We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expat haven with great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Parrot Restaurant

Blue Parrot Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Sandy Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Asian, Pub, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“expat haven with great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

in the middle of sandy bay on the main road, this place looks a little ropey as you drive by but is run by a lovely english lady and serves excellent island food. lots of ex-pats hang out here and they have evening events e.g. card nights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
French Harbour, Islas de la Bahia, Honduras
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I ordered Jamaican style chicken with beans and rice and was surpised by a spicy basilic and mild habanero hot caribbean taste of the chicken and coconut in the rice and beans. I had a healthy green salad accompanying my food with fryed plantain patacones. The size of the plate was good and the price was fair. The owner very closely monitored the service and service was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lrodriguez0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile AL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stopped at the Blue Parrot for a late lunch while visiting the west end of the island. The setting was quite and relaxing and we had almost the entire outdoor dining area to ourselves. The waitress was attentive and kept a beautiful genuine smile on her face as she interacted with us. We both ordered shrimp dishes that were excellent (coconut shrimp for my husband and curry shrimp for me). Prices were very reasonable in comparison to what we pay in the US (fast food in the US costs as much as our lunch). We like to get off the beaten path and try to avoid the spots that seem to cater mostly to tourist and this was the perfect spot for our late afternoon lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank speteachmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Great Dining at the Blue Parrot Restaurant, Sandy Bay Roatan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had a great time eating here with friends. They often play a dice game which was sooo much fun. The service was awesome, even when there was a crowd. I liked it so much I wanted to keep going back... why go to a new place and wonder if it'll be as good? Can't wait to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Parrot is good and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's a little off the beaten path, but this restaurant is a good value with large portions of good food. Try the Jerked Chicken with rice or the Curry Chicken if you like it spicy! The grounds out back are also a great place to pick up ripe mangos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Parrot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blue Parrot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing