cell phone with the number for a local taxi driver they have teamed up with. If you are familiar with Roatan taxis, you will understand how valuable this is! Alex was awesome and it was incredibly convenient to be able to call him anytime for a hassle and haggle free ride wherever we needed to go. A couple of times he was busy but had his brother come get us for the same fair haggle free price. What a cool feature! Why don't more hotels do this?

We also enjoyed using the hotel's infinity pool overlooking the ocean and using their complimentary kayaks and snorkle gear, and lounging in the tree top hammock. Although the first day we went snorkeling we were in the wrong place and I was disappointed, on the second day we found the reef, and had an amazing time!

Our stay even included a gourmet breakfast (egg crepe omelet, fresh squeezed OJ, coffee, fruit), and a huge complementary pina colada upon check in. I know this review sounds too good to be true and that is how we felt too. It is really a first class operation. Other B&B owners take note... this is how its done!

Lastly, make sure you make a reservation at their on site restaurant. It is quite possibly the best place to eat in Roatan. While a bit on the pricey side, it is justified by the food quality, service, and incredible sunset view from the tree tops.

Next time we will make this a destination instead of a layover!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great, but the Royal suite was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you Donald for your thorough and kind review.We too wish you could have stayed longer as our conversations were fascinating and informative! Come back soon!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Mayoka Lodge for a week and had a terrific time. Managers John and Barbara were friendly and helpful when called upon with great recommendations and helpful ideas (we had never been to Roatan before), and they kept a very mellow and relaxed atmosphere. The villa and the grounds are beautiful and tasteful; there were a few days where we just hung out at the lodge enjoying the views of Sandy Bay, which is a quiet and calm beach with great snorkeling and kayaking that don't require much expertise. We stayed in the Mayoka Suite, which has a large window overlooking the bay- we just kept the blinds open for the view from the bed for the whole week, night and day- can't be beat. They also had a great driver, Alex, who took us everywhere we needed to go on the island for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Mayoka Suite has a fantastic view, but if you want some more private outside space, you should go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgrade18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you! It was a pleasure to meet you both! When DC gets unbearable, come back to the Mayoka Suite and Ben's cooking. More changes going on at Mayoka with the new Seagrape Suite nearing completion which I know you would love with it's unique "widow's walk" rooftop deck..

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I echo the sentiments of all the other positive reviews. I would like to add that we toured all the other "better" hotels and none came close to the quality of Mayoka.

If you are a diver, dive with Tranquilseas, which is right next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words! It always helps to have a high a quality dive center next to us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and even took the time to compare us. Thanks again and come back soon!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My Girlfriend and I had the most amazing time at Mayoka Lodge, and in Roatan in general. We started the trip at Mayoka and had planned to stay at three different places during our visit, but we enjoyed our time there so much that we decided to return to Mayoka and spend our last few days on the island with our gracious hosts John and Barbara.

I would definitely return to the luxurious and quiete Mayoka Lodge and recommend it to all travelers. Below are some highlights.

Beautiful, comfortable and very clean:
This is not a hotel, it is a small beachside villa that really makes you feel like a King, sipping Pina coladas, watching the birds and butterflies, listening to the waves high up on a poolside terrace. Rooms are beautiful, beds comfortable, and the entire property is is wonderful condition.

Delicious, healthy and made to order: Although John and Barbara will encourage you to sample the many different restaurants on the island, we kept going back to the wonderful creations for chef Ben in the kitchen. (Frangipani Boutique Restaurant) Breakfast was always cooked fresh for us despite how late we overslept, and we both really enjoyed Sushi night which brings in guests from all over the island.

Welcomed with open arms: I challenge you to stay at the Mayoka and not be sad to leave. This is a much different atmosphere from resorts and all inclusives. You will be greeted warmly by John and Barbara who were very attentive, always available to help organize day trips, pour a glass of wine, and entertain. They are living their island dream on Roatan and we were really made to feel a part of the family.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, they're all amazing, but the top floor, honeymoon suite has the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMachine56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, General Manager at Mayoka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for your review! There have been several occasions when guests leave for another hotel as planned and them come back! We are happy to report we now have 4 rooms with the addition of the Frangipani Suite. New pictures of all renovations to the lodge and the rooms to be posted to the website soon! So happy you chose to come back--it really makes us feel special! Come back soon!

John & Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week over New Years and had a wonderful time. I spent a lot of time looking at hotel options before I came, and I selected Mayoka based on the focus on luxury and relaxation.

We wanted a place to stay that was private, hassle-free, and very comfortable, as well as in close proximity to town so that we did not feel too isolated. This place was perfect. Beautiful views from the bar and restaurant and some of the best food we had on the trip. The location in Sandy Bay is on a nice strip of beach with several docks that you can swim off of. Our dive center was right next door so we could walk over after breakfast to get started everyday. All of the guests were very friendly, as well as the rest of the staff. Prior to arriving I was apprehensive that the size of the hotel and small amount of rooms would make me feel obligated to spend time with all of the other guests (not that I didn't necessarily want to do that), but more so I didn't want to be obligated to do it or feel awkward about not doing it. Upon arrival I was quickly relieved to see everyone was doing their own thing, and there is a nice balance between socializing when you want and having the private time we came there for.

Barbara and John were extremely helpful in coordinating our activities and making us feel comfortable. It's always nice to be able to talk to people who know the island well and not have to rely on a tour book. Also, I have to give a special shout out to Alex who is the driver that assists Mayoka guests in getting places. I could call Alex anytime day or night to get a ride to or from the hotel and he'd be right over. Mayoka provided a local cell phone, which made the process seamless.

We will definitely come back to Mayoka next time we are in Roatan and were very happy with our decision!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tredodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, General Manager at Mayoka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for your review! You are quite right that we are fortunate to be in a quiet location yet close to the "action" (if you can call it that!) if so desired. Alex has been a blessing for getting people to and from the lodge. Glad you chose us and we are happy to have met you guys! Come on back soon!

John & Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is a true hide-a-way where one could lose themselves. The owners and managers are wonderful and will make you feel at home. Crank your heart rate down and turn your mind off to your outside world to feel the total impact of this "Lodge". The chef is excellent and the service is great. Views are super and there is a private beach. The bar is comfy-cozy and the infinity pool is divine. Just a wonderful place to hold up.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, General Manager at Mayoka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We now have the perfect adjective for our bar...comfy-cozy! We love it! We strive for laid back luxury here at Mayoka Lodge and are happy that you found this exact feeling during your stay. Come back and see us!

John & Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
603 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 8 in West End
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayoka Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayoka Boutique Hotel

Property: Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Address: Mayoka Road | Sandy Bay, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayoka Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roatan is unique and so is Mayoka. Experience the magic of our uniquely elegant casual atmosphere. self contained in an adult oriented luxurious 9,000 sq. ft. beachfront TripAdvisor Platinum level GreenLeaders boutique hotel. Nestled on Roatan's pristine and unspoiled northwest coast in the Western Caribbean, this world acclaimed award winning sixn-suite exclusive hotel combines the luxury of a private location with the personalized service and attention to details that discerning travelers have come to expect. Located just 15 minutes from the Juan Manuel Galvez International airport (RTB) which is served by United, American, Delta and Avianca Airlines, Mayoka is a peaceful oasis of beauty and tranquility, where guests will enjoy the soothing sounds of the nearby surf, gentle trade-wind breezes, breathtaking sunsets and a spectacular panoramic vista of the turquoise Caribbean Sea. We offer an ideal setting for romantic getaways and honeymoons, family reunions and corporate retreats. Amenities include complimentary airport transfers, personal or private dive instructor with scuba equipment rentals available, on site Jeep rental, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, infinity pool, private dock, a tennis court and on site fine dining and unique specialty cocktails at our al fresco treetop Frangipani Restaurant and Compass Bar and Grill overlooking the sea. There is also Palagio Investments, an onsite Real Estate Agency for those looking to invest. Services, activities and excursions within walking distance on the beach or along the main road include a a full service SPA, two additional restaurants, Carambola Botanical Gardens and Hiking Trails, the Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences for horseback riding and dolphins activities. West End, a small beach community with gift shops, dive centers, restaurants and bars is a five minute ride. The white sandy beaches of the popular cruise ship destination and resort community of West Bay is reachable via water or land taxi from West End in an additional 10 minutes. Our accommodations include three large suites within the hotel near the infinity pool and four cottages with private outdoor decks, three of which are on the beach. All have over-sized walk in showers and three have deep soaking claw-foot tubs. Each is air-conditioned with quiet efficient mini splits, in room safe, complementary WiFi, Bluetooth speaker as well as complimentary in room movies with over 500 titles and cable TV. We also offer a complementary Roatan cell phone for our guests use, facilitating transportation arrangements both to and from the hotel with Alex and his team of private cars and drivers at fixed rates set by by the Roatan Taxi Association. In addition, we also have a USA VoIP phone in the hotel reception for our guests complementary use to keep in touch with friends and family (or even work if necessary!) during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayoka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayoka Boutique Hotel Honduras/Roatan - Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing