We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cabins and easy place to meet people”
Review of Hotel Chillies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chillies
Ranked #1 of 13 West End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice cabins and easy place to meet people”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed in private cabin (C3) and really enjoyed it there. Having my own clean room with hot showers was key. Slept well every night, and was easily able to find people to hang out with in the common areas. Location is awesome, across the street from Sundowners and a very quick walk to anywhere else in West End. Definitely the best place to stay, and very reasonably priced. Staff are super friendly and fluent in both English and Spanish. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    61
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
95
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great location, nice bungalows (we had one for 3 persons, but we were only 2. might be a bit small for 3...), very clean and calm.
We were asked to bring school furniture for the nearby school if we had any spared space in our luggages. We managed to bring notebooks and pensils, which was really appreciated!
Generally about West End, take every thing you can to fight against mousquitos because they will bite you nights and days!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sploog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishymishy, Owner at Hotel Chillies, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay apart from the mosquitos. Thanks for the school supplies and come back again some day to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We arrived around 18:30 off the ferry from La Ceiba. The receptionist was not the least bit friendly,I though perhaps it was because it was time for her to go home,but, I did not see her smile once in the three days we were there. She did however have a room available for us. I asked her,"does it have a bathroom?" she replied in a tired voice "yes it has a bathroom". But in actual fact it was a shared bathroom. The room was tiny and a bit of a sweatbox and we were woken several times in the night by mangoes falling onto the decking! Unfortunately the dive school was closed until mid july also.
That said, the hostel is close to the beach,cheap, fairly quiet and adequately clean .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishymishy, Owner at Hotel Chillies, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
I am really sorry that your stay at Chillies wasn't very enjoyable. Once a year my husband and I go on holiday and leave our staff running the hotel. Normally this works quite well but it seems that this time it didn't go so smoothly. I am sorry that my worker wasn't very friendly. This is her first job and she only started in April so she really is just in training. I have talked to her since returning so hopefully this will not happen again and if it does I will have to find someone else who can be nicer to our guests.

As for the heat there is not much I can do, this is the tropics in the summer, and it can get very muggy. Also in June and July you have to get uses to the sound of mangos hitting roofs and decks all around the island. I live above the room you were staying in and I know that sound very well. The good side to it is that in the morning you can walk around the garden and pick up mangos, freshly fallen from the trees. I just had one for breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have been to Roatan 4 times in the last 18 months. We stay at Hotel Chillies because of the wonderful staff, clean accommodations, and incredibly reasonable rates. We have had nothing but the most warm and wonderful welcome from the owners, Mish and Alvin, each time we stay in their lovely garden in our private cabin. The diving through Native Sons is the best! We will never dive with anyone else because of their incredible safety record, professionalism, and most of all, friendliness!
Kris Nei and Mark Smythe

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_N42863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Have stayed here a few times and will continue to stay here next time I visit Roatan. Chillies has everything you need with very reasonable prices. It's in a great location with easy access to dive shops, the beach, snorkelling, grocery stores, and happy hour bars!! Rooms are clean and the staff is always helpful. Always hard to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMLNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for two weeks in a private cabin at Chillies and had a wonderful stay. Hot water, clean towels, comfy beds and a shared kitchen. The location is excellent, right across the street from the beach - which is great for snorkeling. We saw barracuda, a sea horse and an octopus right there in the bay. Lots of really nice restaurants close by, as well as the b-b-qs on the beach which are a great deal. The cabins are cozy, no a/c but the fans kept us cool at night...we stayed in April. The hammock outside the cabin was well used, the gardens are tropical and lush, full of sweet smelling flowers, beautiful butterflies, birds, lizards, geckos and I even saw an iguana. So dreamy lying in the hammock in lovely surroundings! Our cabin was nice and quiet and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Would love to go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 5, I think it was the best located, back away from the road. Private cabins have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel Chillies provides the perfect tropical setting with relaxed quiet comfortable cabins and a calm ocean bay 20 yards away. The cabins are clean and comfortable. The hosts are friendly and full of information that they are happy to share. I suggest a trip to the used book store located right next to the office because this is the perfect place to relax reading in a hammock or sitting on the beach. The bay is calm and loaded with fish, last time we even saw an octopus!! Can't say enough good things.

Room Tip: Go for the cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNFromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 7 in West End
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
0.2 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#3 of 7 in West End
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chillies

Property: Hotel Chillies
Address: Half Moon Bay | West End, West End, Roatan 99999, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best budget hotel on Roatan. Safe, clean and central. On the beach, dorm beds, private rooms, cute wooden cabins, luxury studio apartments, beautiful garden. Native Sons dive shop on property. All rooms have access to a kitchen. We have a small cafe for simple island breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chillies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chillies Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing