We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roatan Institute for Marine Science (RIMS) is ideally located for marine study on the northwest coast of Roatan where over 30 miles of fringing and barrier reefs, seagrass beds, mangroves and shoreline are home to an astonishing profusion of life. Founded in 1989, the primary objective of this facility is the preservation of Roatan's natural resources through education and research. In the past decade RIMS has established itself as a dedicated teaching institution. Our facility is visited year-round by colleges, universities and high schools from abroad to study tropical marine ecosystems and the bottlenose dolphins we house at our facility. Many programs are for academic credit, some are in conjunction with other field research stations, and others are simply introductory courses to the ecology of coral reefs in the Caribbean.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin Swim”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

amazing experience, once in a lifetime! We were educated on the dolphins got to touch and feed them and then had a free swim/snorkel with them, they would come up and let you touch them, or you could dive down and grab seagrass and the dolphins would take it from your hand!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    55
    22
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penn Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dolphin Snorkel is a Once in a Lifetime Experience”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We purchased the dolphin snorkel and are so glad we did. You start with a half an hour dolphin encounter where you are introduced to a dolphin in a small group. You can use your cameras during the encounter but not during the snorkel. Afterwards, you can snorkel for a half an hour with a group of dolphins including their babies. I will never forget this. We snorkeled free with the dolphins and it was thrilling to see them swimming in groups of 5 or more with their babies alongside and to hear their squeaks underwater. They come up and check you out and you can touch them as they glide by. There are warm outdoor showers afterwards. They also have lockers available at no extra cost. You can purchase photos afterwards which are sent to you as a zip file. You got a lot of photos for $50.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank minic00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dolphin snorkel was awesome!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The kids did the dolphin encounter with snorkel at AKR. Initially, I thought it was overpriced but the kids absolutely loved it! The pictures were amazing. We bought them all. Compared to other dolphin swing experiences (ie San Diego sea world) this was awesome. I tend to avoid tourist traps but this was really great. I would recommend it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pivo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“dolphin encounter and snorkel.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Great for families!! We had 5 children under 8 yrs old. Perfect experience and learning about dolphins. Older children did snorkel experience which they loved. Allowed us and younger to stay on key on the beach. a must do in Roatan.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisaloy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best beach &dolphin excursion”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We first visited Anthony's Key for the dolphin encounter. The encounter was in the ocean, not a pool like many others. The area roped off for the dolphins was enormous. A natural setting for these beautiful creatures. It was very informative as well. Then off to Tabyana beach which was gorgeous. The ride is 20 min to A. key and another 25 min to Tabyana. We did this through Norwegian cruise line. Loved it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing