We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dive Resort EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Dive Resort EVER”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

this is our second trip to AKR. The staff is so accommodating; the rooms are spacious and wonderful; the diving is off the hook!!!! Marvin spoils the heck of you when you are a guest there. We will be returning again soon! Mandy and the staff just rock. We enjoyed the Ixora spa during this visit. Our masseuse was fabulous and getting a massage on a tropical island was well worth it!!! The entire experience is almost beyond words!!!! Thank you again AKR!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zellerranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    230
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
256
423
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We signed up for this through Carnival and it did not disappoint. The site is beautiful and the dolphins were fun. One thing I loved about this was that the dolphins are not captive. They are taken out to free water every day and they can leave if they want. They've only had 2 dolphins leave and they have adopted one that wanted to stay. The staff is fun and friendly and it was a wonderful excursion!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We visited AKR recently and it really surprised me. As a diver I like resorts that are "centered" around diving. There are places there to do most anything related to diving. You can also find a corner to rest and read a book in a beautiful garden or under a shade. The people are fantastic and actually seem to love their jobs. the dive-masters are true professionals and never act rushed. They pride themselves on making each dive memorable so I rate this place as TOP NOTCH!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmbln_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The island of Roatán is full of dive centers but there is no one like AKR...here you can feel and experience how a real full throttle diving operation must run. i took a Divemaster internship for 5 weeks and i have to say it was way more than i could have imagined, Pete, Tati and crazy John were the best mentors showing an amazing level of professionalism. they only take a couple of interns at a time which keeps learning process very personal. The reef is in great shape with an unbelievable variety of species (big chances of whale shark and eagle ray encounters right in front of AKR) and local divers really make a big effort to keep it that way, wreck diving, beautiful sand patches and even a sunk aircraft are there waiting, so if you have any doubt about where to go for your next dive trip or training, just go AKR, i promise you will also write down a review here. Mauricio

Room Tip: Rooms on the key have shore diving acces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elpolloxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I recently competed my PADI IDC Staff Instructor course with Anthony's Key GoPro program. I was ready to take the next step in my diving career and could not have asked for a better learning experience.I went through my IDC Staff with Tait, the course director at Anthony's Key Resort. She teaches a very personalized and professional Instructor Development Course, as well as making it fun and enjoyable at the same time. She keeps the groups small and I believe that makes a huge difference. We had 2 IDC candidates during that course and it was great to be able to learn from each other, get to know one another, and help each other succeed as well. Tati is super passionate about diving and it shows in her teaching. She doesn't just train good instructors, she makes sure you are going to be a great instructor. If there is something you don't understand she makes sure to take the time to help you in whatever you need.
Throughout the course, my confidence as a dive instructor skyrocketed and I could not wait to teach my next course. In the IDC Staff course, you will sharpen your skills and knowledge as an instructor and learn what is involved in teaching an IDC. It is an awesome feeling when the candidates pass their Instructor Exam and you know you played a part in helping them become instructors. The IDC Staff made me more passionate about teaching diving and I am looking forward to staffing more IDC's.
The diving facilities at AKR are also exceptional and being able to do courses there helps you learn what it is like to work in a top-rated dive shop/resort.
The GoPro program at AKR offers professional diving courses ranging from Divemaster to Master Instructor. Whether you are just starting your professional diving path or looking to continue your diving career, check out GoPro Anthony's Key because you won't regret training with them!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capelli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was the tour of a lifetime! Interatcing with the dolphins is a must on your bucketlist. Perfect excursion for the kids. Not scary at all. The beach is right out of a canvas painting. Anthony Key resort is so beautiful I couldn't even believe it just tried to drink it all. in. 20 dolphins that we got to share the water with and one that we got to play with--Baily. So cute. Loved the picture taking part. And the pictures were not even that expensive, especially compared to some of the other places like Cozumel. There were sea shells everywhere, huge ones too. Love this place. Would love to come back and stay in one of the over water bungaloos. It even rained on us off and on (a nice warm and tropical rain, and no one was complaining). They really give you a lot of time to get to know your dolphin. You can pet and learn tricks. It was a great experience and worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

After doing extensive research on different dive resorts on Roatan, I decided to do my Divemasters and Instructors Development Course with Anthony's Key Resort. I could not have made a better decision. I arrived mid October and was picked up at the airport by the AKR dive resort Course Director and her husband Pete who is the Head Instructor. They are a lovely couple that welcomed me into the AKR "family" the minute I got there. They were nice to stop by the grocery store with me before we made our way to the accommodation they had set up for me (a 4 bedroom house with some instructors who work at AKR). The accommodation was lovely I spent the next 6 weeks doing the Divemaster course. I had 1:1 instruction with the head instructor. He is incredible instructor and I have full confidence in saying that he is the best instructor that I have seen in action to this day! I feel very lucky to have learned from him and to have gotten such individualized attention. He truely wants to train the best. I then moved on to the two week instructors development course with Course Director Tati. This woman is a top notch Course Director who has a deep passion for what she does and the incredible program she has created at AKR. Becoming a instructor has it's times of frustration and she was so supportive every step of the way! When I got to the IDC it was a breeze and I ended up scoring the highest in the whole exam in multiple components. Both Pete and Tati went above in beyond to be exceptional instructors and mentors to me and I could not have asked for a better experience in those 2.5 months. I truely was trained to be a competent PADI professional. Once I became a Instructor I was even able to help out for a week at the resort and teach courses (called the work experience).

Now on to the diving... AKR is a very professional and world renound dive operation. There are many boats that go out to different dive sites on both the north and south side of the island. I was able to help out in discover scuba diving, open water, and advanced courses. I was also allowed the occasional fun dive and lion fish hunt with Pete :) The diving on Roatan is incredible and my favorite is probably night diving with the strings of pearls!

If you are looking for a incredible experience where you learn to be a extremely competent PADI professional, look no further!!! AKR is where you want to to be on so many levels. The location is perfect and the staff are so friendly and welcoming. I HIGHLY recommend it!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoloKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
0.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
4.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Key Resort

Property: Anthony's Key Resort
Address: Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay, Roatan IB3107, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anthony's Key Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the island of Roatan, Anthony's Key Resort is a legendary tropical wonderland where lush greenery rustles in breezy sea air. Pristine beaches rim turquoise waters. And wooden bungalows perched above a tranquil lagoon offer guests incredibly scenic views and a sense of perfect disconnection from everyday life back at home. For over 40 years, this family-run paradise has been home to divers in search of unspoiled waters, and lovers of natural adventure in all its forms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Anthony's Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Key Hotel Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Hotel Roatan
Anthonys Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort Honduras/Roatan - Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing