We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calico Mission House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Calico Mission House
Guelph
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We (four of us) stumbled across this place after reading an out-of-date review. But we decided to eat here anyway. Doug invited us through his house and up to a private little deck out back and made us a fresh breakfast. It was delicious.

We returned throughout our vacation for two more dinners we arranged with him in advance. One was lobster tails and the other was fish. Both included an appetizer, entree, salad and dessert. And we were able to bring our own wine. The food was amazing and the presentation was beautiful.

The only thing that could have improved our experience is a different dessert (a chocolate lava cake...). That would have taken it over the top for us! We had a fruit-based dessert both times, which were nice, but we were really craving a richer dessert.

I would highly recommend this place for a meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
It was a pleasure hosting all of you and thank you for coming so many times. Hope you can make it back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
10
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

we had a great stay of ten nights. Very quiet place, big room, private porch, good bed, great hot showers, dry and warm place during the storm. small cooking facilities and a nice gas grill out on the porch. nice garden with own dock on the backside. Douglas is a great host and very helpful with everything. we couldn´t have asked for more than that.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustriArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for the compliments! It was really great to have you both and I"m so sorry it rained so much, not typical for January. i will hope to see you both soon for sun and beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Calico Mission House. Doug was super friendly and cooked us a great meal. This hotel is also much quieter than most of the other hotels in West End, so we finally got a good night's sleep. We loved having two decks and a kitchen, plus it had wifi too. What more can you ask for? Doug's eight legged pet was fun to watch too...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreadymoongurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
It was really great to meet you both! I hope you can make it back soon and thank you for the compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

After experiencing a terribly noisy stay at a bungalow, I was referred here for a quiet place to stay by another diver.
Douglas, the manager was always accommodating with my needs or requests during my stay. He made breakfast several times for a friend and me that was fantastic. The room was more space than I had expected. Each bed had a fan that was mounted over the bed, which kept the breeze flowing. The deck had a hammock and a small table with chairs to relax at. A very nice breeze came through, keeping it a comfortable place without too many insects.
The location was perfect, as it was about a 5-minute walk to the town of West End with many restaurants and dive shops to choose from. There was a security guard seated outside near the house from 6pm to 6am which made it a safe choice.
The only complaint I had was about a woman in the room next to me. She had reserved the room for 5 months and was there to stay. She would go out on the deck to smoke, and the smoke kept coming through my windows.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
It was my pleasure assisting with your experience on Roatan and hope you will make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

I was here last week visiting a friend and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are big , clean , kitchen , comfy beds. Douglas is a fantastic host very helpfull ..nice sitting on the dock so peaceful . Good location
Thanks again Doug happy new year

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaKarrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
I hope it will be the first of many stays at Mission House. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atwood, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Im not sure where to start! .. If you are looking for a nice, comfortable, safe place to stay then pick the calico house! It is the perfect distance from the beach, the main strip of west end, its quiet and safe. Beautiful deck with tables and chairs. Fruit trees in the yard. The host of the house (Douglas) is very very kind! He took great care in making sure we had everything we needed. He was always there to give advise on where to eat and how to get to anywhere we needed to go. He was WONDERFUL!! ( thank you doug!! youre the best!!!) ...

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful! He gave us a tour of the property....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceseeker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
You're the best! I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stayed at the Calico Mission House for three weeks and it rocked! It is located just minutes from the hoppin' West End strip, but still a quiet and peaceful oasis. The rooms are big and spacious with two entrances allowing a great breeze. There is a comfy, big deck on both sides with tables, hammocks, and beautiful views of the local fruit trees and palms. A very serene place to relax. Douglas is a great host, along with his sweet pups Macy and Shaka. Bring a few dog treats and your guaranteed a few new pals!

I had an amazing time here and plan on staying at Calico every time I return to Roatan! Great food, great people, and great vibes. Check it out

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjoyc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was really great having you and I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#1 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Georphi's Tropical Hideaway
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Resort
Half Moon Resort
#31 of 41 in Roatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calico Mission House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calico Mission House

Property: Calico Mission House
Address: West end road | Right at West End entrance, West End, Roatan 34101, Honduras (Formerly Casa Verde beach house hostel)
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calico Mission house is safely located in a cool jungle atmosphere just minutes walk from stores,restaurants and beaches.Delicious meals prepared with all Fresh local ingredients including seafood caught by local fishermen are available daily. Please don't miss you chance to experience Calico Mission House on your next visit to beautiful Half Moon bay, Roatan! We offer accomodation with personal service, great food and a pleasant atmosphere - all run by the same ideal: christian hospitality.Hospitality with heart is our essential concern. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calico Mission House Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing