We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayoka Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Puerta Azul(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bahia Resort(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$642
US$621
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pirates Den Hotel(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagrape Plantation Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lands End(West End)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocolobo(West End)
US$105
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Half Moon Resort(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Los Corales(West End)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
207
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolroyal suitelocal cell phoneboutique hotelwest endevery morninggreat view of the oceanwonderful hostsbeach accessoctopusgreat friendsstayed here for a weeksnorkeling equipmentpurified watercaribbean seaisland tourfeel like family
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

John and Barbara Morris make this property special. It's like visiting your best friends! Roatan has lots of hotels, condos, VRBOs, blah, blah, blah. But there is only on Mayoka Lodge!

PS......the Sunset is unforgettable.

Room Tip: The Sea Grape is awesome. King size bed, right on the beach, private roof-top hammock!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Well....meeting you and your lovely "better half" was truly a pleasure. Especially since I got to play some country music on the radio! Look out--we may be heading to Tennessee!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Let's face it, island destinations in developing countries, struggle to meet expectations. Thus, Mayoka was a pleasant surprise. Our hosts were prompt, courteous and organized. We were issued an local cell phone with the Mayoka's number and a local taxi service programmed into the phone. Aside from the savings, the ability to quickly connect was gratifying. John and Barbara know the island well in addition to what to avoid. This is important, as well. Our room (Sea Grape) was wonderfully adorned and all amenities functioned properly. The staff was eager to assist yet maintained a courteous distance. My recommendation is to interact with the Mayoka, well in advance for any special needs or requests, since logistics are rather extended and can be complicated. Discuss with John and Barbara your envisioned itinerary, even if you desire to do zero. They know the lay of the land and what is achievable and what is not. Do not miss their Snapper dinner. It is an incredible performance on the palate.

In summary, I don't believe one can find a better location, quality of services or host/hostess on the island. One can certainly fare worse.

Room Tip: Choose a room with plenty of shade.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertFrancoCRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you Robert. The Seagrape has quickly become a favorite and you guys were the first! Next up, the Cahoon and the Jasmine! Come on back and see what we are doing next!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just returned from a week at the Mayoka Lodge. The pictures do not do it justice. Our room was beautiful (the Franagapi room), as was the dining area, pool, and garden. It was so peaceful, I could truly unwind and enjoy my time off. The food was excellent and the staff was very kind and helpful. The bed was very comfortable (I sleep on a memory foam at home so I'm usually miserable when I travel).

There was good snorkeling right out front and we used the dive center next door for scuba. You are directly on the beach when you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyd1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you Sunny--it was a pleasure to have you guys here even it was by accident! We are so happy we could make things special for you. Come back soon--even more changes (good ones)

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had an amazing one week stay at Mayoka for our honeymoon and are so thankful we chose this place. We spend the week relaxing, snorkeling, exploring the island, and drinking mojitos and piña coladas by the pool. High points including borrowing a kayak and snorkels and paddling out a short way to the reef for some amazing fish and corals, then paddling to Anthony's Key to watch the dolphins, then watching sunset from the water. Our room was spotless, and modern, with a wonderful view. The sunsets from the deck are unparalleled and the salt water soaking pool is lovely. Our dinners and drinks at Frangipani restaurant were a fun splurge (thanks Terry, Ben, and Glen Jr!) and the breakfasts, particularly the baleadas (homemade tortillas), were delicious (thanks Rosa!) It's a little tough to get a drink here before dinnertime, but there are great places on either side of Mayoka to go for those. The hosts give you a phone and the contact for a great driver (Alex) who, with his brother, will take you anywhere, anytime. The hotel has a great collection of movies to watch in your room, as well as guide books and maps to help you relax or explore as you choose. Thanks Barbara and John for making our honeymoon such a memorable experience, we couldn't have been more pleased!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joshy_the_Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you Josh and we are so happy to have met you and were able to make your honeymoon special. We have passed all your comments to the staff and you will happy to know Glenn is now our full time bartender starting at noon! Come back soon as Glenn has created our new signature drink, the Night Jasmine, made with fresh Jasmine flowers. Really delicious!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We planned to spend our ten year anniversary at Mayoka in October. We were not able to travel due to unforeseen circumstances. John and Barbara were wonderful in assisting us with rescheduling and helpful with planning every detail. All you have to do is arrive - they will take care of the rest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank srbelle24014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayokaLodge, Manager at Mayoka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We were glad you were able to make it after all and it was lovely to meet you both. We love your last comment as that is what we strive to do. We may make it our new "slogan" with your permission of course! Hope to see you back at the lodge soon!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews