We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quintessential Caribbean Bar”
Review of Sundowners

Sundowners
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in West End
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Pub, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Quintessential Caribbean Bar”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is the ideal place to visit anytime of the day. the food is great and the view magnificent. Run by Aaron Etches and his Dad, former Canadian Canoe Champion, Bill Etches. you never know who you are going to meet, could be NHL hockey Moms, ex- pats from everywhere. If you think what the ideal beach bar is, this is it. Right on the beach you can snorkel, paddle board or rent a sailboat. the local FM Station is right next door and you can talk to the DJ who's having a Salva Vita ( the local beer ) between songs. The burgers have been rated by the New York Times as the best in the Caribbean. The best time to visit is after your day at the beach and the regular crowd comes drifting in. Smitty, the ex Colonel from New Mexico, Bear the fire investigator from Canada, Stewart an ex hockey referee from the Canadian Western League. If you can't find local color here you can't find it anywhere. So pack your swim gear and bug repellant and head for the Caribbean sunset at Sundowners

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    247
    62
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Waitresses are so rude and unfriendly!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

I always go back to sundowners just for one thing and thats the boneless wings but honestly every single waitress or bartender are so unfriendly and so bitter looking! They treat all americans nice and they are friendly to all americans but to us latin people they are so rude! They even throw the menu at me and dont even take my order seriously! They take hours with my order just becuz im not a gringa! I think the owner should teach their staff how to be more clean and show them about manners and education! Especially how to be friendly and give out good customer service! Its always the same issue here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ccf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loaferoatan, Owner at Sundowners, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hello;
Thanks for your SECOND honest review. As always I'll try and find out who was working and try and get the problem fixed! I'll make sure the bartenders read your review as I've done with all negative reviews, BUT Have a few questions: You mentioned waitresses. At Sundowner's we have no waitresses or table service. When you order food, our barback brings it out to the bartenders and they call out a name for the order. It's a system that's worked for years with very few complaints. Sometimes when customers are sitting on the beach or tables, we'll bring the orders to them IF they do not hear their name called and the food has been at the bar for an extended period, BUT NEVER HOURS as you've stated (again). Second question is your first TripAdvisor review advises travelers "never to order food here" and that you're a chef, but your second says you "keep coming back for the boneless buffalo wings". A bit of a contradiction, yes? I also find it strange that your only two reviews are about Sundowner's and you've stated your a chef. Where? Next time you're at the bar, please come find me and we can discuss your negative experiences.
Thanks
Aaron Etches Wood
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
“Best bar in town”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Best Burger, Best View, Best Atmosphere. Period. The sunsets are gorgeous and I am planning on returning just to be able to try the burger one more time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a bar with no walls”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

right on the beach, fun staff, busy bar great atmosphere. Beer, burgers and sunsets. even the very occasional green flash (probably seen through the green glass of a Port Royal, but a green flash, none the less).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williamcrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Drinks n Food n Sunsets, oh my”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I am a 3rd year offender and I can say that Sundowners, hands down, is the best place to watch NHL hockey and watch the sun go down. Thanx Paul, best Monkey La La's EVER. Looking forward to year 4! See you guys soon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Launa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundowners also viewed

 

Been to Sundowners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing