We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe the reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roatan Anglers - Fishing Day Charters

Roatan Anglers - Fishing Day Charters
Ranked #13 of 36 Tours in West End
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fishing Charters & Island Tours in Roatan, West End. Capt. Lonny Outstanding Charter, Great Crew, great results.
ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I just got back from a wonderful day fishing with Lonny and Harris. We chose to charter with them because of the great reviews on TA and WOW, it was more than we expected!

Lonny is eager to make you feel comfortable and his professionalism, knowledge of the island and fishing and attention to his clients needs are top notch.

We booked half a day. He picked us up at the scheduled time, 6:30am, and just dropped us off (1:30 pm). We fished (3 tuna, 2 cuda... It was a slow day) snorkelled and had refreshments, sandwiches and beverages but most of all we really enjoyed our time with Lonny and Harris.

You will enjoy a fishing charter with these guys - so book with them.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireguy_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponoka, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Roatan Anglers just cant be beat....Capt Lonny has lived and fished on Roatan all of his life. He and his crew are the most knowledgable guides about where to fish, how to catch what you're fishing for and everything in the ocean. They can give you great advise about the island, accommodations ,attractions and even the weather!!
Our fishing trip was amazing...we caught 9 tuna in about an hour and a half...Harris had them cleaned and ready for us to take home and we enjoyed the freshest fish ever for dinner. It was a highlight of our trip and we would recommend it to everyone who visits Roatan. A great experience for all ages.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank georgia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“4 Tuna, 1 Mahi and a Pilot Whale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Do I need to say more? Lonny and Harris were on time, professional and fun! They took us snorkeling after the trip as well. An awesome day on the water. Have done other charters in Roatan that fell flat. Great boat, great crew = great day!! Can't wait to go back and spend another day with Lonny and Harris.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tabarber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Whale shark!! Great Fishing!! Fabulous time every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Enjoy! My husband have visited Lonnie and Cynthia several times for day fishing trips, but had the pleasure of a whole week in Roatan. I cannot say enough about the skill and expertise of Lonnie as a captain and angler. Always safe and we always catch something amazing. In addition to seeing a huge school of dolphins that put on quite a show, Lonnie found a boiling school of tuna that turned out to be a whale shark right off shore of the west end! And he knows all of the very best snorkel spots when you tire of fishing. While relaxing after fishing, his wife Cynthia cooked our catch of the day! There is no better place to be than Roatan Anglers for fishing anywhere in the Caribbean! The couple are warm, accommodating, and can link you to any resource you need while in Roatan, including site seeing, restaurants, and similar private experiences not available to all tourist. A dream vacation of relaxation, excitement and FUN!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great crew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We booked a half day charter and were picked up right on time at the dock of our rental house. We spent the first few hours trolling for big fish, with Capt Lonnie and his mate doing all the work to bait the lines and keep an eye on them for a catch. The fish weren't biting much that day, so there wasn't a lot to do except relax and enjoy the ride. Drinks and snacks were provided. We finally caught a large barracuda and a third of a tuna (the other 2/3 got eaten while it was reeled in). We tried some bottom fishing before heading home, but no luck. Capt Lonnie offered to take us out again for an hour or so another day at no charge, which I thought was extremely generous. They filleted our fish for us, and we had decicious tuna and barracuda for several meals, enough so that we didn't feel the need to go out again. Personally, I would have preferred reef fishing to trolling so we could be more engaged in the process and possibly catch more variety of smaller fish, but I guess we could have mentioned that. Overall I thought they were very professional and knowledgable and it was a good experience. A bit more pricey than ideal, esp compared to a charter we did in Caye Caulker Belize, but on par with other companies in Roatan. I would use them again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roatan Anglers - Fishing Day Charters also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Anglers - Fishing Day Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing