We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Nearby Hotels
Blue Bahia Resort(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Puerta Azul(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Pirates Den Hotel(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagrape Plantation Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lands End(West End)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocolobo(West End)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
499
53
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
53
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken fishking crabyoga studiowest endoctopustranquil staylaid backeagle rayowner chrisa short cab ridebarrier reefsea lifegreat caresmall grouptropical paradiselion fishgreat guy
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I dive and I travel, and not necessarily in that order. Tranquil seas combines both things perfectly: it is in a beautiful setting, on the beach, small and cosy in size - with only a few bungalows and a fantastic restaurant with home made food and a great, very professional dive team.
Owners and hosts - Chris and Monica - couldn't be more welcoming, plus -Monica is a superb cook, being from Spain (Tapas night is a must, and her fried calamari are simply to die for),

The bar is well stocked with all the best rums from the entire Central and South America (and many other things), which, surely, some would appreciate.

Diving feels less like an army activity (as in some dive centers) and more like a leisure, which is a big plus, and the team is really top notch. This is coming not from an OW diver, but from a fellow professional.

The room was slightly on the darkish side due to vegetation, so you might want to settle for the ones with unobstructed sea views, if you need the sun in all day long. But everything else is great.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olgaR-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I just had one of the best trips of my life with my son in Roatan. I'm the kind of traveler that likes to get the full experience and enjoyed staying at different parts of the island.

Tranquilseas is located in Sandy Bay which has a ton of great underwater activities and I chose this particular hotel because I love staying at Eco Lodges. It's unique and it gives my son, 7 years old, a good educational foundation on how to appreciate the areas we are staying at more.

Chris, the owner and host, is so fun! This is his love, passion and living on the island surrounded by the marine park is where he is in his total element.

He built this adorable lodge with his father, and they work so hard at keeping it intimate and personal.

Every evening there is a different dinner option, which Monica - a talented chef, whips up for you. You can use the restaurant area as though you are home. Take anything you want, drink anything. It's all on the honor system and makes you feel relaxed that no one has to wait on you all the time and you have freedom to do whatever you want.

We had a blast staying here, chilling in the cool bar area overlooking the sea and chatting it up with Chris and his dad!

So recommend staying here - and Chris will hook you up for all your diving and snorkeling needs!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Although we did not stay here, my son and I were very impressed with the dive shop. We were both certified through the shop and had some great dives. The instructors (Kent for my son and Katie for my self) were very good at building confidence, keeping us safe, looking after all the logistics, and making the dives interesting. We really appreciated all the people there who helped make our experience memorable. We will be recommending our friends to go and will be returning for more dives and training.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventure-adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is a great place to stay and dive while still feeling at home. Their dive shop is top notch and instructors are very professional and take a great deal of time to explain and plan every second of your experience.

The accommodations are also very cozy and relaxing with some personal touches that you notice right away.

We have stayed at others places in Roatan, but this places leaves you wanting to come back.

Room Tip: we liked the Tree Frog room
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lankeylanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Chris and Monica are great. Don't miss Tapas night, very fun, great food and music too. Although I didn't dive on this trip (we were researching moving there) talking to others that were - it’s the best. The dive masters know all kinds of nooks and crannies to explore. Boat is just down the steps from your room, pool when you get back - can't beat it. Pool is kept immaculately clean. Air in the rooms is a necessity. We stay on the East end for 2 nights (supposed to be 5) without air - no way, way too hot even with many, many fans. We stayed in Tree Frog, a little further up the stairs from other units, but with the best view and it was spectacular. To really experience the island, rent a car, a little nerve wracking at first, but then it's fun. Chris is very knowledgeable about island and can help planing excursions. He will also set you up with an inexpensive rental car. He actually went to the airport to pick us up. We didn't tell him we would have a car. Service is just great. Tranquilseas is just beautiful, huge palms and vegetation everywhere. The honor bar is wonderful, just mark down what you drink and pay up at the end of the trip. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews