We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Garden...TAKE THE GUIDED TOUR...Leisurely Few Hours...Educational and Entertaining”

Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
Ranked #7 of 20 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 100% natural 40 acres of the Carambola Botanical Gardens and their many jungle trails offer a perfect place for hiking, wildlife and scenic photography, eco tours, bird watching, nature studies, and of course, relaxation. So, "take a walk on the wild side" and watch the playful Monkey La La scurry along jungle trails as you enjoy flowering plants, orchids, medicinal plants, exotic spices, fruit and nut trees, including the very popular "Chocolate Tree" and the world famous Honduran mahogany tree.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Garden...TAKE THE GUIDED TOUR...Leisurely Few Hours...Educational and Entertaining”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I don't have time to write all the things that I love about this place. I will post several pictures.

I highly recommend taking the guided walking tour. It is just long enough, and it will give you a much better understanding of their culture.

This is a gorgeous garden...Honduran Mahogany Trees, Chocolate Trees, Orchids, exotic spices, fruit and nut trees. The birds are amazing.

And the tour ended with some fresh mango and pineapple. Awesome!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    77
    17
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountains of NC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you want to see a snapsot of the floras”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not as "professional" as most Botanical Gardens but a nice walk thru to see the "collection " of the local plants and flowers. Worth it if visiting

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wm_lockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delightful nature retreat”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

While diving at Anthony's Key Resort, my husband and I took time to spend an afternoon across the street from the resort at the Carambola Botanical Gardens. The owner and curator, Bill Brady, was there to greet us and gave us an overview of the property and its history. The gardens are supported mainly by entry fees ($10 per person or $18 with a guide at the time of our visit). The garden paths feature many native plants, including orchids, palms, teak and mahogany trees, local fruit trees like soursop, plantain and mango, and my personal favorites the cacao (think chocolate!) and cinnamon trees. The plants are well labeled and there are numerous hummingbird feeders, where the resident Green-Breasted Mango and Canivet's Emerald can be easily seen. We wanted to see the Monkey Lala lizards, but only heard them scurry off at our approach. Several covered areas provide refuge from the occasional rainstorm, and there are benches strategically located along the paths. If you want a more energetic hike, take the trail to the top of Carambola Mountain, which offers panoramic ocean views. We really enjoyed our time in the gardens, and it is clearly a labor of love by the owners.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moody, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cruise Excursion”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was a cruise excursion off the Carnival Conquest for Isla Roatan Honduras. We chose this tour that also had an island sightseeing feature. Our guide and driver, John and Fordie, took very good care of us. You are transported from Mahogany Bay (port) to the gardens and the west end of the island by 15 passenger bus. Very comfortable! John was very informative about the gardens and his' islands history. The gardens were amazing. The island tour was nice but there was a lot of pressure selling and you saw a lot of poverty to the island. All in all, I would still recommend this trip. We really enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbay ,Roatan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Walking among beauty”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I love this tour and try and bring friends and family when they visit. It is such a wonderful tour to see all of the lush plants and learn a little about each of them is so enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lovergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails also viewed

 

Been to Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing