We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over the top in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“over the top in every way”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a place you'd be reluctant to review because you don't want to share it with anyone else! However, your experience there compels you to write about how fantastic the place is. Chris and Monica (owners) are the best -they are attentive and informative hosts that make Tranquilseas one of the best experiences you'll ever have. Chris is a fastidious owner who is constantly making updates to his property to make it a place that leaves nothing to complain about. Worried about cleanliness, A/C working, hot water, etc.? -forget about it at this place. He has a small force of staff (all so pleasant) that keeps every nail, screw and bolt in place! Our room was immaculate. The food great (Monica's Paella was awesome) ...and don't forget the Lionfish ceviche!

Want to get some souvenirs off the reef or toss trash on the beach? -don't come here. Chris runs a truly ecology minded operation and is a man who sticks to his principals in preserving Roatan's natural beauty. He's put his heart and soul into this place and it shows!!

As for the diving -again more attention to detail with the latest, well-maintained equipment you’d want. Our dive master Kent was great!! We had a boat and Kent all to ourselves most days, taking us on the coolest dives -the most laid back AND safety conscious dive master you'll find!!

And the location -it's perfect! It’s secluded but has easy access to all attractions on the west side of the island. I found it interesting that the other side of the island (facing the mainland) gets significantly more wind than here, which has a major impact on diving. So scenic and peaceful!
Hated to leave, can't wait to come back!!
Thanks Chris and Monica!!

Room Tip: The Hummingbird and Tree Frog cabanas have the best views. An extra bed can be provided in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    49
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
289
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I read the reviews on Tranquilseas and selected this resort based on the glowing customer comments. As a result, I had rather high expectations.

After 16 dives and 8 nights at this fine resort, I can confidently state that my expectations were far exceeded by Chris and the rest of the Tranquilseas staff. Wow!

I have travelled far and wide on multiple continents and have been diving for 25 years, and I will say for the record that this is a very intimate experience that you are unlikely to find anywhere else. So, for folks that do not prefer the "cattle herd" mentality of certain resorts and dive operations, this is it! For those in search of a truly green, eco experience, this is your place! I plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darthvawter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at Tranquilseas in December 2011 for a week. Great place to unwind. The property is beautifully designed and enjoys fantastic sea views. We were a big group so we stayed at the Octopus. The first two rooms are nice and spacious, room with the bunk beds was a bit crammed so we switched rooms mid-week to keep everyone in the group happy. Hummingbird is probably the nicest Cabana of them all. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Service is personalized and they'll do their utmost to accommodate individual requests. Food was delicious, I particularly recommend the Baleadas for breakfast. Don't miss the Tapas night!
Diving was well-organised. You can expect great visibility and a lot of fish life. There is a good selection of wrecks. They will take you to dive even if you're the only one who happens to want to dive in the afternoon. I took most of my equipment but rental equipment is of good quality. We even did a shark dive which was fantastic! We also went on a fishing trip where we caught a huge Wahoo and Mahi Mahi. Overall a fantastic experience, will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at Tranquilseas for one week in December 2011 in the Eagle Ray cabanas. We were looking for somewhere quiet, with character and away from the crowds which offered excellent divng opportunities. Our experience far surpassed expectations on every level! The property is full of charm, beautifully designed and built out of local materials with a lovely sea frontage and a private pontoon. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, set amongst lush topical plants and with a sea view from the balcony. The lodge is small enough for service to be offered on a very personal level, with a smile and tailored to the needs of the individual. Chris and his wife Monica (head chef extraordinaire!) were always nearby and happy to help. Food was impeccable - and the tapas night must not be missed - great food, live music and a wonderful vibe. The diving experience was second to none - very flexible, expertly led and with very good equipment. Kent the dive guide was extremely helpful and knowledgable and always around in the bar in the evenings to reflect on the days events! The two boats were fantastic - a great way to take in the stunning coastline - at speed!!
In summary - a perfect place to stay for peace and quiet, a wonderfully personalised service and first class diving. We are already planning our return visit!!

Room Tip: The Eagle Ray cabanas cannot be faulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilM238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks around new year 2012, the resort is beautifully built and thought out.We were in the Hummingbird room that has beautiful views from the deck. Monica has planned out a very tasty menu,and her assistant Isabella is an excellent cook and freindly server,(even with our lack of spanish).The food was excellent.The resturant is closed Monday nights and they encourage you to try other resturants (a very nice concept),$3 will get two people to West End by taxi, where there are several places to eat.The Blue Bahia is a 2 minute walk up the beach and has a large menu.There is also a pizza place just up the road,maybe a 2 minute walk.The diving was excellent,visibility was from 70' to 100'+.There are three different wrecks that we dove and loved them all. Highly recommend the Prince Albert wreck outside of Coco View resort.The reefs were in good shape with alot of different fish,and some great wall dives,several dive spots with nice swimthroughs.The night dives are beyond explanation,the bioluminescence was mind bending.Kent the divemaster was alot of fun to dive with and saftey consious,Giovani the captain is a great captain and always there to help with our gear.Tapas nights(tues and thurs) were a blast.Great food, fun live music.
All and all our entire vacation was just great,the resort,staff, and food was excellent,the diving was incredible.We try to not go back to places we have seen,but Roatan just may see us again.If you want to stay away from the cruise ships this is a great place to be.

Room Tip: The hummingbird room has a buetiful view from the deck,They are adding 2 rooms above the Octopuss ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rsneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at Tranquilseas December 3rd -10th, 2011 and had a fantastic time! Everything was perfect. We stayed in the “Tree Frog” cabana and absolutely loved it. The view is gorgeous and we watched the sunrise every morning from the table and chairs on our private porch. The cabana has outdoor racks for your fins & masks too, which was a nice touch. Everything about the resort takes environmental impact into consideration and this was an important factor for us.

The location is perfect and the property is gorgeous. It’s secluded, peaceful & quiet, but only a short cab ride to the West End if you want to head into town for restaurants, bars or nightlife. The food at Transquilseas was outstanding and Monica is an incredible chef! You’ll definitely want to have dinner there at least a few times. As vegetarians, we were very happy to find out that there’s a vegetarian option offered every night. The pumpkin risotto was so good!! Tapas night is a lot of fun too and we enjoyed the food, band and visiting with everyone that came for the event. For breakfast, try the baleada, you won’t be disappointed! In town, our favorites were the Cannibal Café and Thong’s Thai Cuisine (try the papaya salad). The pizza shop up the driveway on the main road was very good too and each cabana comes with pizza trays, so you don’t have to feel bad about wasting a box! We had the whole property to ourselves one night and sat outside on the deck and had pizza & beer while listening to the waves on the reef, awesome!! We can’t wait to go back!

We went diving while we were there too. We had finished the scuba certification class at home before going and did our 4 certification dives with Kent (on-site dive shop), plus a few fun dives too. Kent was a wonderful dive master and extremely knowledgeable about the reef and sea life. He even spear fished some lion fish on our last dive and made ceviche during our surface interval. What a treat!

The snorkeling out front is great and if you swim to the right of the property there’s a dolphin pen where the dolphins will swim up to it and check you out, they also like to play fetch with seaweed. There is a lot to see on the reef and it’s only a short swim from the boat dock. They also have kayaks available and moorings to tie up to close to the reef.

Chris and Monica pay attention to every detail to make your vacation absolutely perfect! Thanks again for a great vacation!!!

Room Tip: The view from the tree frog is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeCXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stayed over the Christmas and New Years holidays with our two children (8 and 11). It was the perfect place to unwind and reconnect with each other and the world around us. Our hosts created the perfect vacation allowing us the opportunity to dive while teaching our 11 year old to dive with a PADI certified course. All the while, making sure that our 8 year old could snorkel with (over) us. The dive masters were intuitive, knowing just what everyone could handle for the day. Snorkeling in the waters off Tranquilseas most gorgeous pier-- revealed lobsters, tangs and angle fish (although we never saw the octopus). A day boat trip around the island with lunch on a picturesque two-palm tree island was enjoyed by all.

The lodging itself was comfortable and relaxed, clean while keeping the environment in mind. The main dining room and bar area are open so you can escape the sun or sit and watch an afternoon thunderstorm roll by if necessary. Ample seating nooks created the perfect place to curl up with a book or take an afternoon nap. The open decks allow a great place to eat breakfast or have an early afternoon cocktail. The kids were in the pool everyday which was roomy and clean. The room that we had (Octopus) was comfortable and had air conditioning, but truth be told we didn't spend a lot of time there other than sleeping.

The food was out of this world!! Breakfast and lunch were made from about 6-8 choices. Dinner varied each night with Tuesday and Thursday being Tapas and live music night. Monday night the kitchen is closed but there were other options within walking distance. Paella can be made with a days notice and is well worth it. Desserts were just the right amount without being over the top. Accommodations were made for my son's shellfish allergies, making sure he was content. While not personally a vegetarian, the dishes offered were flavorful and creative.

This vacation was wonderful for us and all the things we like to do. That said, my kids were happy without electronic entertainment of any kind, happy without chicken nuggets and willing to try new foods, happy to talk with adults, ask questions and engage some of the local kids to play and fish and happy to entertain themselves a lot of the time. If your kids need the other things, this is not the place for you.

We look forward to our next trip back! When the younger one is old enough to dive, he was promised to be taught by the best!!

Room Tip: We had the octopus room which consisted of three bedrooms (one master with queen and bath, one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drawnshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Property: Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Honduras/Roatan - Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing