We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little rustic cabin...”
Review of Vivaro Roatan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vivaro Roatan
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Blenny House and Cabins is a great place to stay, but you really have to be aware of what you are getting.

There are two buildings. Jenny, the delightful owner, lives in one half of the duplex house. The house is two stories with balconies looking out on the water on both levels.
It has a classic island design, with sleeping rooms downstairs and the living/dining/kitchen great room upstairs.

The "cabins" are the two halves of one rustic cabin. Each half has a simple bedroom with a double and a single bed , some basic furniture, and a small closet. They have functional bathrooms with showers. One has a small fridge, the other has a very small fridge and a microwave.

The two cabin spaces share a common porch looking out on the ocean. Along with a hammock and chairs, there are two rudimentary kitchen areas... gas burners, water jugs... and a shared kitchen sink.

The cabins are clean, but this is rustic living. There are some gaps in the floorboards and the porch roof leaks a little in a few places. The screens don't always fit perfectly. Lighting is basic, but you'll need an extra light to read at night. Because you share floorboards with the other unit, noises are transmitted and you can't stay here without having some interaction with the guests in the other half.

Jenny is an important part of the experience. She has lived on the island for a number years and has become one of the "locals." If there is something you lack - we had a dire need for a blender for our daily pina coladas - she probably can help you out... in this case lending us the blender from her house. She is fun and interesting and a window into local life.

The location is great... at the end of the road just before Cocolobo. Best bet is just tell the driver Cocolobo and then get out at the blue buildings before the gate. The walk to Half Moon Bay and good snorkeling is a minute or two... Into town is maybe a five minute walk.

On a very calm day you can get into the water right behind the cabin, but the iron shore is pretty intimidating. Not a swimming beach, but it does provide a delightful surf soundtrack for your stay - and if you experience a major blow, as we did, you will see just how small we are when Mother Nature flexes her muscles.

The price is right... high season is $50 a night, tax included... an extra $10 if you use the air conditioner. The house rental is significantly more refined - and more expensive.

We give Blenny cabin and Jenny a "five" Excellent rating - if you go into it understanding what you are getting. It is a great value, but it ain't the Ritz! Plain, basic, clean, and good location with a great view at a reasonable price.

BTW... the cabin could be a really good option for a family or two couples who really like each other. Rent both sides and you'll know who you will be drinking your morning coffee with out on the deck overlooking the iron shore!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank idiotsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Vivaro Roatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

Wow. I don't think there are any pictures here or anywhere else online that do this rental property justice. The problem is that they don't capture the sound of the ocean lapping up against the iron shore, just a couple of feet away from the porch. Or the absolutely accommodating nature of Jenny, the owner, who is willing to answer any questions or address any of your concerns prior to your visit. They definitely don't capture the spacious and open concept of the kitchen, living space and porch.

Roatan is so pretty. The food is delicious (Red Hot Chili Peppers gets major props from me). The people we met were very generous and all seemed to want us to have a good time. The diving is straight up incredible. So all in all, it would be hard to have a bad time, even if the place you were staying at sucked.

My boyfriend and I and two friends rented the house thinking we would use it to sleep. We actually spent quite a lot of time on the patio, as there is a 4 person table/chairs, a couch and a hammock to relax on. Very conducive to drinking, chilling, music'ing, and reading. A huge plus to the property is its location. About a 5 minute walk to the beginning of the west end strip, where there is also a small beach where you can rent $5 chairs from Posada Arco Iris. We were always safe to walk back at any time (it's really easy, just straight, and where there's a turn, there is a light to guide you at night), and it was just far enough that we weren't bothered by the crowds or loud music when we didn't want to be.

There's a dive shop right next door, but we opted to dive with Roatan Divers, a new operation in the heart of the west end, right next to the Lighthouse.

The only con about this place (and I'm grasping here) is that it would have been nice to have housekeeping service at some point or a change of sheets. Not everyday, but after a couple of days of "beaching", as I like to call it, we'd gotten sand in everything. Then again, we never asked Jenny in advance, so for all I know, the service was available.

I would 100% stay here again, maybe check out one of the cabins if I wasn't with 4 people, as they looked cute and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynth_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We heard about this place through the grape vine. I was happy to see that the grape vine had got as long as it did with certain validity. This is a modern house with beautiful views of the ocean from a rear balcony fitting for a romantic getaway or a house to enjoy with a group of friends. The location is a perfect combination of close enough to walk to everything and tucked away enough to feel like the island is yours alone. Hands down looking forward to staying there next time I'm in Roatan.
Tony T. from Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I had the best time ever staying in one of Jenny- Blenny's cabins. The beautiful wooden interior and the romantic touch to the room made this a very cozy place to come home after a day of diving. The hot shower was fabulous!!
But unbeatable for sure is being able to sit outside on the deck with a cup of tea, and later with a glass of wine and enjoy the waves while time just passes by...
Many thanks again Jenny for making my stay so unforgettable!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundreamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The Blenny house is absolutely gorgeous. Very clean and well kept. Jenny is one of the nicest people I have ever met in my life and accomodated all of our needs as a group. Between her and the house, it was a priceless experience that I wouldn't trade in for any of my other travels (and I have a lot of them)! Thanks Jenny!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jana9767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed in one of the cabins for my wife´s 30th and it was perfect. We booked 3 days but despite a big earthquake on the first night, ended up staying for 7 nights instead. It´s near enough to shops and bars for convenience (5-10 minute walk) but far enough for peace and quiet when you want it. Cheaper but I think much nicer than the big resorts. The cabins are very spacious and beautifully decorated with good bathroom and outside kitchen and eating area overlooking the sea for private sunset. Great hammock too. Eating out on Roatan can be very expensive and having such a good kitchen and fridge really helped save money. A-C optional. Jenny is very friendly and helpful and responsive on e-mail. Only slight problem is that not all taxis know the place and it isn´t really sign-posted. Get directions from Jenny first just in case.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We spent hours researching a place to stay that was quiet, safe, with a beautiful view, and away from the noseeums. Blenny Cabins was the answer. In addition to all of this we met the owner Jenny who exceeded our expectations with her warm hospitality. Jenny was also great in answering all of our pre-trip questions in a timely manner. She even arranged for our airport transfers and a stop at the market before we arrived at her cabin. It was easy to get right into the rhythm of the island. We enjoyed the outdoor kitchen and dining and the convenience of purchasing our fruits and vegetables on our walk back to the cabin. We were only a 10 minute easy walk from our dive shop in town. Thanks Jenny, we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJCat96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#8 of 14 in West Bay
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivaro Roatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaro Roatan

Address: West End Road | Mangrove Bight, West End, Roatan CT91HX, Honduras (Formerly Roatan Vivaro)
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in West End
Price Range: £37 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivaro Roatan is collection of three luxury waterfront homes on the island of Roatan. Vivaro - Beachfront is a five bedroom villa on a private beach in Mangrove Bight. Vivaro - West End - North House and Vivaro - West End - South House were completed in July 2016 and replaced the previous Blenny House and Cabins. Prices start at $400. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vivaro Roatan Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing