We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greener is cleaner if you know what I meaner?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greener is cleaner if you know what I meaner?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I chose this resort because it advertised itself as being Eco friendly and as you may have guessed I am all about preserving our beautiful but fragile mother earth. I was very impressed with the ecological ethics that the resort actively promotes, from the solar panels on the roofs of the cabana's, which the owner chris told me generate all the hot water for the resort's showers, to the filtering of all the resorts waste water before it is released back into the natural environment via a specially built onsite septic tank, this eco lodge definitely ticked all the boxes for me!
The bar staff were full of local information and tips on what to do and see on the island, and the kitchen staff never made any fuss about any of my wife's vegetarian requests. If you like to scuba you will find the island of roatan is a diver's gem, the marine life on the local reefs was absolutely amazing! The onsite dive shop had everything we required to dive comfortably, so there was no need for us to carry any sluggish equipment half way around the world, i just emailed our sizes to tranquilseas in advance to check if they had suits that fitted us, and they did :) My wife discovered that there was a yoga floor at the top of the highest cabana that had an uninterrupted view of the sea, we didn't have any mats with us but the staff soon kitted us out with two and to be quite honest i am very glad that they did because the sound of caribbean waves breaking over the 2nd largest coral reef on the planet was unbelievable calming, it was as though someone was playing a meditation CD in the background, absolutely blissful!

PS. they don't call it the MOSQUITO COAST for nothing, it's name is duly deserved, so make sure you pack some effective defence in your suitcase (sprays and suntan lotions were quite expensive on the island so better to take your own). They also suffered electricity blackouts on the island quite regularly, similar to what we have experienced in other underdeveloped places around the world, so it is also advisable to take a good torch with you because being an eco friendly lodge tranquil seas didn't have any eco polluting generators when it fell dark, which actually created a great opportunity for me and my better half to enjoy our dinner by candle light...

We would definitely consider visiting this island and resort again, very very very tranquil indeed : )

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FatherNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    48
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
100
278
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was my our 3rd time back to Roatan. My man and I feel in love with this beautiful island and tranquil dive lodge. We've stayed at a couple other places on the island, but Tranquil Seas is hands down THE BEST! Chris & Monica have become friends of ours. We not only love their lodge but we love them! Every bungalow they offer is perfect. The food is delicious. The diving is un-believable!!! The best dive boat & staff on the island. Unlike other resorts where your forced to dive with up to 20-30 people, TS keeps it light with up to 8-10. They take you to the prime spots. Their adventure days to Cayos are SO fun! It's really a true gem. Go with the expectation to relax, to enjoy good culture foods, & make beautiful memories. Everything else will be icing on the cake! We LOVE Tranquil Seas!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDRA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

...where you want to stay if you really want to relax and enjoy getting away. From our first contact with Chris via the website, to making reservations, the late airport pick up, the easy welcome by the staff and getting settled in, my travel partner and I were made very comfortable and felt the freedom to just chill out. We stayed in the Gecko, which is simply a work of art! (The beds were terrific - so much so you almost didn't want to get out of them!) The food was delicious and the diving was fun and beautiful! The rental jeep we used to explore the island was handled by the staff and was so easy. You'd never know the day before we arrived the weather had us thinking our stay might be something different! Not So! We're so glad we stayed at Tranquilseas! The views of the reef and sea are perfect. Being right on the beach with a private dock/pier gives one plenty of space and options for quiet retreat and awesome sunsets. Additional thanks to Monica, Henry and Macy too for making our stay one of the best experiences ever!

Room Tip: The Gecko is perfect for two friends traveling together! 2 big beds, two sinks - lots of room! Bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My boyfriend and I recently completed our scuba certification at Tranquilseas.

We were incredibly impressed by the staff and facility - every interaction we had there was positive.

Daryl was our dive master, and he (along with his wonderful wife, Jo) truly made our experience. We felt like we were under the absolute best supervision. He was amazing instructor - along with his focus on our safety, he provided a fun and relaxing atmosphere.

I definitely recommend Tranquilseas for both beginning and advanced divers. Although we did not lodge there, we've only heard good things.

We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tredodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just returned recently from a one week stay at Tranquilseas. It was fantastic! First of all, owners Chris and Monica are organized, engaging, attentive and fun. They took care of everything including airport transfers, arranging PADI certification, organizing outings like zip lining and recommending a restaurant for a night out. The resort is small enough to make everyone feel like family. The atmosphere is relaxed and low key, but provided everything we needed. During our trip we not only rung in the New Year, but celebrated two birthdays and memorialized a recent family loss. Chris and Monica made it all seamless. We travelled with two families including five children ranging in age from 12 to 19. The Octopus Cabana worked out perfectly for us, allowing us to be together, but have enough space. There are abundant places around tranquilseas to sit and relax, whether in a hammock on the pier, the lounges on the decks, the comfortable main dining/bar area, ones front porch or the tip top floor with an amazing view. They also provide wifi, ping pong and kayaks and can arrange yoga or massages. Everyone in our group was happy and we all wished we could have stayed longer! All this, and Chris is also really committed to trying to preserve the Roatan beauty...he is ecologically minded and is active in trying to increase awareness not only for guests but for the island. We would absolutely recommend Tranquilseas!

Room Tip: Octopus works well for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

A really great experience -- very small and intimate, great diving, beautiful location right on the beach. Extremely casual yet very tasteful. But what really makes this place special are the owners Chris and Monica -- who are attentive, friendly and devoted to giving each of their guests a really great experience. If we have a chance to return, we'll definitely stay at Tranquil Seas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverspringlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Tranquil Seas is unique in the fact that the owner Chris Benson is very one on one with all guests, making sure all accommodations are met. He scheduled multiple excursions and took care of all the arrangements so it could truly be a relaxing vacation. On top of that, the diving was outstanding, as well as the experiences with the dive instructors. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone looking for a relaxing, well spent vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Property: Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Honduras/Roatan - Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing