We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My mother and I just got back from a 6-day visit to Tranquilseas. We loved it!

As everyone says, the snorkeling off the dock and to the nearby reef is incredibly beautiful. The diving was fantastic! Henry, Matt, Di, and Kerry were knowledgable, professional, and made a point to take people to sites that matched their interests and were not full of other dive boats.

The food was also really great! I had read reviews that the portions would be massive and am thrilled to be able to throw my two cents in here. For a teeny person, yes. The portions probably seem large. But on a scale of food to food, they are normal, delicious meals. What was also nice was that if you preferred your dish a certain way, they were more than happy to make that accommodation. So if you don't eat a lot, ask for less food. Easy! I never asked for less food because it was just right for me and tasty!

Service was awesome. Everyone was helpful, accommodating, pleasant and efficient. The tag line of "making relaxing easier" was true to the letter. Everyone was great with me and even more important, great with my mom. Clearly, it is an ideal place for families, but a solo traveler can really enjoy the pace and community as well.

Thank you to the whole team! It was such a fun visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tranquilseas for our 10th wedding anniversary (June 2014). It was our first time traveling to Roatan and we had a hard time choosing where to stay. We decided on Tranquilseas because of the TripAdvisor reviews and it was better than we could have imagined! The resort was beautiful and everyone was very friendly. We booked the eagle ray room, which was furnished with a hand scraped log bed and unique items like you would find at an import store such as Pier 1. We purchased the meal plan, which was an incredible value and the food was delicious! The resort is within walking distance to Anthony's Key and Carambola Gardens and you can take a taxi to other locations.

Tranquilseas is a smaller resort, which offers personalized service that you won't find at other places. Anytime we wanted to go somewhere all we had to do was ask Fernando and he arranged it. The owner, Chris, was also very accommodating. He drove a large group of guests to eat on Thursday night and waited for us at the bar. We wanted to do something extra special on the day of our anniversary so we asked Chris for suggestions. We decided on taking the ferry to the mainland to go whitewater rafting and Chris took care of everything for us. We returned to find some chocolates and a card that Fernando placed on our bed. Fernando also arranged for us to have a special dinner at a different location that night and the taxi driver had flowers and chocolate when he picked us up.

Diving with Matt was amazing and we also had a great time snorkeling off of the beach. The entire vacation was incredible and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Stay in the eagle ray cabana.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sadiehebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Loved this place! The staff is friendly and accommodating, especially Fernando, who helped us in a family emergency. The rooms were comfy and the views breathtaking. We stayed in the King Crab and the Hummingbird. You snorkel right off the dock- it is much easier to kayak out to the reef for those who can't swim long distances.
We did not buy the meal plan, which I would recommend. The food was good but not enough choices for me to keep me interested for a week. It would be nice if the chef offered a nightly special.
Be sure to attend the free lecture given on reef life on Mon. nights. Very informative.
Also, there are a lot of steps and decking which would be difficult for those who have bad knees or mobility issues. There is not a beach area to lounge on.
This is a unique place to stay. Much different from your run of the mill hotel or condo. You are in your own little slice of paradise! I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: King Crab has fridge, table and chairs, sofa, counter with sink. Spacious bath and extra large bedro...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a super week at Tranquilseas. Everything was great. The room was clean,comfortable, and unique. The food was great, especially the fresh tuna caught the same day. We really liked the low key atmosphere and the staff treated us like friends. Brooke gave us an amazing introduction to yoga. The diving was fantastic and Matt did a great job bringing us up to speed with a refresher course. We felt safe and saw a wide variety of stuff. There was something neat on every dive. Thanks to Fernando for looking after us so well. Chris has built a great spot.. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I did a 6 night dive/meal package. It was absolutely heavenly. We saw turtles, rays and even a nurse shark. Our instructor, Matt, was super chill and made the dive process and my refresher a very smooth and comfortable process. The food was great and the honor bar added to the laid back charm of the place. There's nothing much to do but dive, walk on the beach and read, but that's what we wanted. We also partook of a yoga class with Brooke and each got two massages, all of which was amazing. You can grab a cheap taxi to go into town for a bit of shopping and nightlife, which we enjoyed doing once during our trip. There is also another great beach bar nearby with a tv (no tvs on this property) where we watched the World Cup semifinals.

We stayed in Turtle which is the cheapest option (I think) and was perfectly lovely. Just didn't have the same view as the others, but we spent most of our time by the pool or on the deck overlooking the ocean, so it didn't matter much to us. The sand flies are very annoying, so bring spray or grab some at a little shop when you arrive. They had extra sun tan lotion and spray at the bar for backup if you need it.

All in all, would recommend this location very highly for a comfortable and affordable trip to paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in Turtle which was perfectly lovely, despite being the cheapest option.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sd3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We did not stay at the Lodge but had drinks and dinner on evening. Beautiful little place right on the beach ,Friendly staff, good food, great little shaded pool. We had the coconut milk seafood soup and the Island Red Snapper. Very nice with a magnificent ,breezy sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wm_lockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I spent one amazing week in June with great team of friendly professionals.
Thank you very much boys and girls.
I had the best room with view.
Weather for all 7 days was sunny and hot.
Diving and snorkelling there is brilliant.
We were snorkelling with dolphins and, I had a chance to dive on private submarine 2000 ft under.
All that was organize by the hotel team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: £102 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Honduras/Roatan - Sandy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing