We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Clean, quiet, close to all of the activities in town. Owners are very nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandSharon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    67
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
93
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Despite the rain and late arrival on account of snow in Atlanta, we managed to have a fabulous time on Roatan and the Mariposa Lodge was the perfect place to stay. This is our second time staying there and we brought along family members and friends who all raved about how nice it was and convenient to dive shops and the beach. It was also a treat when we were able to cook up lobster tails and eat on the communal deck and rest in the hammocks. A few folks in the group where know to fall asleep in them.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ktedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I stayed here based on Lonely Planet's raving reviews, but had I looked around more, I would've seen that there were better places at this price point $59 is a lot for a tiny, dingy, dark room with a lumpy bed, no fan, and a loud air conditioning. I suspect there must've been nicer rooms that LP raved about, but mine was pretty terrible.

On the plus side, the service was excellent, Sue was very helpful at giving me travel advice about the island. The room was clean and well maintained. Also, it's about a minute's walk from the very noisy main street, and I appreciated the buffer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powellLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I chose Mariposa Lodge from Lonely Planet. According to the latest publication it is affordable, ecofriendly and slightly off the main strip which LP called a 'bummer' because it isn't on the beach but which I found refreshing. Marliposa us set among lush tropical plants and with a couple of delightful lodge cats that soak up any attention you want to give them. And if you want to get out into the lively night life (or bustling day life) of the busy main street it all really is right there at the end of a little road that takes less than 2 minutes to walk .The owners are super helpful and have put in each of the more expensive rooms (not in the communal lodge) an interesting overview of West End. The owners also have an extensive collection of DVD's to check out for those nights when you don't feel like partying. The rooms are kept spotless and they are bright which I really appreciated. However, times change and the Mariposa's prices are not what Lonely Planet currently shows - so don't rely on that information. One disappointment - I had to move from my more deluxe room after a week to a room with a shared kitchen in the smaller lodge due to a prior reservation and the quality of towels from the 'better' room to the 'lesser' room was pretty dramatic - went from average to almost threadbare when I changed quarters. But aside from my disappointing towels the Mariposa Lodge worked fine for me and I'd go back in a minute. One last thing - don't forget your flashlight. The power in the whole town goes out very regularly but usually only for an hour or so. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirenita_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

This is a very clean and reasonable place to stay in West End, with outstanding owners and staff and beautiful grounds. Close to the action, but a little removed from the main "strip", so it's relatively private and quiet. The upstairs room are airy, bright and spacious.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajarAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington state
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

This lodge is owned by a Canadian couple who went out of their way to assist us with our transportation needs around the island. We had a large, clean 2 bedroom (one in alcove) unit with stove, refrierator, pot and pans, kitchen table. Large ceiling fans kept us cool along with the breeze from the ocean. We were able to buy local fruit and sit on our covered porch in the am drinking coffee, eating and admiring the garden around us--that is, if we weren't lying in our hammock. The beds were comfortable, the water was hot and there was purified water in the room. Be sure to ask for one of the large, upper rooms as those on the first floor are not of the same quality. We would recommend this lodge highly and the price is a steal.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Stayed here for my first two nights in Roatan. Located just off the main road so really close to all the amenities but still quiet. Rooms were simple but comfortable in a small lodge containing 3 other rooms with a good kitchen and a bathroom with shower and toilet and another separate toilet. Kept very clean and tidy. Towels and sheets changed each day. Good stock of books with one for one exchange. Would recomment to other backpackers. $26 per night was a little expensive for me but this is a relatively expensive island compared to mainland Honduras and the room could have slept three people.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckylynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villagio Verde
Villagio Verde
#6 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Property: Mariposa Lodge
Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing