We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in perfect location. Unpretentious, pretty, works.”
Review of Casa del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa del Sol
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Just spent two weeks at Casa de Sol and loved it. The room was cheerful and had everything I needed, the mattresses were good. The maid service was impeccable. I don't know how she managed to nip in every day to clean without ever disturbing me, with my irregular schedule, but she did it! The house is well-built, it was quiet and didn't heat up all that much. I always was comfortable just with the fan, didn't need the AC at all. There was good water pressure and actually real hot water! The location was just perfect: the orientation of the house and the little distance to the busy road made it so much quieter than some of the other places I've seen there. And still only 2 minutes or so to go the diveshop. I dived at Coconut Tree, great place, very safety-minded and training-oriented, and I highly recommend it - but all the other dive shops aren't all that far away, either. Neither are the restaurants and bars of West End, 'downtown' starts 2 minutes from Casa del Sol. My little kitchenette was well enough equipped to let me cook most of my own food - a big plus, since dining out is not really cheap in West End. The private patio provided ample space to dry my dive gear, and with four sweet dogs always on guard duty (plus fencing), I wasn't worried about security one a bit. But the piece de resistance was the backyard. It felt like a secluded little jungle oasis, surrounded by flowers, palm, banana and mango trees, with rocking chairs where late at night I could even catch a wireless signal. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and if/when I come to West End again, will certainly stay at Casa del Sol. It was the great value that made me choose Casa del Sol, but it's the location, the backyard, room, service and how quiet it was that will make me come back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BcGreenhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Casa del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom.
Good points:
- Fan, aircon available if willing to pay extra
- Quiet area (although connecting walls are quite thin and some rooms have connecting doors to the room next door which could be a problem if you happen to have a noisy neighbour!)
- Kitchen area in room
- Hot shower
- Towels
- Mesh Windows to keep out mossies (of which there are a lot!) but allow in air
- Lockable cupboard
- Comfy bed
- Walkable to beach and main strip
- $30 per room per night
- Patio next to room with table and chairs
- Trampoline in garden!

Bad points
- No mosquito net, so bring one along!
- No breakfast, internet, or other services.
- When we went the manageress was away due to personal reasons and had a friend looking after the place. Unfortunately she wasn't around most of the time and the reception was locked up. We didn't get any email response on trying a reservation, we didn't get the free 5 litres of water you are supposed to get on check-in (until we managed to track her down a couple of days later). Even paying on check-out was difficult because she was never there!

The place also has lots of animals, at least four dogs I think, a couple of cats and a turtle. If you're not keen on animals, probably not the best place to stay! There's also a portable paddling pool in the garden but it was empty. The rooms seemed to be occupied by solo people living and working in West End (i.e. renting), we didn't see many people 'on holiday'.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LardSardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Great rooms with kitchenett and very sweet owner. Sara did everything she could to make our stay wonderful. The large private decks with hamocks and chairs where a perfect for kicking back. There where some mosquitos because of the damp location so bring the spray. Location was just far enough away to get some quite but close enough to walk to the beach in half moon and west end. The floors are tile and can get very slippery so if you have a baby learning to walk take extra caution.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisentravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed in Casa del Sol for a week when we stayed in Roatan. The rooms were cheerful and clean and the owner Sara and her staff we friendly and helpful. Having a readily equiped kitchen saved us a lot of money and I would recommend the Casa for budget minded couples. The hostel also comes with two adorable children (Sara's kids) to entertain you as well as a couple friendly dogs, cats and even a turtle. Very close to the beach yet removed from the noise.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

My family, including two young children, stayed at Casa del Sol for 2 and half weeks. It worked out perfectly for our family, with the comfortable, clean, large rooms and easy walk to the heart of West End and the beach. Sara Didcott, a Canadian born hotel owner, and her staff surpassed our expectations with providing us great service (locate and pickup lost baggage), information on local activities, tours, doctors, dives etc. and the use of her nannies so that we were able to dive together. The environment was safe, well kept and friendly. Upon our return to Roatan we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

If you are looking for a nice, clean, reasonable place to stay while in Roatan, then Casa Del Sol is the place you've been looking for. For us, it was a little piece of heaven and we thank Sara, the owner for making our stay memorable and not a nightmare that it started out to be. For my husband's 50th birthday he wanted to spend 2 weeks in Roatan diving, relaxing and having fun. We spent the first week at a resort on the northwest end of the island (that will be a separate review). For the 2nd week we decided to spend it in West End and booked a weeks stay at Coconut Tree cabins which was close to our diving. We were so excited and looked forward to hanging out in our cabin and lounging in the hammock on the porch after our diving. When we walked into our cabin our jaws dropped and somehow the nice scerene picture that we imagined suddenly turned into a nightmare. It was quite different from the picture on their website. We tried to make the best of the situation but when the cockroach tried to share our bed with us in the middle of the night we both felt we would soon end up in a divorce if we stayed another night in the cabins, let alone the rest of the week. We decided to walk up the road to Casa Del Sol to check out their rooms. We met the owner who was very nice and showed us 2 different rooms that she had available. We fell in love with the "suite" which has a kitchen and 2 beds and a large balcony with hammock. It didn't take us long to pack our bags and find ourselves sitting on the deck, breathing a sigh of relief. The rate was about the same as for the cabins, but in comparison, it was like heaven as apposed to cockroach hell. We preferred to stay in a place where we felt comfortable, safe and secure. It is fenced in all around and if you are in a suite on the 2nd floor, there is a gate at the top of the stairs that she locks at night to make it even more secure, not that it's necessary. There are lovely plants and trees all around and you are just a short 2 minute walk into West End. The housekeepers mop and clean your rooms daily and it was such a nice experience. Sara speaks both English and Spanish which was helpful for us. We made the mistake of renting a car for the day from Best Car Rental. They never showed up to pick up the car like they said they would, then informed us that there would be an additional $10.00 fee for picking up the car. Sara was kind enough to haggle with the car company for us since we had a dive scheduled and she was able to talk them out of charging us tax (around $10.00), but they still charged us the $10.00 pick up fee, but she saved us $10.00. Sara's been there for quite awhile and she built the motel. You can tell that she put a lot of hard work and spent a lot of money putting in good quality appliances and fixtures into the rooms. We can't say enough good things about this place. It's a little piece of heaven and we will gladly stay there again and recommend it to anyone staying in Roatan.
You can check them out at www.casadelsolroatan.com

John and Char Wilburn

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Digitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We just had a wonderful stay at Casa del Sol - a smaller hotel just back from Half Mon Bay . we stayed in a double room with a breakfast bar and it was just perfect - enough space to hangout in and a nice patio looking into the garden with a very relaxing feel to it. The rooms were pleasantly painted in tropical washed hues and had great beds - super comfortable - which is often hard to find!
We could get to the beach and be snorkeling in less then a minute! The location was great so close to everything yet peacful and calm - hanging out and getting wireless in the garden was an extra bonus we really enjoyed. The owner was very helpful and her staff was great - we picked up a few more words in spanish, too. The rooms were cleaned daily and drinking water was provided when we arrived ( nice not to have to go looking for a bottle of water after a long trip ) the little office sold bottled water at a good price along with an assortment of beach shorts, sarongs , and bug juice. The owner - Sara - even loaned us a few items to wear until our bags which got lost? were found and brought to us - after a few phone calls by Sara- the next day.
We really think that this hotel was a great value - nice rooms, good rates and very pleasant staff and atmosphere. The location is so perfect - you just get up and go do whatever it is you want to do for the day - dive, snorkel, breakfast, suntan, sunsets drinks , dinner - it is all just a minute away - and then a great place to return to & relax and enjoy a peacful night.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank bimmer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West End hotels
1.5 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
355 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#8 of 9 in West End
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
1.1 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 9 in West End
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal | Half Moon Bay Beach, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in West End
Number of rooms: 212
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel West End
Casa Del Sol Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing