We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to be back already!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We held our wedding ceremony at Tranquilseas and it was absolutely perfect! Chris and Monica made us feel right at home immediately and we almost felt like part of their family. In these days of corporate stamped out resort hotels, Tranquilseas is a unique gem that also has a very environmentally friendly mission. We stayed for 8 days and didn't want to leave at the end. All of our friends and family agreed that the setting was amazing.

Monica's cooking is delicious, but if you want to leave the resort there are several restaurants within walking distance. Make sure you stay for tapas night on Tuesday nights. Every dish was fantastic so come hungry. West End is a short cab ride away to get to the nightlife bars and restaurants, but the hotel is like a secluded paradise to get away from it all. Snorkelling is easy right off the dock and Chris runs a well equipped dive shop with a great dive boat.

I'd recommend Tranquilseas both for groups of families/friends or for a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Hummingbird and Tree Frog have the best views
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pquiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

Thanks to Chris (Host) & Monica (Cook) and the staff ,our week at Tranquillseas was PHENOMENAL! They organized our wedding perfectly up to the last detail.(Flowers, food, drinks ) All We had to do is show up and enjoy . The location is magical and romantic.The cabanas are amazing.(love the Bathrooms)
The food was Amazing. (Tapas nights on Tuesday's are yummy and fun.)
We booked the entire resort for us,family and friends and we all LOVED it. This resort is perfect for couples or friends get away.
It's a MUST if you go in Roatan :) We didn't want to leave .

Room Tip: Hummingbird , Tree Frog , Octopus for families and groups
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at Tranquilseas in June of 2011. Our stay here was the last leg of our honeymoon. We spent 3 days in Copan then zipped over to Tranquilseas and spent the last 8 days of our honeymoon there. We had an absolute blast! Chris and Monica were wonderful hosts! We loved the laid back and relaxed atmosphere! We also finished our open water scuba certification with Tranquilseas. Kent Ebanks was our instructor and he was awesome! He was a great instructor and I would recommend anyone who is looking to finish their scuba certification in the caribbean to look up Kent at Tranquilseas! He will take care of you and teach you all you need to know in a relaxed environment! Chris was also great at giving us some tips about exploring the island. And Monica was a wonderful cook. All the meals she made for us were wonderful! Our accommodations were also very nice, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms felt very homey. I personally liked the personal touch each shower had to go with the theme of the room! If you are looking for a laid back relaxing place to go on your honeymoon, vacation, or just looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life I would recommend Tranquilseas hands down!. We didn't want to leave! You won't be disappointed. Happy Trails! :)

Room Tip: Hummingbird Cabana had a decent view of the ocean while still laying in the bed.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwsjr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our stay at Tranquilseas Eco Lodge for a week of diving turned out great. Like other reviews, rooms are a little rustic, but clean, convenient, and a niece place to stay. Food on site was very good, and there are a number of restaurants within short walking distance that provide a good variety. Staff members and Chris/Monica were there to service your needs. Diving was good with clear water and abundant sea life. Would definitely go back for another stay.

Room Tip: most rooms have view of ocean and restaurant and open eating have especially a great view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uwphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My partner and I love Central America and have found the perfect getaway in Tranquilseas. Not only are the grounds gorgeously landscaped, the lodge/rooms are absolutely amazing. Chris and Monika have honestly created an island paradise that is truly an eco-lodge. We loved every minute of our stay and cannot wait to come back with the rest of the family! We stayed in West Bay for the first week of the trip and were not very impressed. Yes, the beach is lovely, but was crowded (especially with the cruise ship passengers) and riddled with vendors....not my cup of tea. The quiet nature of Tranquilseas really provided a relaxing environment...hammocks, snorkeling and reading. A perfect island getaway. Thank you so much Chris and Monika..we had the time of our lives!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

It felt like vacations that I took 20 years ago before everything became the same. Everything was on a personal basis from the diving to the meals and incredibly relaxed. The diving was wonderful and Kent is one of the best dive masters around. Everything gets taken care of but nobody seems to be rushed including the guests. It's very relaxing but my daughter and I were never bored. If you want a resort feel then don't come here. This place is laid back, has good food, great views, fantastic diving, unique beach style rooms but no tv or radio, nice people running it, is quiet, and very friendly. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVEFROMCHICAGO-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Jean & I chose Tranquilseas as our Roatan accommodation after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were seeking a small lodge with a dive shop and one that employed sustainable tourism best practices. Tranquilseas exceeded our expectations.

Located on Sandy Bay about a ten minute taxi ride from funky West End ($3 fare), the lodge is a quiet tropical haven. We really enjoyed walking around West End, slipping into the many souvenir shops and restaurants (our favorite was Creole's Rotisserie Chicken - excellent value stands out from expensive tourist restaurants). But, we were happy to come back to the quiet of Tranquilseas.

The lodges 5 cabanas stair step down to the beach. Each has it's own deck with hammock and partial or full ocean view. The restaurant and bar, which operates on the honor system, is open air and decorated with colorful splashes of Guatemalan textiles. I had the veggie crepes for dinner & want that recipe!! Thank you Monica! The breakfast menu had a variety of choices, all sumptuous. Monica and her staff prepare breakfast to order daily, and a set menu for dinner. You need to go elsewhere for lunch. There's a lodge next door that served a good burger (yet after seeing the caged birds on property, we didn't want to patronize it).

The pool is located a level below the restaurant, and the dive shop below that. The private dock provides access to the dive boat and snorkeling in the bay. Chris is a professional in all aspects. He operates his PADI shop with an emphasis on quality and safety. We were very impressed that our nightly rate included a mandatory donation to the Roatan Marine Park. My dive master picked up trash and fishing line (illegal to fish in the park) during our dive.

The diving was really good. The coral is in pretty good shape and a fair amount of fish. The cost of diving is probably the lowest you'll find anywhere. The highlight for me was the turtles! 2 Green Sea Turtles & 1 Loggerhead turtle. They were so close! One was swimming languidly by, one was eating coral in the company of a gray angelfish, and one was blissed out while being cleaned by 3 remoras. I am very depressed about the fate of our oceans, yet here is a spot that is still nice to visit.

I have high praise for the integrity of Chris & Monica and for their creation of this eco-lodge. Thank you for a fantastic stay - I'll be back and will recommend Tranquilseas.

Sincerely,
Barbara

Room Tip: Choice depends on # of people & view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: £102 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Honduras/Roatan - Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing