We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet, oceanfront, great service”
Review of Lands End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lands End
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you want to get away from the noise and crowds, this is the place. it is right on the water, with nicely appointed rooms. A small herd of miniature deer grace the property. The oceanfront bar and restaurant has really good food, and the American chef prepared vegetarian dishes just for us. The bartender was American, too. The owner is European, who was out of town the week we were there, but his substitute was absolutely outstanding in terms of customer service. We are middle age and I liked the fact that the other guests were also middle age, at least the week we were there. Perhaps for this reason they played classic rock at the bar, at a moderate volume.

The salt-water swimming pool is in between the ocean and the bar, and is filled from the ocean when the tide is up. You can go snorkeling off the dock, but when it is wavy it is a little treacherous getting in and out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent a week on Roatan at Land's End and overall enjoyed our stay here. We booked pretty much at the last minute so it was the best choice available to us at that time. Adi the manager was prompt in our inquiries prior to choosing, that and the fact they had deer made us go with Land's End. I did a bit of research on Tripadvisor,so I sort of knew what to expect. As one reviewer correctly stated the West End is not the French Riviera it is laid back here big time! It took me half the week just to slowdown to speed. I waited awhile before I wrote this review to really give an honest appraisal of the place and our experiences there.

Room: 120USD per night for the Vernado waterfront view. Spacious with a bed more comfortable then the Hyatt we stayed at in DFW. Plumbing fixtures, interior etc. needs updating
Housekeeping service was good except for the first day when we arrived. We let Dave the acting manager know and he took care of it.

Location: Superb, In a safe neighborhood 5 minutes to Half-Moon Bay's Bars restaurants etc. 8min. walk to West End- On the Ocean with a fantastic view-we saw the green flash-awesome sunsets! off the beaten path but barely.

Food- great breakfasts and fantastic coffee- Dinner/lunch- ate here about four times and overall I had 2 really awesome meals and 2 good/average meals. Mike the chef makes cream sauces that are four star plus! Shrimp Mediterranean was great!

Service- Amanda and Mercedes cook and/or clean and are just sweet hardworking ladies. Amanda would give us fruit scraps everymorning to feed the deer. Ryan the bartender was excellent and accommodating. He makes a killer Monkey LaLa! Dave the acting manager was helpful when needed and is the guy for tips on what to do around Roatan.

Value- We spent a week on Roatan and do plan to come back so we asked around for info on other hotels just to get a local comparison. Nearby there are places for less money but the rooms are smaller and they don't have a bar/restaurant etc. Based on what we saw around the island we thought maybe our room could've been maybe 15-20% per night cheaper all things considered-the resort was half-full during the week. Although most of the food we had at the restaurant was delicious it was slightly more expensive then other nearby venues. Throw in a few more shrimp on the plate and were good.

Bottom line- if you want to go to a no frills, laid back place to relax then Land's End is your place. The place needs a bit of TLC so Its not the Four Seasons but its staff, location and of course the deer make it special. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigichloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hands down, the nicest place in west end! We have been there more than once an enjoyed it every time. It's great to just let "party town" behind after a night out and come back to a very tranquil place.
The rooms are clean an the staff is very friendly. The best is that you get to feed the deers after a wonderful breakfast out on the deck!

I did, and i will allways recomend this place to everyone who asks me about a place to stay on Roatan.

Cheers Luke!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I want to start by saying, please research where you're going so you'll know what to expect. Some of the reviews I found about this place were unnecessarily critical based on, I believe, unrealistic expectations. West End, Roatan, is NOT the French Riviera. It is not full of swanky, posh, over-staffed hotels. It is rustic, homey, and maybe even a little backwards. Power/water outages happen, you may find crabs in the saltwater pool, and you won't be waited on hand and foot like a Mexican all-inclusive. But this is a town for us low-maintenance divers. If you're looking for fancy, your best bet will be down to West Bay Beach. With that said, Land's End fits in nicely with the overall vibe of West End.

There are some improvements that could be made. There is a general amount of upkeep and repairs that need to be done around the whole hotel. The bathroom in our room (Gecko) has a few things missing from the walls and no hot water in the sink. We had ants in the room and shower. The A/C unit dripped on my head. The pool was rarely completely full, and was drained for two of our days. Many lights, both in/around our room and in the public/pool areas, don't work. Snorkeling would probably have been great, but the waves were too rough and shoved us back against the rocks so we had to get out. And, although breakfast was included, we only got to eat it there once because the morning cook, Amanda, gets started so late every morning that we didn't have time to eat and then make the dive boat.

Some of this (ants, lights, water, etc.) is just a part of being in Roatan. And if you mention something to Adi, he'll take care of it. He even went out of his way to run an extension cord to a table lamp on an end table at the top of our landing because we didn't have an exterior light for our room. During the week we were there, we also saw that he's making improvements every day. New signs were being made, things were being painted, he's definitely making progress. Eating breakfast in town was fine. We were walking that way anyway, and it gave us the opportunity to try many different places. The waves can't be helped, and we just happened to be there the week that the pool needed cleaned. As for breakfast, that's probably just that 'island time' thing...

The location is definitely fantastic. As long as you're not looking for a beach. Great sunsets, quiet, and literally just a few minutes (about 7 to the first restaurant and about 15 to the far end) from town. Adi is always friendly and helpful. Ryan, the bartender/manager is hard at it all the time but always has time to talk and help. He even made quite a few calls on his personal cell to try to find an excursion for my wife and me one day. And Mike is not only a good chef, but if you need to know anything about ANY island in the Caribbean, he's the one to ask. I think he's lived on, or at least been to, all of them!

I was originally going to give three stars, but after listening to Adi tell us about how hard it is to get things done there and how corrupt the government is, I'm amazed that he's been able to do as much as he has. It's definitely come a long way (judging by pictures over the years), and I'd be curious to see what he's done with it in another year or so. All in all, a pretty nice place. Just remember where you're going. :)

Room Tip: We had the Gecko. Upper floor with a great view. There were two more to the West of us that were pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark-Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Visted with a group of 8, first staff were friendly and helpful, however food was painfully slow considering most ordered salad and night topped off by unnecessarily rude staff. Small portions and expensive drinks didn't help!
Rooms may or may not be nice, but avoid eating there!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MGrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our family spent 10 days at Land End and we we loved it! We stayed in Sapo, with a king, double and twin bed, perfect for us and our 15 and 12 yo children. By the smaller nature of Lands End, the yummy breakfast for the guests and the great common area/restaurant/bar there was opportunity to mingle with the other guests. We were able to get great information on local happenings, share rides and mingle in a way that really enhanced our time in Roatan. There was a variety of live music when we were there, which was an unexpected bonus. One night had some of the most enjoyable blues I've heard; the female vocalist was awesome and, of course, the guy on the bass carried the band! The music always quieted down by 9:30-10 and never felt intrusive. Star watching was great at night. The entire staff was approachable and kind. We can't wait to return to Lands End!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank MegN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This review is pretty overdue but we thought it better to make a recommendation late, than never! My partner and I stayed here for a week leading up to and including Christmas Day, 2013. We enjoyed our time there so much i'm going to struggle to articulate it! Yes, this accommodation is not for everyone, but for those who understand that this is an underdeveloped island in the Caribbean, and are up for a bit of adventure, you will love it.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Ryan behind the bar who was great for a chat, and of course Adi who was never short of a recommendation for things to see or do on the island.
What really made our time at Lands End was the other guests. Everyone was very social and would chat over brekky, head out diving or exploring for the day, and catch up again over a drink in the evenings as the sun went down. Being there over Christmas made us particularly appreciate the friendships that were made, and Lands End put on a lovely Christmas Eve feast which all the guests sat down to and enjoyed together.
From Lands End, it is a short, quiet walk to West End where you will find restaurants, bars, shops, and of course dive centres. It was nice to enjoy the relative hustle and bustle of town, knowing we could retreat to Lands End for some quiet time and a solid nights sleep.
We would definitely recommend staying at Lands End, and hope to go back one day ourselves.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dougandleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Corales
Hotel Los Corales
#9 of 9 in West End
4 reviews
2.2 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
439 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands End

Address: Main Road | Half Moon Bay, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in West End
Price Range: £28 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lands End 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Westend, Lands End is an Ocean Front Hotel Resort nestled in a world of its own, but close enough to the action where you can walk in three minutes!Perfect place for snorkeling and diving from shore, Enjoy spectacular views and sunsets year round. Lands End grounds include a lounge, pool deck, hammocks, bar, and beach! Most rooms with the exception of our bungalows come with a television, air conditioning, daily maid service, 24 hour help desk, flexible check in hours, free wi-fi and more! We have laundry service available and island deer (our pets). Come and have a cocktail in our saltwater infinity pool that overlooks the ocean and enjoy our dining at our on-site bar and restaurant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lands End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lands End - Ocean Front Hotel West End
Lands End Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing