We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mariposa Lodge My home in Roatan”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I booked one appartment in Mariposa Lodge. It is a very nice place surrounded by a luxuriant vegetation. It was very close to the beach and all the leisures. We have a nice appartment with one big bedroom with a big fan and fully equipped kitchen. The appartment has a nice terrace with hammocks perfect to chill out after a day in the beach. The owners are very nice and they will provide you a lot of information about the islands. A good place to stay in Roatan.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elodie1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Mariposa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2010

We actually didn't stay in the lodge itself -- we stayed in the small, 3-bedroom cabin (with shared bathroom and kitchen) on the property. It was always kept clean, the owner and staff were pleasant, and there was a water heater in the shower.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieB82981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The service we received was awesome! Rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denvereanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The small apartment that we stayed in was well equipped, the bed comfy and the details taken care of. Thanks Mike and Sue for being so accomodating!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubafanatic097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Mariposa Lodge is a great place to stay if you are a budget-minded traveller who prefers being self-sufficient. When travelling, I like to get a taste of the area and experience the place I am visiting first hand. Resorts are not for me. My daughter and I stayed in an apartment that had a stove top, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. It was also equipped with pots and dishes. We had all we needed. It was perfect! There were stores, bars and restaurants within walking distance as well as the beach (which is a great place to see a sunset). We were located near some of the best places to snorkel and dive on the West End of the island. 
If I needed any information, the staff or Sue and Mike (the owners) were there to help out. They were all courteous and knowledgeable. 
On the grounds, I saw so many gechos, lizards and hummingbirds. All of this was in the shrubs and trees of the lodge! It was a super, memorable, laid back week and I would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Clean, quiet, close to all of the activities in town. Owners are very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandSharon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Despite the rain and late arrival on account of snow in Atlanta, we managed to have a fabulous time on Roatan and the Mariposa Lodge was the perfect place to stay. This is our second time staying there and we brought along family members and friends who all raved about how nice it was and convenient to dive shops and the beach. It was also a treat when we were able to cook up lobster tails and eat on the communal deck and rest in the hammocks. A few folks in the group where know to fall asleep in them.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank ktedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.4 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#8 of 9 in West End
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 9 in West End
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range: £39 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing