We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epic Vacation Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 West End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
1 review
“Epic Vacation Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2007

We stayed at Lands End in May and June of 2007. What a wonderful experience! My husband and I met friends and flew to Roatan together. A 20 minute taxi ride and we were transported to a spot like no other. Lands End, now under new ownership and management, has become one of our most treasured spots on the planet.

The accomodations were wonderful. Large rooms were very clean, with air conditioning, comfortable beds, a refrigerator, incredible ocean views and sunsets. We spent quality time lounging in the negative edge salt water pool. The bar hosts locals and tourists alike and provided us with great entertainment; not only the music but the lively conversation from the people who hung out enjoying this very special place. These people love where they are and what they do!

We had the good fortune of being at the bar one night when the electricity went out in all of West End. The night sky was so spectacular I can't find the words to describe that experience except for wow and then disappointment when the generators next door kicked on and lit up the neighborhood!

West End village is an easy walk. We never had a bad meal or experience there in the days we spent eating and drinking our way through town. If you like diving, interesting and fun people, try Tyll's Dive Shop. They are very safe, fun and keep the groups small.

We loved the people who we met at Lands End. We will cherish this experience and will definitely make our way back here. The service and accomodations where excellent, but most important we felt welcomed and cared for during our stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — We liked it all.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank azclayge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    59
    17
    16
    13
See reviews for
32
161
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MINNEAPOLIS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2007

Okay, we cried when we left - really. We loved this place.

First, the factual, basic stuff everyone cares about: All four seaside rooms (the only ones we stayed in) are large and clean with high ceilings and a ceiling fan, air-conditioning, and a nice, private verandah to sit and reflect on nothing at all if you want while you watch a dolphin pod swim by. The rooms have a great shower, your own coffee-maker with rich Honduran coffee (of course), comfy beds (some rooms have queens, some kings) and a TV where you can watch the Weather Channel and Mexican wrestling. I'm sure there's other stuff, too, but we didn't spend a lot of time with the TV. It's a short walk into the main part of West End - maybe a quarter mile (half a kilometer). We walked really slow, and we were into it in maybe 10 minutes. It's a nice walk. And after you've stuffed your belly at the Cannibal Cafe or Rick's (above West End Divers), trust me, you'll need the walk home. In the morning, put on your bathing suit, grab your snorkel, and check out the great coral, coral canyons, and sea life just down the ladder from the bar. Hang out and float effortlessly in the salt water pool next to the bar while you watch the cloud puffballs float by, or wait till nightfall and look at the infinity of stars above you. Have a tropical rum drink.

But for us, the real stuff, and the reason we got all weepy when we left, was the people. We came in complete strangers, and we left feeling like we'd found new friends in this little corner of paradise. The people - fellow travelers, locals, our lovely bartenders, and the regulars from Tyll's dive shop (highly recommended, by the way, if you dive) - are friendly, funny, hearts-of-gold folks who made us feel like we'd found a home away from home.

We loved Land's End. It's a gem.

(A note about us: we're a couple in our 40's living in the midwest, one of us an information systems project manager in corporate America, the other an independent home remodeling contractor. We travel a fair amount, mostly in the U.S., but we've also been to various other Caribbean destinations and all around Europe.)

  • Liked — The people, the location, the pool, the bar
  • Disliked — We pretty much liked everything ...
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ActionPeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2007

My husband and I stayed here the 2nd week in April and could not have been happier with our stay! Contrary to past reviews we thought the staff at Lands End was courteous and all around fun to be with. Linda and the crew are extremely fun to be around and very responsive to any concerns you have. If you take the time to hang out with them and have a conversation with the staff your stay will be much more fun!

The property is great for many reasons. First, it is on the "outskirts" of West End, it's only a quick 5 minute walk to be in the middle of restraurants and bars while allowing you to go back to your room and feel secluded. There is a great pool and restaurant/bar on the property if you just feel like hanging out for the day or night. My husband and I love to snorkel and at Lands End you can quite literally walk out into the ocean and be right in the middle of an amazing reef system. We swam from the hotel to Half Moon Bay and back a few times and loved every minute of it. On the downside, the linens aren't all that great but it seems as though that might be the trend on the island.

A few common sense measures that might save you from problems other travelers might have encounterd... Don't bring your expensive jewelry and other belongings down to Roatan (which is in a 3rd world country)!! If you must, invest in a 10 dollar luggage lock and don't leave things important to you lying around. Roatan isn't like Cancun, it's still developing, so don't expect a high end, all inclusive resort if you are only spending 100 dollars a night for a room.

All in all our trip was amazing, we wouldn't stay anywhere else and have told anyone that might think of going to Roatan to stay here. Happy travels!

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Needs better towels
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cfunknbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

We stayed here for 8 days in February. When we first arrived, the property was nothing like advertised. They misbooked our room so we where stuck in a queen room the first night. The next day we then was moved to the King Oceanfront. They advertised Internet which they did not have. The property was bougth out once again the day before we arrived. The day before we where suppose to depart we came back into our room to realize items where missing such as tiffany jewlery and a digital camera. Nothing else was missing and only 4 people had keys. We ended up spending the night at the police station which resulted in nothing besides a police report. We confronted the maid and nothing was ever done. So please be aware of this place. They do not have safes in the rooms. Also, the electricty goes out here alot and they do not have a backup generator. Also, the rooms need alot of work. There are open wires through out the rooms.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Closetobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandsEndResort, Manager at Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2008
I have been the manager of Land's End Resort since summer time last year and would like to attest to the fact that many improvements have been made on a regular basis since I took over. We now have gravity feed water, a working back up power generator (which we use only sparingly for environmental reasons) and very trusted staff.

WIFI is available to all our guests through a very reliable Hughes satellite system.

I would also like to ask people to look at the date of stay when reading the reviews and I think you will notice the difference.

When coming to Roatan I would definitely advise against expensive jewelery there is really no where to wear it out to and you are just putting it at risk. All you really need in Roatan is a pair of flip flops and a smile!

I was around at the time of the said "robbery" as it was the time when I was preparing to take over and all I can say is that the whole week's stay was comped at the thought of something being stolen and said guests still walked out on their rather hefty bar bill.... What can I say?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

We loved Lands End, which we visited in August 2006. Our room, ocean front queen, was fabulous and reasonably priced. Our host Andrew, made us feel really at home. We met many of the Island's residents and made good friends at the Lands End salt water pool and bar. Jason, the bartender was a real expert in making fantastic drinks. The location is perfect, being right at the edge of the marine park, so you can just climb the ladder down to the ocean from the pool's deck and you are sourrounded by colourful fish and coral. The property is extremely well kept and safe. This was our best Honduran experience.
Grace and Jack Phillips-Toronto, Canada

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Gracie-El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2006

Lands End has it ALL- Location, Amenities, Comfort, Friendliness, and a Water Front placement!

First of all, don't pay attention to the earlier reviews here in trip advisor. We did and we lost out because we paid more money ($105/night) for a shabby buggy bungalow (it had pretty good reviews in TA), far from everything and situated on a no seeum infested beach.

Luckily, we found Land's End during an afternoon stroll only three days into our holiday. We ended up extending our visit to Roatan since we loved Lands End so much. At the quiet end of West End, all you hear at night is the sea crashing on the rocks. Even though the resort is situated on the rocks, there is easy access to the water via a cement walkway and short ladder . The snorkeling is fantastic right on your doorstep. There is a sandy area with lounge chairs if you crave beach and there is also a nice patio area around the bar with more lounge chairs. The whole resort is very clean and well kept. They have a lovely vanishing edge pool but it is eco friendly sea water which is constantly pumped in and out leaving the pool with new sea water every seven hours!

We paid only $60/night for our luxurious ocean front Queen room complete with air conditioning, ceiling fan, refrigerator, cable TV, beautiful furnishings, all new mattresses, big towels, lovely linens etc. Everything was so perfect that I had to ask Andy about the former TA reviews. He explained that, yes, there were problems here in the past but they were due to an individual in a management position who is no longer at the resort. All issues under question have been resolved and we found Andy to be an extremely honest and dependable host. He even woke up at 5:30 am in time to say good-bye to us and make sure that we had everything we needed before we left. I was touched and surprised as we had already paid him the night before so that we wouldn't have to disturb him at such an early hour.

During our stay, we met several other guests who like us, were thrilled with their accomodation and eagerly planning their next visit. Andy accepts payment either in cash or with a Credit Card through his Paypal account. There is an ATM just a 10 minute stroll away on the main street in West End. The cleaning lady at Andy's hotel is a doll and laundry cost only $5 a normal laundry basket size- full or half full. My laundry was done perfectly- better than I do it at home in fact! Andy was always helpful in restaurant recommendations or onward travel ideas.

The large pool side bar is THE PLACE TO BE between 5 and sunset! Jason, the too cool bartender, made me my personal ginger drink every night and killer pina coladas. Their bar prices are incredibly reasonable and we consequently spent more time and a lot less $ than we otherwise might have sipping and admiring the awe inspiring sunsets over the sea. If you want to go scuba diving, no problem, SeaGrape Plantation is right next door and they have good equipment and nice boats. Lands End does have some snorkel gear you can borrow or you can rent from Seagrape if you don't find your size fins or mask. Casa Calico, right down the street , is where we took our breakfast some mornings from 7am. Jeff, the owner is pleasant and their coffee can't be beat. His parrot, Petie has the run of the place. The bakery in town is also nice for bfast, but the German owner is less than cordial.

Our favorite dining spots in order were 1- Posada Arco Iris (Do Not Miss Their Desserts) 2 The Indian Restaurant - FANTASTIC (next door to #1 and up the little street - RESERVE AHEAD or go early) 3 The Light House Restauarant- gracious service, decent food, nice view, SUPERB location and ambiance! Enjoy.

  • Liked — Our gracious host, fabulous sunsets, vanishing edge pool, Quiet but with proximity to town and restaurants
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your IPOD to plug into the bar stereo.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2006

we arrive after 12 hours of flying the resort was not fully functioning but andy attended us with grace. he told us that the bar and grill would be open soon, i can't wait to go back next year.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge

Property: Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge
Address: Main Road, Half Moon Bay, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Westend, Lands End is an ocean front boutique resort nestled a way in a world all of its own, but close enough to the action where you can walk in three minutes! Enjoy spectacular views and sunsets year round. Lands End grounds include a lounge, pool deck, hammocks, bar, and beach! Most of rooms with the exception of our bungalows come with a televising, air conditioning, complimentary breakfast, daily maid service and more! We have laundry service available and friendly island deer (our pets). Come have a cocktail in our saltwater infinity pool that overlooks the ocean and enjoy our dining at our bar and restaurant on-site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lands End - Ocean Front Hotel West End
Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing