We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had an amazing time at splash in. The dive shop was awesome. Chris and Maricio were great guides and helped me become a better diver on each dive. Very friendly and fun group of people. The night dive with Monique was awesome. We saw the biggest lion fish I have ever seen. The room at the hotel was super clean and in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thank you Captainis,
We appreciate your comment about our staff and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently returned from spending ten nights at Splash Inn late May/early June, and look forward to a return trip! From the moment our taxi dropped us off, and Clifford greeted us with a lovely cool beverage, we knew we found our home away from home.

The hotel was centrally located, with everything you'd want to do a short walk or water taxi ride away. Our room was clean and comfortable, next to the dive shop, with a great view of the water.

The food at the restaurant was delicious. The onsite dive shop & staff rocked. Mauricio, Monique, & Cristobal really seemed to love what they do, which made each dive a great experience. We met quite a few divers from around the world, and enjoyed a few cold beverages at sundowners together.

We highly recommend this resort for divers.

- Erin & Mark

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CaribbeanTravelers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Erin & Mark for choosing Splash Inn and taking the time to review us.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dives with us.
We hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I`ve spent 1 week there with 2 of my friend. The hotel was basic but clean and comfortable and the staff was really friendly and great. The room was cleaned every day, the AC was working great but you can only have it on when you are in the room since it requires the room key to operate it. This hotel and area is perfect if you don't really care for big resorts.. there are plenty of restaurants, bars minutes away but the hotel is very quite except the roosters around the hotel who probably had insomnia or was confused with time because sometimes they started at 3AM...:-) and now about the most important thing....DIVING...before this trip I haven't even snorkel before and I got scuba certified there...the dive ship is connected to the hotel right on the water front...the dive spots really short boat rides away... and the staff is amazing...Our dive trainer was Mauricio who is just great...he is so patient and teaches you everything what you need to know and there for you when you have difficulties or even thinking about giving up...he ensures you that you are safe and makes you feel comfortable under water... my friend and I did 7 dives 6 with Mauricio and one with Cristobal the other trainer who is equally great...The manager Serena is really friendly and professional... I really have to say that I had a great experience and would recommend to dive there with them and stay in the hotel.. I would go back there anytime...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KriszP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Kris,
We appreciate your comment about our services in Splash Inn Resort and we hope to see you back in paradise diving with us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at Splash Inn for a week between May 24-31, 2014 with a buddy of mine. Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and shortly after were checked in and got our room. We opted for the hotel only package and decided we were going to eat at different places which was a great experience as we ate at a different restaurant for every meal.

Splash Inn I would say has the perfect location and perfect balance of everything including good diving, good food on site to order and not buffet style, very very short walk to other restaurants next door, short walk to the beach and bars/club. The key to Splash Inn is you can get anywhere by walking 5 minutes. Furthermore it is quiet enough that the loud music can't be heard from the club/bar down the street which allows a good nights sleep.

If you want to dive often like we did you can dive at 9am, 11:30am and 2pm with night dives at about 6pm twice a week although if you get 4 or more divers they will do a night dive if you request it.

The scuba rental equipment is average and in my opinion needs to be updated. The dive boats felt crammed at times with not much space to move about. There was no water offered on board the boat nor was there any orange slices/fruit offered after the dives as I have experienced with other dive providers.

The hotel was clean and basic and the beds were comfortable. There was never an issue with hot water and the water pressure in the shower was good. There was no safe in our room and no fridge. Nothing went missing from our room and there is daily maid service.

The AC worked well and we had to shut it off at night as it got too cold at times. The AC only runs with a key card that is bolted on to the room key so when your not in the room the AC is off. It's not until you get back your room that you can turn the AC on with the key card which was a bit frustrating.

There are two roosters right next door and one tries to out cluck the other in the morning at 6am and throughout the day. It can be annoying in the morning and comical throughout the rest of the day.

Dives come out to about $35USD each however if you do 10 or more dives like we did the price drops to $30USD each. Scuba equipment is included and there is no extra cost associated to renting the gear. Furthermore if you bring your own gear the price is the same. So essentially if you do a dive the equipment is provided for the cost of the dive. We checked out the other dive providers and everyone charges the same rate for their dives however we only dove with Splash Inn.

There are two other dives that may be of interest to some of which we did not take part in and they include a shark dive for $100 and a dolphin dive for $137. Both of these dives are off site from the hotel and on another part of the island. The dolphin dive is at Anthony's Key resort and it is not a wild dolphin dive as the dolphins are in captivity from my understanding.

Prior to going I bought a can of bug spray for the sandflys and mosquitos. I didn't use the bug spray once as we didn't see any mosquitos really. The sandflys are present at the beach to some degree however there is a nice breeze most of the time which prevents them from biting I found. I got bit a few times by the sandflys at the beach but they were virtually non-existent at and near the hotel.

Our day consisted of doing 2-3 dives a day. Once the third dive was done we went to shower and clean up and then headed to Sundowners for happy hour between 5pm-7pm where beers are $1.50. The atmosphere was amazing there. Both of us are 29 years old and we had a blast there. One of the days we rented paddle boards from a guy who is set up at Sundowners for $20/hr. We paddled around and checked in how much time we had left but he said we could paddle until sunset. We got more than an hour in paddle boarding for sure.

There are several small convenience stores around to buy water and snacks as well as a small grocery store down the street in case you need to buy anything you have forgotten to bring, be toiletries or any necessities.

When we were booking our vacation we were afraid that beyond diving we would have been really bored. To our pleasant surprise there was more than enough diving, restaurant eating, socializing at bars, and beach going to satisfy most people. I would highly recommend staying in West End as that is where its hopping on the island at night. I would stay at Splash Inn again if I were to go back to Roatan as it was pretty cheap at $65/night and satisfied my needs quite well. A few minor tweaks here and there is all that is needed. All in all a good vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Rogorob for taking the time to review us.
Nice to know that you had a good vacation with us and great to know that you enjoyed the island.

We are working to upgrade our services and we will take your tips about water and fruits on the boats so thank you for giving us your feedback

About the roosters, sorry for the inconvenience but as you know we are located in West End, a little paradise sorrounded by nature.

We hope to see you back in Splash Inn Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 7 days. We have absolutely no complaints. The rooms are off the main street, so far away from the noisy night life. Our A/C didn't work, so we told the front desk staff at 9:30pm. They actually called and tried to get the mechanic to come that night. He wasn't able, but came first thing the next morning and replaced the A/C with a new one.

The restaurant has average food, but it's good to have a quick bite in between dives.

Everything gets charged to your tab, restaurant, dive shop and rooms, so it's very easy to check out and you can use your cash for other meals/items.

The Dive shop has great, friendly staff who speak English very well. They know the island and it's dive sites off by heart. They took us to their favourite spots and we got to see some rare marine life. Mauritio and Chris are the two dive masters - they know their stuff! We felt totally comfortable and has some really fun dives! The manager of the shop is also very helpful and will give you good tips on where to eat on the island. The places she recommended ended up being our favourites.

This hotel is totally in the spirit of the island. Committed to preserving the reef and love to show off their beautiful marine life to their visitors.

When we come back to the island, we are definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyminaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Reena,
We are gald to know that you and your husband enjoyed the island, diving and staying with us.
We hope to see you back in Splash Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was amazing! I had emailed ahead of time and set up for there to be a bottle of wine and a cake in the room for my boyfriends birthday. They went above and beyond and lit a candle and had flowers strewn across the room. He was so surprised and loved what they did as did I.
Rooms were cozy, affordable and convenient location. Only a $3 boat cab ride to West Bay or an hour walk along the beach which was lovely, although we did boat it back. The private dock for Splash Inn customers was the perfect location to watch the sun set.
Diving was excellent, we wrapped up our Advanced open water certification and booked a shark dive as well. We almost passed this up and I'm glad we didn't. It's one of hte few places left you can dive with sharks, watch them feed and then collect teeth. THe experience was awesome.
Mauricio was our instructor and he was great, very friendly and very knowledgable.
Thanks for a great Roatan Experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Amber for taking the time to review us.
Great to know that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed your boyfriend´s birthday.
We hope to see you back diving with Splash Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Splash Inn for a week in May and had a great time. The place is small and without frills but always very clean and the service is great. Some people prefer to have a fancy hotel with a swimming pool and spa but I was there to dive and the dive shop is top notch. I bring my own gear so I don't have any problems. Others in the group used the dive shop's gear....at no extra cost and had a few issues but most of the problems were related to having unfamiliar gear. The hotel has a restaurant and they had great food with most items easily split between two people. Without having an "all inclusive" deal it makes it more enjoyable to go out and visit some other restaurants and coffee shops. I would certainly come back! The dive masters Cristobal and Mauricio are great and soooo enthusiastic! Much fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt10518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your comments about our dive shop, restaurant and hotel. Splash Inn staff really apreciate it.
We hope to see you back in paradise very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Inn Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Inn Dive Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Roatan 31000, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West End
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range: £59 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Inn Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in West End, on one of the best beaches on the island. The Hotel Splash Inn Dive Resort overlooks one of the most beautiful barrier reefs in the world. We will offer you personal attention and our trained staff will make your stay on Roatan an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splash Inn Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Inn Dive Hotel West End
Pura Vida Hotel Dive Center
Pura Vida Resort Dive Center
Splash Inn Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing